Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training
Staff in white coats go over a patient file at the front desk of a medical office

Medical administrative assistant training by state

907 medical office programs in 47 states, DC and 2 territories, with costs, results and funding that can make them free

Which schools offer WIOA-approved medical administrative assistant training?

604 schools offer these programs, and each state on this page approved its programs for workforce funding. Pick a state on the map or compare them belowCompare the states below, then open one to see each program with its price and how past students did.

What does a medical administrative assistant do, and how do you become one?

Medical secretaries and administrative assistants keep a medical office running: they take basic patient histories, arrange hospital admissions and process insurance payments. They need to know medical terms and codes, medical records and office procedures, which community colleges and technical schools teach.1

Approved programsup to 56 to 1112 to 26more than 26

How much does medical administrative assistant training cost?

Most medical office programs approved for WIOA funding cost $2,500 to $7,644 if you pay yourself. Certificates and short courses mostly cost $2,166 to $5,715 and two-year degrees $6,328 to $10,880. Prices also differ by state: most cost $899 to $2,412 in South Carolina and $11,745 to $19,950 in Puerto Rico.

That is the price of the whole program as the school reports it. If you qualify, WIOA funding can pay part or all of it, depending on local limits (who qualifies). The figures cover only programs approved for WIOA funding; other schools and programs may cost more or less.

Compare medical administrative assistant training by state: cost, pay and results

Medical administrative assistant training by state
StateProgramsMost costEarned a year, estimatedWorking 6 months laterFinished
Alabama13$1,500 to $10,752about $22,600Left out74%
Alaska2Too few figures to show
Arizona9$3,261 to $5,372Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
Arkansas6$3,980 to $12,562about $26,00057%Not enough data
California66$1,260 to $5,025about $38,80067%75%
Colorado14$3,624 to $7,180Not enough dataNot enough data82%
Connecticut1Too few figures to show
District of Columbia1Too few figures to show
Florida31$3,238 to $13,277about $26,90063%61%
Georgia25$3,300 to $7,536about $23,90078%26%
Hawaii5$1,700 to $4,000Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
Idaho10$3,242 to $7,690Not reportedLeft outNot enough data
Illinois36Left outNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Indiana33$4,000 to $4,912about $32,10074%74%
Iowa10$1,836 to $7,474Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
Kansas7$1,783 to $4,000Not enough dataNot enough data67%
Kentucky20Not enough dataabout $22,50061%34%
Louisiana44$2,646 to $10,650Not enough dataLeft outLeft out
Maine4Too few figures to show
Maryland8$2,004 to $4,000about $24,50063%75%
Massachusetts17$3,195 to $6,000Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
Michigan34$2,808 to $5,375Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
Minnesota49$4,350 to $9,854about $30,70074%50%
Mississippi13$3,520 to $8,940Not enough dataNot enough dataLeft out
Missouri22$2,561 to $4,000Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
Montana1No figures reported
Nebraska5$2,000 to $7,192Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
Nevada8$2,576 to $9,535Not enough dataLeft outNot enough data
New Hampshire11$3,450 to $5,682Not reportedNot reportedNot enough data
New Jersey9$3,375 to $4,000Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
New Mexico3Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough dataLeft out
New York12$2,085 to $15,231Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
North Carolina58$1,282 to $5,406about $31,60073%37%
Ohio58$3,495 to $10,702Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
Oklahoma10$1,642 to $3,495about $26,900Left out88%
Oregon3Too few figures to show
Pennsylvania16$3,695 to $6,875about $29,700Left out82%
Puerto Rico9$11,745 to $19,950Not enough dataLeft outLeft out
Rhode Island2Too few figures to show
South Carolina5$899 to $2,412Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
Tennessee19$4,040 to $13,195about $25,30083%70%
Texas75$2,595 to $10,231Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
US Virgin Islands3Too few figures to show
Utah6$2,996 to $3,646Not enough dataLeft outNot enough data
Vermont4Too few figures to show
Virginia29$2,000 to $6,429about $28,40067%96%
Washington47$2,745 to $7,882Not enough dataNot enough data69%
West Virginia3Not enough dataNot enough dataLeft outNot enough data
Wisconsin26$2,502 to $5,873about $30,50077%59%
Wyoming5$499 to $4,000Not enough dataLeft outNot enough data

Each figure is the middle program in that state. Yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. Only programs approved for workforce funding are counted; other schools may offer medical administrative assistant training too. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).How these figures are made

Medical administrative assistant certification: what the 907 programs are

By kind, the 907 programs approved for WIOA funding are medical administrative assistant certificate or course (538 programs), medical office (associate degree, 139 programs), medical office with billing and coding (123 programs), medical receptionist, patient access or unit clerk (86 programs), and 21 more of one other kind.

Across the US, 254 of the 907 programs take students without a high school diploma, 592 ask for a diploma or equivalent, 60 ask for earlier courses first and 1 asks for an associate degree.

Is there free medical administrative assistant training in the US?

Other training by state

Approved programs per field across every state. Each opens that field's comparison by state.

Where the medical office administration program numbers by state come from

Which medical office administration programs are counted?

Programs each state approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), from the US Department of Labor's file for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025), covering programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).6 Schools that never applied for approval are missing.

What the figures for each state mean

Each figure is the middle program among those that report it: half did better, half did worse. Prices are what most programs cost if you pay yourself (the middle half). Earnings are for the second quarter after students left, times four. Where a figure is missing, the table says why: "Not reported", "Left out" or "Not enough data" (what each means).

Sources for the facts about medical administrative assistant training

Show the 6 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Secretaries and Administrative Assistants
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List