Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Manufacturing technician training in Chicago, Illinois

29 manufacturing programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

16 schools offer these manufacturing programs with classes in the Chicago-Naperville-Elgin area, and every one is approved for workforce funding: 21 by Illinois and 8 by Indiana. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Assemblers and fabricators build finished products and the parts that go into them. A high school diploma is enough for most jobs, and new workers usually get several months of training on the job; advanced assembly work takes more experience and training, and certifications can help a worker move up.1

In Chicago, 14 of the 29 programs take students without a high school diploma, 6 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 9 ask for earlier courses first.

By kind, the 29 programs here are certified Production Technician (CPT) course (9 programs), manufacturing (associate degree, 6 programs), manufacturing technician certificate or diploma (6 programs), short course or intro to manufacturing (4 programs), and 4 more of 2 other kinds.

See the 29 programs

All 40 manufacturing programs in Illinois, including online programs

How much does manufacturing training cost in Chicago?

$2,383 to $3,495 is what most manufacturing programs in Chicago cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 8 programs with a price. All of them: $625 to $4,050

In the typical program

Finished the program
Not reported
None of the 29 programs report it
Working 6 months later
Not reported
None of the 29 programs report it
Earned a year, estimated
Not reported
None of the 29 programs report it
Length
10 to 52 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Chicago may also offer manufacturing training. How these figures are made

Is there free manufacturing training in Chicago?

All 29 manufacturing programs in Chicago approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

29 programs

  • Certified Production Technician (CPT) courseHybridNo diploma needed

    Certified Production Technician (mssc: Cpt) Certification (lake County)

    Ivy Tech Community College

    East Chicago

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Ivy Tech Community College, East ChicagoCertified Production Technician (CPT) course · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,383
    Program website, Certified Production Technician (mssc: Cpt) Certification (lake County) at Ivy Tech Community College
    More details about Certified Production Technician (mssc: Cpt) Certification (lake County) at Ivy Tech Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    12 weeks, 12 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    10
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,383
    Program website, Certified Production Technician (mssc: Cpt) Certification (lake County) at Ivy Tech Community College
  • Certified Production Technician (CPT) courseIn personNo diploma needed

    Mssc: Cpt Safety Certificate

    Ivy Tech Community College

    Valparaiso

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Ivy Tech Community College, ValparaisoCertified Production Technician (CPT) course · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$625
    Program website, Mssc: Cpt Safety Certificate at Ivy Tech Community College
    More details about Mssc: Cpt Safety Certificate at Ivy Tech Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    4 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $625
    Program website, Mssc: Cpt Safety Certificate at Ivy Tech Community College
  • Certified Production Technician (CPT) courseHybridNo diploma needed

    Certified Production Technician (mssc: Cpt) Certification

    Ivy Tech Community College

    Gary

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Ivy Tech Community College, GaryCertified Production Technician (CPT) course · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,383
    Program website, Certified Production Technician (mssc: Cpt) Certification at Ivy Tech Community College
    More details about Certified Production Technician (mssc: Cpt) Certification at Ivy Tech Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    12 weeks, 12 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,383
    Program website, Certified Production Technician (mssc: Cpt) Certification at Ivy Tech Community College
  • Certified Production Technician (CPT) courseHybridNo diploma needed

    Certified Production Technician (mssc: Cpt) Certification (lake County)

    Ivy Tech Community College

    Crown Point

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Ivy Tech Community College, Crown PointCertified Production Technician (CPT) course · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,383
    Program website, Certified Production Technician (mssc: Cpt) Certification (lake County) at Ivy Tech Community College
    More details about Certified Production Technician (mssc: Cpt) Certification (lake County) at Ivy Tech Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    12 weeks, 12 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,383
    Program website, Certified Production Technician (mssc: Cpt) Certification (lake County) at Ivy Tech Community College
  • Certified Production Technician (CPT) courseHybridNo diploma needed

    Certified Production Technician (mssc: Cpt) Certification (lake County)

    Ivy Tech Community College

    Gary

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Ivy Tech Community College, GaryCertified Production Technician (CPT) course · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,383
    Program website, Certified Production Technician (mssc: Cpt) Certification (lake County) at Ivy Tech Community College
    More details about Certified Production Technician (mssc: Cpt) Certification (lake County) at Ivy Tech Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    12 weeks, 12 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,383
    Program website, Certified Production Technician (mssc: Cpt) Certification (lake County) at Ivy Tech Community College
  • Certified Production Technician (CPT) courseHybridNo diploma needed

    Certified Production Technician

    Gary East Side Community Development Corp.

