Human resources training in Chicago, Illinois
20 human resources programs with results and funding that can make them free
14 schools offer these human resources programs with classes in the Chicago-Naperville-Elgin area, and every one is approved for workforce funding. Each shows how past students did; Illinois files no usable prices.
Human resources specialists recruit, screen and interview job applicants and place new hires in jobs. Most have a bachelor's degree in human resources, business or a related field; certification is usually voluntary, though some employers prefer or require it.1
In Chicago, 3 of the 20 programs take students without a high school diploma, 5 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 12 ask for earlier courses first.
By kind, the 20 programs here are HR certificate or course (11 programs), PHR and SHRM-CP exam prep (6 programs), human resources (associate degree, 2 programs) and aPHR exam prep (entry level, 1 program).
See the 20 programsAll 29 human resources programs in Illinois, including online programs
How much does human resources training cost in Chicago?
Not reported
Illinois files no usable prices, so none can be shown.
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- Not reported
- None of the 20 programs report it
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- 3 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- 3 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
- Length
- 22 to 49 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Chicago may also offer human resources training. How these figures are made
All 20 human resources programs in Chicago approved for WIOA funding
Filters
20 programs
Human Resource Management Certificate
Harper College
Palatine
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$51,000Price if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Human Resource Management Certificate at Harper CollegeMore details about Human Resource Management Certificate at Harper College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- 89%
- Earned in a quarter
- $12,740
- Length
- 48 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 84
- Earned a year, estimated
- $51,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Human Resource Management Certificate
College Of DuPage
Glen Ellyn
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$50,800Price if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Human Resource Management Certificate at College Of DuPageMore details about Human Resource Management Certificate at College Of DuPage
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- 89%
- Earned in a quarter
- $12,703
- Length
- 24 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 33
- Earned a year, estimated
- $50,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Human Resources-Basic Certificate
Harold Washington College
Chicago
Accredited school
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimated$41,100Price if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Human Resources-Basic Certificate at Harold Washington CollegeMore details about Human Resources-Basic Certificate at Harold Washington College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- 78%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,263
- Length
- 32 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 13
- Earned a year, estimated
- $41,100
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Associate Professional in Human Resources (aPHR) Exam Prep
College Of DuPage
Westmont
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Associate Professional in Human Resources (aPHR) Exam Prep at College Of DuPageMore details about Associate Professional in Human Resources (aPHR) Exam Prep at College Of DuPage
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 24 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Foundations of Human Resources Certificate Program
DePaul University
Chicago
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Foundations of Human Resources Certificate Program at DePaul UniversityMore details about Foundations of Human Resources Certificate Program at DePaul University
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 8 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Human Resource Assistant
America Business College Inc
Chicago
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Human Resource Assistant at America Business College IncMore details about Human Resource Assistant at America Business College Inc
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 16 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Human Resource Management Certificate C306F
Triton College
River Grove
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Human Resource Management Certificate C306F at Triton CollegeMore details about Human Resource Management Certificate C306F at Triton College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 30 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Human Resource Management Certificate Fast Track
Harper College
Palatine
Accredited school
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Human Resource Management Certificate Fast Track at Harper CollegeMore details about Human Resource Management Certificate Fast Track at Harper College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 48 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Human Resource Specialist Certificate
Oakton College
Skokie
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Human Resource Specialist Certificate at Oakton CollegeMore details about Human Resource Specialist Certificate at Oakton College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 32 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Human Resources Management (AAS)
Waubonsee Community College
Sugar Grove
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Human Resources Management (AAS) at Waubonsee Community CollegeMore details about Human Resources Management (AAS) at Waubonsee Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 64 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Human Resources Management (CAC)-BU580
Joliet Junior College
Joliet
Accredited school
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Human Resources Management (CAC)-BU580 at Joliet Junior CollegeMore details about Human Resources Management (CAC)-BU580 at Joliet Junior College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 78 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Human Resources Management (CCO)-BU585
Joliet Junior College
Joliet
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Human Resources Management (CCO)-BU585 at Joliet Junior CollegeMore details about Human Resources Management (CCO)-BU585 at Joliet Junior College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 26 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Human Resources Management AAS
