
Heavy equipment operator training by state
223 heavy equipment operator programs in 41 states, with costs, results and funding that can make them free
145 schools offer these programs, and each state on this page approved its programs for workforce funding. Compare the states below, then open one to see each program with its price and how past students did.
Heavy equipment operators drive and control the machines that build roads, bridges and buildings. Most have a high school diploma and learn on the job or in a three- or four-year apprenticeship, and many need a commercial driver's license to haul their equipment between jobsites.1
Compare heavy equipment operator training by state: cost, pay and results
| State | Programs | Most cost | Earned a year, estimated | Working 6 months later | Finished |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | 1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Alaska | 9 | $8,500 to $9,000 | about $27,300 | 77% | 95% |
| Arizona | 2 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Arkansas | 6 | $3,972 to $6,690 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| California | 12 | $920 to $11,610 | Not reported | 95% | 91% |
| Colorado | 3 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Delaware | 1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Florida | 2 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Georgia | 4 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Illinois | 5 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Indiana | 3 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Iowa | 2 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Kentucky | 6 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Louisiana | 14 | $2,275 to $5,242 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Maine | 1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Maryland | 1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Massachusetts | 4 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Michigan | 4 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Minnesota | 2 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mississippi | 9 | $1,631 to $3,828 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Missouri | 4 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Montana | 1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Nebraska | 1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Nevada | 5 | $3,800 to $15,200 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| New Hampshire | 1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| New Jersey | 1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| New Mexico | 12 | $5,504 to $7,325 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| North Carolina | 4 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| North Dakota | 1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Ohio | 20 | $5,632 to $13,004 | about $31,000 | 81% | 92% |
| Oklahoma | 8 | $3,240 to $8,130 | about $34,000 | Not reported | 100% |
| Pennsylvania | 10 | $7,034 to $13,965 | about $56,100 | Not reported | 97% |
| South Carolina | 2 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| South Dakota | 2 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tennessee | 3 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Texas | 24 | $2,475 to $7,962 | about $61,300 | 67% | 100% |
| Utah | 3 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Virginia | 13 | $3,300 to $4,500 | about $42,400 | 60% | 99% |
| Washington | 10 | $11,800 to $23,500 | about $79,700 | 84% | Not reported |
| West Virginia | 2 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Wisconsin | 5 | $5,990 to $8,090 | about $40,700 | 28% | 93% |
Each figure is the middle program in that state. Yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. Only programs approved for workforce funding are counted; other schools may offer heavy equipment operator training too. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).How these figures are made
Where the heavy equipment operator program numbers by state come from
Which heavy equipment operator programs are counted?
Programs each state approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), from the US Department of Labor's file for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025), covering programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).5 Schools that never applied for approval are missing.
What the figures for each state mean
Each figure is the middle program among those that report it: half did better, half did worse. Prices are what most programs cost if you pay yourself (the middle half). Earnings are for the second quarter after students left, times four. Where too few programs report a figure, the table says "Not reported".
Other training by state
- CDL training2,356 programs
- CNA classes1,857 programs
- Medical assistant training1,428 programs
- Phlebotomy training1,080 programs
- Welding classes2,162 programs
- HVAC training1,312 programs
- Medical billing and coding training1,063 programs
- LPN programs794 programs
- EMT classes1,029 programs
- Electrician training750 programs
- Dental assistant programs952 programs
- Auto mechanic classes1,086 programs
- Pharmacy technician training837 programs
- Plumbing school277 programs
- CNC machinist training671 programs
- Carpentry classes345 programs
- Diesel mechanic training442 programs
- Cybersecurity training1,239 programs
- IT training1,897 programs
- Project management certification487 programs
Approved programs per field across every state. Each opens that field's comparison by state.
Sources for the facts about heavy equipment operator training
Show the 5 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Construction Equipment Operators
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List