    Gary

    No diploma needed

    Gary East Side Community Development Corp., GaryCertified Production Technician (CPT) courseHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,310
    Program website, Certified Production Technician at Gary East Side Community Development Corp.
    More details about Certified Production Technician at Gary East Side Community Development Corp.
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    6 weeks, 6 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,250
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,310
    Program website, Certified Production Technician at Gary East Side Community Development Corp.
  • Certified Production Technician (CPT) courseHybridNo diploma needed

    Certified Production Technician

    Computer Skills And Training Center

    Gary

    No diploma needed

    Computer Skills And Training Center, GaryCertified Production Technician (CPT) courseHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,050
    Program website, Certified Production Technician at Computer Skills And Training Center
    More details about Certified Production Technician at Computer Skills And Training Center
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    6 weeks, 6 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $750
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,050
    Program website, Certified Production Technician at Computer Skills And Training Center
  • Certified Production Technician (CPT) courseHybridNo diploma needed

    Certified Production Technician

    Computer Skills And Training Center

    Merrillville

    No diploma needed

    Computer Skills And Training Center, MerrillvilleCertified Production Technician (CPT) courseHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,050
    Program website, Certified Production Technician at Computer Skills And Training Center
    More details about Certified Production Technician at Computer Skills And Training Center
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    6 weeks, 6 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $750
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,050
    Program website, Certified Production Technician at Computer Skills And Training Center
  • Manufacturing (associate degree)HybridEducation and courses

    A.A.S. Advanced Manufacturing Technology Degree

    Harper College

    Palatine

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Harper College, PalatineManufacturing (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, A.A.S. Advanced Manufacturing Technology Degree at Harper College
    More details about A.A.S. Advanced Manufacturing Technology Degree at Harper College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    64 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, A.A.S. Advanced Manufacturing Technology Degree at Harper College
  • Manufacturing technician certificate or diplomaIn personNo diploma needed

    Advanced Manufacturing Certificate

    McHenry County College

    Crystal Lake

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    McHenry County College, Crystal LakeManufacturing technician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Advanced Manufacturing Certificate at McHenry County College
    More details about Advanced Manufacturing Certificate at McHenry County College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    48 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Advanced Manufacturing Certificate at McHenry County College
  • Short course or intro to manufacturingIn personEducation and courses

    Basic Manufacturing Certificate

    Harper College

    Palatine

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Harper College, PalatineShort course or intro to manufacturing · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Basic Manufacturing Certificate at Harper College
    More details about Basic Manufacturing Certificate at Harper College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    24 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Basic Manufacturing Certificate at Harper College
  • Manufacturing (associate degree)In personNo diploma needed

    Computer Integrated Manufacturing AAS

    Elgin Comm. College District #509

    Elgin

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Elgin Comm. College District #509, ElginManufacturing (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Computer Integrated Manufacturing AAS at Elgin Comm. College District #509
    More details about Computer Integrated Manufacturing AAS at Elgin Comm. College District #509
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    84 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Computer Integrated Manufacturing AAS at Elgin Comm. College District #509
  • Manufacturing technician certificate or diplomaIn personNo diploma needed

    Computer Integrated Manufacturing VS

    Elgin Comm. College District #509

    Elgin

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Elgin Comm. College District #509, ElginManufacturing technician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Computer Integrated Manufacturing VS at Elgin Comm. College District #509
    More details about Computer Integrated Manufacturing VS at Elgin Comm. College District #509
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    48 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Computer Integrated Manufacturing VS at Elgin Comm. College District #509
  • Short course or intro to manufacturingIn personPrerequisite courses

    Fast Track for Brake Press Operators

    Jane Addams Resource Corp - Bridge

    Chicago

    Prerequisite courses

    Jane Addams Resource Corp - Bridge, ChicagoShort course or intro to manufacturingIn person · Prerequisite courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Fast Track for Brake Press Operators at Jane Addams Resource Corp - Bridge
    More details about Fast Track for Brake Press Operators at Jane Addams Resource Corp - Bridge
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    10 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Fast Track for Brake Press Operators at Jane Addams Resource Corp - Bridge
  • Quality control and inspectionHybridEducation and courses

    Food Quality Control/Assurance Lab Technician

    Chicago Center for Arts and Technology

    Chicago

    Education and courses

    Chicago Center for Arts and Technology, ChicagoQuality control and inspectionHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Food Quality Control/Assurance Lab Technician at Chicago Center for Arts and Technology
    More details about Food Quality Control/Assurance Lab Technician at Chicago Center for Arts and Technology
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    24 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Food Quality Control/Assurance Lab Technician at Chicago Center for Arts and Technology
  • Manufacturing (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Industrial Management and Technology (AAS)

    McHenry County College

    Crystal Lake

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    McHenry County College, Crystal LakeManufacturing (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Industrial Management and Technology (AAS) at McHenry County College
    More details about Industrial Management and Technology (AAS) at McHenry County College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    64 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Industrial Management and Technology (AAS) at McHenry County College
  • Manufacturing apprenticeshipIn personNo diploma needed

    Industrial Manufacturing Technician

    Domeny Tool & Stamping Co.