Moraine Valley Community College
Palos Hills
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Human Resources Management AAS at Moraine Valley Community CollegeMore details about Human Resources Management AAS at Moraine Valley Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 64 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Human Resources Representative Apprenticeship Program
RADD Training LLC
Lake In The Hills
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Human Resources Representative Apprenticeship Program at RADD Training LLCMore details about Human Resources Representative Apprenticeship Program at RADD Training LLC
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 76 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Professional in Human Resources ' (PHR ') Exam Prep
College Of DuPage
Glen Ellyn
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Professional in Human Resources ' (PHR ') Exam Prep at College Of DuPageMore details about Professional in Human Resources ' (PHR ') Exam Prep at College Of DuPage
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 24 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Professional in Human Resources Certificate Program
DePaul University
Chicago
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Professional in Human Resources Certificate Program at DePaul UniversityMore details about Professional in Human Resources Certificate Program at DePaul University
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 13 weeks, 39 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
SHRM Learning System for SHRM-CP/SHRM-SCP Certification Prep
Northern Illinois University
Dekalb
Accredited school
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, SHRM Learning System for SHRM-CP/SHRM-SCP Certification Prep at Northern Illinois UniversityMore details about SHRM Learning System for SHRM-CP/SHRM-SCP Certification Prep at Northern Illinois University
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 12 weeks, 36 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Senior Professional in Human Resources ' (SPHR ') Exam Prep
College Of DuPage
Glen Ellyn
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Senior Professional in Human Resources ' (SPHR ') Exam Prep at College Of DuPageMore details about Senior Professional in Human Resources ' (SPHR ') Exam Prep at College Of DuPage
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 24 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Senior Professional in Human Resources with Payroll Practice
Chicago State University
Chicago
Accredited school
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Senior Professional in Human Resources with Payroll Practice at Chicago State UniversityMore details about Senior Professional in Human Resources with Payroll Practice at Chicago State University
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 52 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM Certification)
Lewis University
Romeoville
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM Certification) at Lewis UniversityMore details about Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM Certification) at Lewis University
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 14 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for human resources training in Chicago
WIOA funding can pay for human resources training in Chicago
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for human resources training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for human resources training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Other training in Chicago
How human resources training compares with the rest of business and office work across Illinois: Business and office training in Illinois
- CDL training62 programs
- CNA classes62 programs
- Medical assistant training62 programs
- Phlebotomy training49 programs
- Welding classes53 programs
- HVAC training48 programs
- Medical billing and coding training33 programs
- LPN programs20 programs
- EMT classes32 programs
- Electrician training15 programs
- Dental assistant programs29 programs
- Auto mechanic classes50 programs
- Pharmacy technician training26 programs
- CNC machinist training33 programs
- Carpentry classes12 programs
- Cybersecurity training50 programs
- IT training144 programs
- EKG technician programs21 programs
- Paralegal programs23 programs
- Surgical tech programs11 programs
- Radiology tech programs12 programs
- Culinary school20 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training23 programs
- Medication aide training13 programs
- Industrial maintenance technician training52 programs
- Early childhood education programs32 programs
- Supply chain and logistics training38 programs
- Addiction counselor training11 programs
- Coding and software development courses35 programs
- Sonography school10 programs
- Data analytics courses32 programs
- Administrative assistant training68 programs
- Digital marketing courses15 programs
- Web and graphic design courses56 programs
- Health information technology programs12 programs
- Patient care technician training17 programs
- Manufacturing technician training29 programs
- Electronics technician training14 programs
- Business administration programs34 programs
- Auto body repair classes10 programs
- Dialysis technician training13 programs
- Construction training programs20 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes46 programs
- RN programs25 programs
- Project management certification42 programs
Where the Chicago human resources program numbers come from
Which Chicago human resources programs are on this list?
These are the human resources programs with classes in the Chicago-Naperville-Elgin area that are approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Online programs are left out here; they are on the Illinois page. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what the area offers.
How the prices and results of Chicago human resources programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
How reliable are the Illinois figures?
The US Department of Labor's own results site lists Illinois among the states with "known data quality concerns".10 We leave out the share who finished for Illinois: only a few programs report it, and those at a typical 11%. We leave out prices for Illinois: the state files a code in place of each price, so no price can be shown.
Sources for the facts about human resources training in Chicago
Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Human Resources Specialists
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: search page, note on states with known data quality concerns