Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Dialysis technician training in Chicago, Illinois

13 dialysis technician programs with results and funding that can make them free

10 schools offer these dialysis technician programs with classes in the Chicago-Naperville-Elgin area, and every one is approved for workforce funding. Each shows how past students did; Illinois files no usable prices.

Patient care dialysis technicians run kidney dialysis machines and give direct care to patients with kidney failure. Under the federal rules for dialysis facilities, they need a high school diploma or equivalent and a training program run under a registered nurse, covering dialysis and its procedures, placing the needles (cannulation), possible complications, water treatment, infection control and safety.1 At dialysis centers covered by Medicare's rules, a patient care dialysis technician must be certified through a state program or a national certification program within 18 months of being hired, and must meet any state rules for dialysis technicians.2

In Chicago, 1 of the 13 programs asks for a high school diploma or equivalent and 12 ask for earlier courses first.

By kind, the 13 programs here are dialysis technician certificate or course (10 programs) and dialysis technician with phlebotomy or EKG (3 programs).

See the 13 programs

All 13 dialysis technician programs in Illinois, including online programs

How much does dialysis technician training cost in Chicago?

Not reported

Illinois files no usable prices, so none can be shown.

In the typical program

Finished the program
Not reported
None of the 13 programs report it
Working 6 months later
Not reported
None of the 13 programs report it
Earned a year, estimated
Not reported
None of the 13 programs report it
Length
15 to 40 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Chicago may also offer dialysis technician training. How these figures are made

Is there free dialysis technician training in Chicago?

All 13 dialysis technician programs in Chicago approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

13 programs

  • Dialysis technician certificate or courseIn personEducation and courses

    Dialysis Technician

    Triton College

    River Grove

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Triton College, River GroveDialysis technician certificate or course · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Dialysis Technician at Triton College
    More details about Dialysis Technician at Triton College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    15 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Dialysis Technician at Triton College
  • Dialysis technician certificate or courseHybridPrerequisite courses

    Dialysis Technician

    Chicago State University

    Chicago

    Accredited school

    Prerequisite courses

    Chicago State University, ChicagoDialysis technician certificate or course · Accredited schoolHybrid · Prerequisite courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Dialysis Technician at Chicago State University
    More details about Dialysis Technician at Chicago State University
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    8 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Dialysis Technician at Chicago State University
  • Dialysis technician certificate or courseIn personEducation and courses

    Dialysis Technician

    Elim Outreach Training Center

    Homewood

    Education and courses

    Elim Outreach Training Center, HomewoodDialysis technician certificate or courseIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Dialysis Technician at Elim Outreach Training Center
    More details about Dialysis Technician at Elim Outreach Training Center
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    14 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Dialysis Technician at Elim Outreach Training Center
  • Dialysis technician certificate or courseIn personEducation and courses

    Dialysis Technician Training

    Life Enhancement Health Care Institute

    Chicago

    Education and courses

    Life Enhancement Health Care Institute, ChicagoDialysis technician certificate or courseIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Dialysis Technician Training at Life Enhancement Health Care Institute
    More details about Dialysis Technician Training at Life Enhancement Health Care Institute
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    10 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Dialysis Technician Training at Life Enhancement Health Care Institute
  • Dialysis technician certificate or courseIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Dialysis Technologist

    National College of Health

    Chicago

    High school diploma or equivalent

    National College of Health, ChicagoDialysis technician certificate or courseIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Dialysis Technologist at National College of Health
    More details about Dialysis Technologist at National College of Health
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    40 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Dialysis Technologist at National College of Health
  • Dialysis technician certificate or courseHybridEducation and courses

    Dialysis Technologist Training Program

    Midwestern Career College

    Naperville

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Midwestern Career College, NapervilleDialysis technician certificate or course · Accredited schoolHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Dialysis Technologist Training Program at Midwestern Career College
    More details about Dialysis Technologist Training Program at Midwestern Career College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    40 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Dialysis Technologist Training Program at Midwestern Career College
  • Dialysis technician certificate or courseIn personEducation and courses

    Dialysis Technologist Training Program

    Delmon Medical College

    Lincolnwood

    Education and courses

    Delmon Medical College, LincolnwoodDialysis technician certificate or courseIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Dialysis Technologist Training Program at Delmon Medical College
    More details about Dialysis Technologist Training Program at Delmon Medical College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    40 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Dialysis Technologist Training Program at Delmon Medical College
  • Dialysis technician with phlebotomy or EKGHybridEducation and courses

    Dialysis Technologist with Phlebotomy Technician

    Stellar Career College

    Chicago

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Stellar Career College, ChicagoDialysis technician with phlebotomy or EKG · Accredited schoolHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Dialysis Technologist with Phlebotomy Technician at Stellar Career College
    More details about Dialysis Technologist with Phlebotomy Technician at Stellar Career College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    32 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Dialysis Technologist with Phlebotomy Technician at Stellar Career College
  • Dialysis technician certificate or courseHybridEducation and courses

    Hemodialysis Care Technician

    Tukiendorf Training Institute(CBCI)

    Chicago

    Education and courses

    Tukiendorf Training Institute(CBCI), ChicagoDialysis technician certificate or courseHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Hemodialysis Care Technician at Tukiendorf Training Institute(CBCI)
    More details about Hemodialysis Care Technician at Tukiendorf Training Institute(CBCI)
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    52 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Hemodialysis Care Technician at Tukiendorf Training Institute(CBCI)
  • Dialysis technician certificate or courseHybridEducation and courses

    Hemodialysis Technician

    Tukiendorf Training Institute(CBCI)

    Chicago

    Education and courses

    Tukiendorf Training Institute(CBCI), ChicagoDialysis technician certificate or courseHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Hemodialysis Technician at Tukiendorf Training Institute(CBCI)
    More details about Hemodialysis Technician at Tukiendorf Training Institute(CBCI)
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    24 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Hemodialysis Technician at Tukiendorf Training Institute(CBCI)
  • Dialysis technician certificate or courseHybridPrerequisite courses

    Hemodialysis Technician with Externship

    Northeastern Illinois University

    Chicago

    Accredited school

    Prerequisite courses

    Northeastern Illinois University, ChicagoDialysis technician certificate or course · Accredited schoolHybrid · Prerequisite courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Hemodialysis Technician with Externship at Northeastern Illinois University
    More details about Hemodialysis Technician with Externship at Northeastern Illinois University
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    52 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Hemodialysis Technician with Externship at Northeastern Illinois University
  • Dialysis technician with phlebotomy or EKGHybridEducation and courses

    Hemodialysis Technician with Phlebotomy Tech & EKG Tech

    Tukiendorf Training Institute(CBCI)

    Chicago

    Education and courses

    Tukiendorf Training Institute(CBCI), ChicagoDialysis technician with phlebotomy or EKGHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Hemodialysis Technician with Phlebotomy Tech & EKG Tech at Tukiendorf Training Institute(CBCI)
    More details about Hemodialysis Technician with Phlebotomy Tech & EKG Tech at Tukiendorf Training Institute(CBCI)
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    50 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Hemodialysis Technician with Phlebotomy Tech & EKG Tech at Tukiendorf Training Institute(CBCI)
  • Dialysis technician with phlebotomy or EKGHybridEducation and courses

    Hemodialysis Technician with Phlebotomy Technician

    Tukiendorf Training Institute(CBCI)

    Chicago

    Education and courses

    Tukiendorf Training Institute(CBCI), ChicagoDialysis technician with phlebotomy or EKGHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Hemodialysis Technician with Phlebotomy Technician at Tukiendorf Training Institute(CBCI)
    More details about Hemodialysis Technician with Phlebotomy Technician at Tukiendorf Training Institute(CBCI)
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    37 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Hemodialysis Technician with Phlebotomy Technician at Tukiendorf Training Institute(CBCI)

How to pay for dialysis technician training in Chicago

WIOA funding can pay for dialysis technician training in Chicago

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for dialysis technician training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78

GI Bill for dialysis technician training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.9

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Other training in Chicago

How dialysis technician training compares with the rest of allied health across Illinois: Allied health programs in Illinois

Where the Chicago dialysis technician program numbers come from

Which Chicago dialysis technician programs are on this list?

These are the dialysis technician programs with classes in the Chicago-Naperville-Elgin area that are approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).10 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Online programs are left out here; they are on the Illinois page. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what the area offers.

How the prices and results of Chicago dialysis technician programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

How reliable are the Illinois figures?

The US Department of Labor's own results site lists Illinois among the states with "known data quality concerns".11 We leave out the share who finished for Illinois: only a few programs report it, and those at a typical 11%. We leave out prices for Illinois: the state files a code in place of each price, so no price can be shown.

Sources for the facts about dialysis technician training in Chicago

Show the 11 sourcesHide the sources
  1. Electronic Code of Federal Regulations: 42 CFR 494.140(e), patient care dialysis technicians
  2. Electronic Code of Federal Regulations: 42 CFR 494.140(e), patient care dialysis technicians
  3. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  4. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  5. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  6. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  8. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  9. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  10. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List
  11. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: search page, note on states with known data quality concerns