Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Beauty school by state

1,043 beauty programs in 4 fields of beauty and personal care, with costs, results and funding that can make them free

507 schools offer these programs in 40 states and 1 territory, and each state on this page approved its programs for workforce funding. Compare the 4 fields below, or pick a state on the map or in the table to see its programs side by side.

Beauty school covers cosmetology, barbering, skin care (esthetician) and nail tech programs. Most are full programs that prepare for a state license; a few are apprenticeships or shorter courses.

Approved programsup to 56 to 1415 to 32more than 32

Compare beauty programs across the US: cost, pay and results

Each figure is the middle program of that field across the US. Yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are counted. How these figures are made

Beauty school by state: cost, pay and results

Beauty school by state
StateProgramsMost costEarned a year, estimatedWorking 6 months laterFinished
Alaska10$3,731 to $6,515about $23,50058%98%
Arizona48$9,666 to $19,620about $32,00074%78%
California120$3,940 to $10,338about $36,00062%87%
Colorado16$3,704 to $10,603about $20,70043%81%
Connecticut14$4,254 to $10,390Not reportedNot reportedNot enough data
Delaware5$1,499 to $17,793Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
Florida2Too few figures to show
Hawaii2Too few figures to show
Illinois7Left outNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Indiana18$4,500 to $8,944Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Iowa25$4,840 to $19,165about $19,50074%82%
Kentucky4Too few figures to show
Louisiana4Too few figures to show
Maine7$3,040 to $19,535about $22,50072%89%
Maryland14$3,325 to $14,350Not enough dataNot enough data98%
Massachusetts12$7,825 to $15,375Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
Michigan23$5,190 to $17,702about $18,20071%67%
Minnesota52$3,290 to $10,260about $16,70067%68%
Mississippi2Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough dataLeft out
Missouri36$2,838 to $10,000Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
Montana7$4,913 to $11,703Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Nevada32$7,000 to $13,153about $24,100Left out80%
New Jersey15$7,209 to $15,150Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
New York13$7,374 to $11,278Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
North Carolina40$775 to $4,924about $19,00058%43%
North Dakota8$8,486 to $18,487Not enough dataNot enough data93%
Ohio83$6,018 to $15,908Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
Oregon5$4,950 to $7,450Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Pennsylvania5$3,416 to $9,217Not enough dataLeft outNot enough data
Puerto Rico52$8,220 to $11,445about $12,600Left outLeft out
Rhode Island6$9,574 to $16,272about $21,80075%83%
South Dakota4Not enough dataNot enough dataLeft outNot enough data
Tennessee45$4,916 to $9,793about $17,40067%70%
Texas8$7,400 to $10,211Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Utah16$2,400 to $6,536about $20,600Left out81%
Vermont5$5,925 to $19,900Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
Virginia33$3,270 to $9,300Left outNot enough data100%
Washington163$8,924 to $17,054about $25,80072%79%
West Virginia15$5,400 to $13,842about $31,500Left out81%
Wisconsin35$4,224 to $7,695about $22,00073%72%
Wyoming22$5,188 to $13,675Not enough dataLeft out56%

Each figure is the middle program in that state, all beauty and personal care fields together. Open a state to compare its fields.

Can you go to beauty school for free?

Other job training by line of work

Programs approved across the US in each line of work.

Where the beauty numbers come from

Which programs are counted?

Programs approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act) in the fields listed above. Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).5 They come from the US Department of Labor's file for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025), covering programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing.

What the figures mean

Each figure is the middle program among those that report it: half did better, half did worse. Prices are what most programs cost if you pay yourself (the middle half). Earnings are for the second quarter after students left, times four. Where a figure is missing, it says why: "Not reported", "Left out" or "Not enough data" (what each means). Some states' figures carry a note on their own pages.

Sources for the funding facts about beauty programs

Show the 5 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  2. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  3. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  4. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  5. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List