
Esthetician school by state
263 esthetician programs in 32 states and 1 territory, with costs, results and funding that can make them free
214 schools offer these programs, and each state on this page approved its programs for workforce funding. Compare the states below, then open one to see each program with its price and how past students did.
Estheticians, or skincare specialists, give face and body treatments and remove unwanted hair. To be licensed you complete a state-approved esthetician or cosmetology program and pass a state exam; the rules vary by state.1
Compare esthetician school by state: cost, pay and results
| State | Programs | Most cost | Earned a year, estimated | Working 6 months later | Finished |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alaska | 4 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Arizona | 17 | $10,777 to $14,240 | about $30,900 | 71% | 88% |
| California | 23 | $6,160 to $9,000 | about $38,200 | 59% | 90% |
| Colorado | 5 | $3,507 to $7,800 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Connecticut | 5 | $8,360 to $9,665 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Indiana | 3 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Iowa | 7 | $10,192 to $10,999 | about $19,600 | 74% | 87% |
| Maine | 2 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Maryland | 3 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Michigan | 6 | $5,092 to $12,478 | Not reported | Not reported | 100% |
| Minnesota | 22 | $3,354 to $8,470 | about $13,800 | 65% | 70% |
| Missouri | 4 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Montana | 3 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Nevada | 12 | $6,900 to $11,859 | about $21,800 | Not reported | 86% |
| New Jersey | 3 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| New York | 1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| North Carolina | 11 | $193 to $1,395 | about $21,700 | 68% | 61% |
| North Dakota | 2 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Ohio | 18 | $7,300 to $14,222 | about $26,700 | 70% | 79% |
| Oklahoma | 1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Oregon | 2 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Pennsylvania | 1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Puerto Rico | 6 | $7,212 to $12,651 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Rhode Island | 2 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tennessee | 8 | $2,761 to $10,424 | about $18,700 | 69% | 74% |
| Texas | 1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Utah | 3 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Vermont | 1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Virginia | 16 | $3,981 to $9,330 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Washington | 54 | $9,284 to $15,984 | about $26,500 | 74% | 90% |
| West Virginia | 4 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Wisconsin | 7 | $5,038 to $10,671 | about $21,800 | 76% | 86% |
| Wyoming | 6 | $3,389 to $7,750 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Each figure is the middle program in that state. Yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. Only programs approved for workforce funding are counted; other schools may offer esthetician school too. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).How these figures are made
Where the esthetician program numbers by state come from
Which esthetician programs are counted?
Programs each state approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), from the US Department of Labor's file for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025), covering programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).5 Schools that never applied for approval are missing.
What the figures for each state mean
Each figure is the middle program among those that report it: half did better, half did worse. Prices are what most programs cost if you pay yourself (the middle half). Earnings are for the second quarter after students left, times four. Where too few programs report a figure, the table says "Not reported".
Other training by state
- CDL training2,356 programs
- CNA classes1,905 programs
- Medical assistant training1,651 programs
- Phlebotomy training1,081 programs
- Welding classes2,162 programs
- HVAC training1,312 programs
- Medical billing and coding training1,066 programs
- LPN programs979 programs
- EMT classes1,029 programs
- Electrician training750 programs
- Dental assistant programs952 programs
- Auto mechanic classes1,086 programs
- Pharmacy technician training838 programs
- Plumbing school277 programs
- CNC machinist training671 programs
- Carpentry classes345 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training223 programs
- Diesel mechanic training442 programs
- Cybersecurity training1,239 programs
- IT training1,897 programs
- Cosmetology school354 programs
- Barber school232 programs
- Nail tech school191 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes1,327 programs
- RN programs1,127 programs
- Project management certification487 programs
Approved programs per field across every state. Each opens that field's comparison by state.
Sources for the facts about esthetician school
Show the 5 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Skincare Specialists
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List