Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training
A counselor takes notes on a sofa during a group session in a living room

Mental health technician training by state

120 mental health technician programs in 29 states and 1 territory, with costs, results and funding that can make them free

Which schools offer WIOA-approved mental health technician training?

97 schools offer these programs, and each state on this page approved its programs for workforce funding. Pick a state on the map or compare them belowCompare the states below, then open one to see each program with its price and how past students did.

What does a mental health technician do, and how do you become one?

Psychiatric technicians and aides care for people who have mental conditions or developmental disabilities. Technicians typically need a postsecondary certificate and aides a high school diploma, both learn on the job, and some states require technicians to be licensed.1

Approved programsup to 23 to 34 to 5more than 5

How much does mental health technician certification cost?

Most mental health technician programs approved for WIOA funding cost $2,414 to $6,068 if you pay yourself. Certificates and short courses mostly cost $2,000 to $4,000 and two-year degrees $6,084 to $12,524. Prices also differ by state: most cost $725 to $2,000 in Texas and $6,084 to $12,307 in Missouri.

That is the price of the whole program as the school reports it. If you qualify, WIOA funding can pay part or all of it, depending on local limits (who qualifies). The figures cover only programs approved for WIOA funding; other schools and programs may cost more or less.

Compare mental health technician training by state: cost, pay and results

Mental health technician training by state
StateProgramsMost costEarned a year, estimatedWorking 6 months laterFinished
Alaska1Too few figures to show
Arizona5$1,652 to $2,944Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
Arkansas2Too few figures to show
California11$2,160 to $3,394about $48,40089%83%
Colorado1Too few figures to show
Connecticut2Too few figures to show
Florida3Too few figures to show
Hawaii2Too few figures to show
Illinois1Left outNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Indiana3Too few figures to show
Iowa3Too few figures to show
Louisiana3Too few figures to show
Maine10$3,420 to $4,782Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
Maryland3Too few figures to show
Michigan6$3,010 to $4,375Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
Minnesota2Too few figures to show
Missouri23$6,084 to $12,307Not reportedNot reportedNot enough data
Nebraska5$1,936 to $3,400Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Nevada1Too few figures to show
New Hampshire2Too few figures to show
North Carolina2Too few figures to show
Ohio4Too few figures to show
Oklahoma1Not enough dataNot enough dataLeft outNot enough data
Tennessee1Too few figures to show
Texas7$725 to $2,000Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
US Virgin Islands2Too few figures to show
Vermont2Too few figures to show
Virginia4Too few figures to show
Washington6Too few figures to show
Wyoming2Too few figures to show

Each figure is the middle program in that state. Yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. Only programs approved for workforce funding are counted; other schools may offer mental health technician training too. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).How these figures are made

Mental health technician certification: what the 120 programs are

By kind, the 120 programs approved for WIOA funding are mental health technician certificate or course (76 programs), mental health or psychiatric technician (associate degree, 23 programs), peer support specialist course (11 programs) and psychiatric technician program (10 programs).

Across the US, 32 of the 120 programs take students without a high school diploma, 79 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 9 ask for earlier courses first.

Is there free mental health technician training in the US?

Other training by state

Approved programs per field across every state. Each opens that field's comparison by state.

Where the mental health technician program numbers by state come from

Which mental health technician programs are counted?

Programs each state approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), from the US Department of Labor's file for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025), covering programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).6 Schools that never applied for approval are missing.

What the figures for each state mean

Each figure is the middle program among those that report it: half did better, half did worse. Prices are what most programs cost if you pay yourself (the middle half). Earnings are for the second quarter after students left, times four. Where a figure is missing, the table says why: "Not reported", "Left out" or "Not enough data" (what each means).

Sources for the facts about mental health technician training

Show the 6 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Psychiatric Technicians and Aides
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List