
Plumbing school by state
277 plumbing programs in 43 states and 1 territory, with costs, results and funding that can make them free
197 schools offer these programs, and each state on this page approved its programs for workforce funding. Compare the states below, then open one to see each program with its price and how past students did.
Plumbers install and repair pipes, fixtures and piping systems. Most learn the trade in a four- or five-year apprenticeship, and most states and some cities require plumbers to be licensed.1
Compare plumbing school by state: cost, pay and results
| State | Programs | Most cost | Earned a year, estimated | Working 6 months later | Finished |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | 1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Alaska | 2 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Arizona | 5 | $1,950 to $2,804 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Arkansas | 2 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| California | 7 | $850 to $1,288 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Colorado | 2 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Connecticut | 1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Delaware | 2 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Florida | 11 | $3,188 to $4,354 | about $36,000 | 52% | 67% |
| Georgia | 1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Idaho | 15 | $2,590 to $3,600 | Not reported | Not reported | 93% |
| Illinois | 8 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Indiana | 12 | $2,749 to $5,840 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Iowa | 3 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Kentucky | 5 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Louisiana | 1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Maine | 3 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Massachusetts | 1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Michigan | 7 | $4,025 to $11,424 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Minnesota | 12 | $5,747 to $6,591 | about $35,000 | 82% | 64% |
| Mississippi | 5 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Missouri | 8 | $6,651 to $10,719 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Montana | 1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Nebraska | 5 | $3,750 to $4,480 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Nevada | 4 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| New Hampshire | 7 | $1,500 to $2,200 | about $35,100 | Not reported | 92% |
| New Jersey | 4 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| New Mexico | 1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| North Carolina | 8 | $249 to $3,193 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| North Dakota | 2 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Ohio | 17 | $2,432 to $7,897 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Oklahoma | 3 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Pennsylvania | 13 | $4,070 to $14,490 | Not reported | Not reported | 100% |
| Puerto Rico | 1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Rhode Island | 1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| South Carolina | 1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| South Dakota | 4 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tennessee | 3 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Texas | 44 | $1,610 to $4,744 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Utah | 6 | $2,586 to $3,466 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Virginia | 8 | $855 to $2,509 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Washington | 23 | $1,125 to $1,500 | Not reported | Not reported | 76% |
| Wisconsin | 6 | $2,447 to $2,794 | about $63,600 | 76% | 30% |
| Wyoming | 1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Each figure is the middle program in that state. Yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. Only programs approved for workforce funding are counted; other schools may offer plumbing school too. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).How these figures are made
Where the plumbing program numbers by state come from
Which plumbing programs are counted?
Programs each state approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), from the US Department of Labor's file for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025), covering programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).5 Schools that never applied for approval are missing.
What the figures for each state mean
Each figure is the middle program among those that report it: half did better, half did worse. Prices are what most programs cost if you pay yourself (the middle half). Earnings are for the second quarter after students left, times four. Where too few programs report a figure, the table says "Not reported".
Other training by state
- CDL training2,356 programs
- CNA classes1,857 programs
- Medical assistant training1,428 programs
- Phlebotomy training1,080 programs
- Welding classes2,162 programs
- HVAC training1,312 programs
- Medical billing and coding training1,063 programs
- LPN programs794 programs
- EMT classes1,029 programs
- Electrician training750 programs
- Dental assistant programs952 programs
- Auto mechanic classes1,086 programs
- Pharmacy technician training837 programs
- CNC machinist training671 programs
- Carpentry classes345 programs
Approved programs per trade across every state. Each opens that trade's comparison by state.
Sources for the facts about plumbing school
Show the 5 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Plumbers, Pipefitters, and Steamfitters
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List