
Welding classes by state
1,700 welding programs in 28 states, with costs, results and funding that can make them free
793 schools offer these programs, and each state on this page approved its programs for workforce funding. Compare the states below, then open one to see each program with its price and how past students did.
Welders join and cut metal parts with hand-held or remotely controlled equipment. Most have a high school diploma plus technical training, and some employers ask for a certification for particular jobs.1
Compare welding classes by state: cost, pay and results
| State | Programs | Most cost | Earned a year, estimated | Working 6 months later | Finished |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Arizona | 33 | $3,993 to $7,552 | about $24,000 | 55% | 22% |
| Arkansas | 57 | $2,273 to $7,410 | about $28,000 | 59% | 57% |
| California | 90 | $1,239 to $6,812 | about $45,300 | 72% | 89% |
| Florida | 55 | $3,119 to $5,486 | about $33,800 | 66% | 72% |
| Georgia | 48 | $1,825 to $6,167 | about $27,800 | 65% | 54% |
| Indiana | 84 | $2,112 to $3,465 | about $31,500 | 63% | 89% |
| Iowa | 50 | $1,509 to $6,994 | about $34,000 | 79% | 55% |
| Kentucky | 26 | $1,750 to $9,020 | about $21,400 | 63% | 98% |
| Maine | 11 | $355 to $3,530 | about $43,300 | 62% | 98% |
| Maryland | 15 | $3,362 to $5,520 | about $40,800 | 63% | 86% |
| Michigan | 56 | $2,788 to $12,838 | about $35,600 | 77% | 87% |
| Minnesota | 68 | $2,827 to $5,847 | about $33,600 | 77% | 73% |
| Mississippi | 88 | $731 to $7,919 | about $29,800 | 79% | 100% |
| Missouri | 82 | $3,210 to $12,635 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Nebraska | 27 | $2,092 to $6,122 | about $41,200 | 71% | 64% |
| Nevada | 15 | $2,418 to $7,036 | Not reported | Not reported | 91% |
| New Mexico | 23 | $3,602 to $5,523 | about $34,600 | 54% | 100% |
| North Carolina | 87 | $285 to $4,000 | about $35,300 | 68% | 44% |
| Ohio | 132 | $2,176 to $9,250 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Oregon | 24 | $3,387 to $9,147 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Pennsylvania | 63 | $3,480 to $12,051 | Not reported | Not reported | 77% |
| South Carolina | 10 | $5,000 to $6,875 | about $34,100 | 79% | 80% |
| Tennessee | 34 | $4,119 to $4,448 | about $33,300 | 78% | 76% |
| Texas | 283 | $2,975 to $8,224 | about $31,200 | 69% | 72% |
| Utah | 11 | $2,655 to $5,339 | about $35,600 | Not reported | 37% |
| Virginia | 88 | $1,862 to $4,055 | about $35,600 | 67% | 100% |
| Washington | 92 | $2,538 to $6,976 | about $35,800 | 74% | 72% |
| Wisconsin | 48 | $1,635 to $6,392 | about $40,000 | 78% | 72% |
Each figure is the middle program in that state. Yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. More states follow. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). How these figures are made
Where the welding program numbers by state come from
Which welding programs are counted?
Programs each state approved for public workforce funding (the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), from the US Department of Labor's file for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025), covering programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing.
What the figures for each state mean
Each figure is the middle program among those that report it: half did better, half did worse. Prices are what most programs cost if you pay yourself (the middle half). Earnings are for the second quarter after students left, times four. Where too few programs report a figure, the table says "Not reported".