Auto body repair classes in Chicago, Illinois
10 auto body programs with results and funding that can make them free
4 schools offer these auto body repair programs with classes in the Chicago-Naperville-Elgin area, and every one is approved for workforce funding. Each shows how past students did; Illinois files no usable prices. One school runs 5 of these 10 programs, so the typical figures lean heavily on its prices and results.
Automotive body repairers restore, refinish and replace vehicle bodies and frames; glass repairers replace windshields and window glass. Most employers prefer workers who have finished a collision repair program, which trade and technical schools usually run as a 6-month to 1-year certificate and some community colleges as a 2-year program; new workers still need 2 or 3 years on the job to work independently, and certification is recommended though not required.1 Body shops covered by a federal air rule must train and certify everyone who spray-paints vehicles within 180 days of hiring, in spray gun setup and technique and spray booth upkeep, with refresher training every five years.2
In Chicago, 8 of the 10 programs ask for a high school diploma or equivalent and 2 ask for earlier courses first.
By kind, the 10 programs here are auto body certificate or diploma (5 programs), auto body (associate degree, 2 programs), estimating course (1 program), painting and refinishing course (1 program), and 1 more of one other kind.
See the 10 programsAll 16 auto body programs in Illinois, including online programs
How much do auto body repair classes cost in Chicago?
Not reported
Illinois files no usable prices, so none can be shown.
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- Not reported
- None of the 10 programs report it
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- 2 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- 2 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
- Length
- 32 to 59 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Chicago may also offer auto body repair classes. How these figures are made
All 10 auto body programs in Chicago approved for WIOA funding
Filters
10 programs
Automotive Collision Repair Technician AAS 24AN
College of Lake County
Grayslake
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$38,800Price if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Automotive Collision Repair Technician AAS 24AN at College of Lake CountyMore details about Automotive Collision Repair Technician AAS 24AN at College of Lake County
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- 52%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,706
- Length
- 64 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 113
- Earned a year, estimated
- $38,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Advanced Auto Body Repair Certificate
Waubonsee Community College
Sugar Grove
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$35,000Price if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Advanced Auto Body Repair Certificate at Waubonsee Community CollegeMore details about Advanced Auto Body Repair Certificate at Waubonsee Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- 67%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,739
- Length
- 37 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 31
- Earned a year, estimated
- $35,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Auto Body Repair AAS
Waubonsee Community College
Sugar Grove
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Auto Body Repair AAS at Waubonsee Community CollegeMore details about Auto Body Repair AAS at Waubonsee Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 61 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Automotive Collision Repair Cert 24AE
College of Lake County
Grayslake
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Automotive Collision Repair Cert 24AE at College of Lake CountyMore details about Automotive Collision Repair Cert 24AE at College of Lake County
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 32 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Automotive Damage Analysis Cert 24AK
College of Lake County
Grayslake
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Automotive Damage Analysis Cert 24AK at College of Lake CountyMore details about Automotive Damage Analysis Cert 24AK at College of Lake County
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 16 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Automotive Service Refinishing Technician Cert 24AM
College of Lake County
Grayslake
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Automotive Service Refinishing Technician Cert 24AM at College of Lake CountyMore details about Automotive Service Refinishing Technician Cert 24AM at College of Lake County
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 32 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Automotive Structural Repair Technician Cert 24AL
College of Lake County
Grayslake
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Automotive Structural Repair Technician Cert 24AL at College of Lake CountyMore details about Automotive Structural Repair Technician Cert 24AL at College of Lake County
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 32 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Basic Auto Body Repair Certificate
Waubonsee Community College
Sugar Grove
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Basic Auto Body Repair Certificate at Waubonsee Community CollegeMore details about Basic Auto Body Repair Certificate at Waubonsee Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 16 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Collision Repair & Refinishing Technology-Diploma
Lincoln College of Technology
Melrose Park
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Collision Repair & Refinishing Technology-Diploma at Lincoln College of TechnologyMore details about Collision Repair & Refinishing Technology-Diploma at Lincoln College of Technology
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 54 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Collision Technology/AC
Kennedy King College
Chicago
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Collision Technology/AC at Kennedy King CollegeMore details about Collision Technology/AC at Kennedy King College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 64 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for auto body repair classes in Chicago
WIOA funding can pay for auto body repair classes in Chicago
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for auto body repair classes
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78
GI Bill for auto body repair classes
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.9
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Other training in Chicago
How auto body repair classes compare with the rest of skilled trades across Illinois: Trade school programs in Illinois
- CDL training62 programs
- CNA classes62 programs
- Medical assistant training62 programs
- Phlebotomy training49 programs
- Welding classes53 programs
- HVAC training48 programs
- Medical billing and coding training33 programs
- LPN programs20 programs
- EMT classes32 programs
- Electrician training15 programs
- Dental assistant programs29 programs
- Auto mechanic classes50 programs
- Pharmacy technician training26 programs
- CNC machinist training33 programs
- Carpentry classes12 programs
- Cybersecurity training50 programs
- IT training144 programs
- EKG technician programs21 programs
- Paralegal programs23 programs
- Surgical tech programs11 programs
- Radiology tech programs12 programs
- Culinary school20 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training23 programs
- Human resources training20 programs
- Medication aide training13 programs
- Industrial maintenance technician training52 programs
- Early childhood education programs32 programs
- Supply chain and logistics training38 programs
- Addiction counselor training11 programs
- Coding and software development courses35 programs
- Sonography school10 programs
- Data analytics courses32 programs
- Administrative assistant training68 programs
- Digital marketing courses15 programs
- Web and graphic design courses56 programs
- Health information technology programs12 programs
- Patient care technician training17 programs
- Manufacturing technician training29 programs
- Electronics technician training14 programs
- Business administration programs34 programs
- Dialysis technician training13 programs
- Construction training programs20 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes46 programs
- RN programs25 programs
- Project management certification42 programs
Where the Chicago auto body repair program numbers come from
Which Chicago auto body repair programs are on this list?
These are the auto body repair programs with classes in the Chicago-Naperville-Elgin area that are approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).10 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Online programs are left out here; they are on the Illinois page. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what the area offers.
How the prices and results of Chicago auto body repair programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
How reliable are the Illinois figures?
The US Department of Labor's own results site lists Illinois among the states with "known data quality concerns".11 We leave out the share who finished for Illinois: only a few programs report it, and those at a typical 11%. We leave out prices for Illinois: the state files a code in place of each price, so no price can be shown.
Sources for the facts about auto body repair classes in Chicago
Show the 11 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Automotive Body and Glass Repairers
- Electronic Code of Federal Regulations: 40 CFR 63.11173, paint stripping and surface coating at area sources
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: search page, note on states with known data quality concerns