Retraining Report
Find training

Job training programs in South Dakota

61 programs in 9 trades, with costs, results and funding that can make them free

12 schools offer these programs, and every one is approved for workforce funding. Compare the trades below, then open one to see each program with its price and how past students did.

Compare job training in South Dakota: cost, pay and results

Job training in South Dakota, by trade
TrainingProgramsMost costEarned a year, estimatedWorking 6 months laterFinished
CDL training13$500 to $4,500about $45,200Not reported100%
Welding classes12$1,364 to $8,885about $42,000Not reported79%
Medical billing and coding training11$3,825 to $11,380Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
LPN programs7$11,220 to $13,284Not reportedNot reported66%
HVAC training5Not reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Medical assistant training4Not reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
EMT classes4Not reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Phlebotomy training3Not reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
CNA classes2Not reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported

Each figure is the middle program of that trade. Yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are counted; other schools in South Dakota may offer more. How these figures are made

Is there free job training in South Dakota?

Workforce funding can pay for job training in South Dakota

Every program on this page is approved for public workforce funding, the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.1People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.2

Ask at an American Job Center

Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).3

Or pay for training yourself

Without funding, prices differ by trade: most CDL training programs in South Dakota cost $500 to $4,500, and most LPN programs $11,220 to $13,284. Each trade's page lists every program with its price.

Where the South Dakota job training numbers come from

Which South Dakota programs are counted?

Programs South Dakota approved for public workforce funding (the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act). They come from the US Department of Labor's file for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025), covering programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what South Dakota offers.

What the figures for each trade mean

Each figure is the middle program among those that report it: half did better, half did worse. Prices are what most programs cost if you pay yourself (the middle half). Earnings are for the second quarter after students left, times four. Where too few programs report a figure, the table says "Not reported".

How reliable are the South Dakota figures?

We leave out the share working 6 months later for South Dakota: its rates sit far below every other state's.

Sources for the funding facts about job training in South Dakota

Show the 3 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  2. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  3. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers