Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training
Two people hold each other’s hands across a table in support

Addiction counselor training by state

233 addiction counseling programs in 34 states, with costs, results and funding that can make them free

Which schools offer WIOA-approved addiction counselor training?

174 schools offer these programs, and each state on this page approved its programs for workforce funding. Pick a state on the map or compare them belowCompare the states below, then open one to see each program with its price and how past students did.

What does an addiction counselor do, and how do you become one?

Substance abuse counselors advise people on alcoholism, addiction and related problems. Many have a bachelor's degree, but some positions ask only for a high school diploma and others for a master's, and the license rules outside private practice vary by state.1

Approved programsup to 23 to 45 to 8more than 8

How much does addiction counselor training cost?

Most addiction counseling programs approved for WIOA funding cost $1,831 to $7,893 if you pay yourself. Certificates and short courses mostly cost $1,554 to $5,487 and two-year degrees $8,957 to $11,340. Prices also differ by state: most cost $930 to $1,346 in Colorado and $6,969 to $13,717 in Oregon.

That is the price of the whole program as the school reports it. If you qualify, WIOA funding can pay part or all of it, depending on local limits (who qualifies). The figures cover only programs approved for WIOA funding; other schools and programs may cost more or less.

Compare addiction counselor training by state: cost, pay and results

Addiction counselor training by state
StateProgramsMost costEarned a year, estimatedWorking 6 months laterFinished
Arizona2Too few figures to show
California26$1,800 to $6,000about $44,30075%62%
Colorado8$930 to $1,346Not reportedNot reported93%
Connecticut3Too few figures to show
Florida2Too few figures to show
Illinois11Left outabout $38,00080%Not reported
Indiana2Too few figures to show
Iowa1Too few figures to show
Kentucky5Too few figures to show
Maine4Too few figures to show
Maryland6$2,877 to $5,358Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
Massachusetts10$1,477 to $5,844Not reportedNot reportedNot enough data
Michigan9$1,695 to $5,294Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
Minnesota9$7,864 to $9,978about $34,80076%31%
Missouri2Too few figures to show
Montana1Too few figures to show
Nebraska5$2,904 to $6,690about $31,20080%Not enough data
Nevada6$2,396 to $4,258Not enough dataLeft outNot enough data
New Hampshire3Too few figures to show
New Jersey5$2,500 to $2,630Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
New Mexico3Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough dataLeft out
New York15$3,636 to $6,194Not enough dataNot enough data100%
North Carolina7$1,098 to $6,204about $30,60066%39%
North Dakota1Too few figures to show
Ohio28$935 to $5,781Not enough dataNot enough data86%
Oregon6$6,969 to $13,717Not enough dataNot enough dataNot reported
Pennsylvania1Too few figures to show
Tennessee1Too few figures to show
Texas4Too few figures to show
Utah1Not enough dataNot enough dataLeft outNot enough data
Virginia2Too few figures to show
Washington28$2,436 to $9,568about $36,10069%57%
Wisconsin15$3,739 to $9,262about $35,50078%62%
Wyoming1Not enough dataNot enough dataLeft outNot enough data

Each figure is the middle program in that state. Yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. Only programs approved for workforce funding are counted; other schools may offer addiction counselor training too. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).How these figures are made

Addiction counselor certification: what the 233 programs are

By kind, the 233 programs approved for WIOA funding are addiction counselor certificate (133 programs), addiction counseling (associate degree, 54 programs), peer recovery or recovery coach course (32 programs), addiction counseling single course (13 programs), and 1 more of one other kind.

Across the US, 79 of the 233 programs take students without a high school diploma, 110 ask for a diploma or equivalent, 33 ask for earlier courses first, 4 ask for an associate degree and 7 ask for a bachelor's degree.

Is there free addiction counselor training in the US?

Other training by state

Approved programs per field across every state. Each opens that field's comparison by state.

Where the addiction counseling program numbers by state come from

Which addiction counseling programs are counted?

Programs each state approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), from the US Department of Labor's file for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025), covering programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).6 Schools that never applied for approval are missing.

What the figures for each state mean

Each figure is the middle program among those that report it: half did better, half did worse. Prices are what most programs cost if you pay yourself (the middle half). Earnings are for the second quarter after students left, times four. Where a figure is missing, the table says why: "Not reported", "Left out" or "Not enough data" (what each means).

Sources for the facts about addiction counselor training

Show the 6 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Substance Abuse, Behavioral Disorder, and Mental Health Counselors
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List