    Wauconda

    No diploma needed

    Domeny Tool & Stamping Co., WaucondaManufacturing apprenticeshipIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    More details about Industrial Manufacturing Technician at Domeny Tool & Stamping Co.
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    52 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
  • Manufacturing (associate degree)In personNo diploma needed

    Industrial Manufacturing Technology AAS

    Elgin Comm. College District #509

    Elgin

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Elgin Comm. College District #509, ElginManufacturing (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Industrial Manufacturing Technology AAS at Elgin Comm. College District #509
    More details about Industrial Manufacturing Technology AAS at Elgin Comm. College District #509
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    64 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Industrial Manufacturing Technology AAS at Elgin Comm. College District #509
  • Manufacturing technician certificate or diplomaIn personNo diploma needed

    Industrial Processes Certificate

    McHenry County College

    Crystal Lake

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    McHenry County College, Crystal LakeManufacturing technician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Industrial Processes Certificate at McHenry County College
    More details about Industrial Processes Certificate at McHenry County College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    48 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Industrial Processes Certificate at McHenry County College
  • Short course or intro to manufacturingIn personEducation and courses

    Manufacturing Basics Certificate Non Credit

    South Suburban College

    South Holland

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    South Suburban College, South HollandShort course or intro to manufacturing · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Manufacturing Basics Certificate Non Credit at South Suburban College
    More details about Manufacturing Basics Certificate Non Credit at South Suburban College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    8 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Manufacturing Basics Certificate Non Credit at South Suburban College
  • Short course or intro to manufacturingIn personEducation and courses

    Manufacturing Basics Credit Certificate

    South Suburban College

    South Holland

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    South Suburban College, South HollandShort course or intro to manufacturing · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Manufacturing Basics Credit Certificate at South Suburban College
    More details about Manufacturing Basics Credit Certificate at South Suburban College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    22 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Manufacturing Basics Credit Certificate at South Suburban College
  • Manufacturing (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Manufacturing Engineering Technology AAS Degree

    College Of DuPage

    Glen Ellyn

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    College Of DuPage, Glen EllynManufacturing (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Manufacturing Engineering Technology AAS Degree at College Of DuPage
    More details about Manufacturing Engineering Technology AAS Degree at College Of DuPage
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    120 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Manufacturing Engineering Technology AAS Degree at College Of DuPage
  • Certified Production Technician (CPT) courseIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Manufacturing Skills Standards Certificate (MSSC)

    College Of DuPage

    Glen Ellyn

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    College Of DuPage, Glen EllynCertified Production Technician (CPT) course · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Manufacturing Skills Standards Certificate (MSSC) at College Of DuPage
    More details about Manufacturing Skills Standards Certificate (MSSC) at College Of DuPage
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    16 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Manufacturing Skills Standards Certificate (MSSC) at College Of DuPage
  • Manufacturing technician certificate or diplomaHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Manufacturing Technology - Certificate

    Prairie State College

    Chicago Heights

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Prairie State College, Chicago HeightsManufacturing technician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Manufacturing Technology - Certificate at Prairie State College
    More details about Manufacturing Technology - Certificate at Prairie State College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    48 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Manufacturing Technology - Certificate at Prairie State College
  • Manufacturing (associate degree)In personEducation and courses

    Manufacturing Technology A.A.S. degree

    Oakton College

    Skokie

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Oakton College, SkokieManufacturing (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Manufacturing Technology A.A.S. degree at Oakton College
    More details about Manufacturing Technology A.A.S. degree at Oakton College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    80 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Manufacturing Technology A.A.S. degree at Oakton College
  • Manufacturing technician certificate or diplomaIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Manufacturing Technology Certificate

    College Of DuPage

    Glen Ellyn

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    College Of DuPage, Glen EllynManufacturing technician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Manufacturing Technology Certificate at College Of DuPage
    More details about Manufacturing Technology Certificate at College Of DuPage
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    72 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Manufacturing Technology Certificate at College Of DuPage
  • Manufacturing technician certificate or diplomaHybridPrerequisite courses

    Mechanical Assembly

    Jane Addams Resource Corp - ITA Training

    Chicago

    Prerequisite courses

    Jane Addams Resource Corp - ITA Training, ChicagoManufacturing technician certificate or diplomaHybrid · Prerequisite courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Mechanical Assembly at Jane Addams Resource Corp - ITA Training
    More details about Mechanical Assembly at Jane Addams Resource Corp - ITA Training
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    10 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Mechanical Assembly at Jane Addams Resource Corp - ITA Training
  • Quality control and inspectionIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Nondestructive Testing (NDT)

    Moraine Valley Community College

    Palos Hills

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Moraine Valley Community College, Palos HillsQuality control and inspection · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Nondestructive Testing (NDT) at Moraine Valley Community College
    More details about Nondestructive Testing (NDT) at Moraine Valley Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    7 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Nondestructive Testing (NDT) at Moraine Valley Community College
  • Quality control and inspectionIn personPrerequisite courses

    QC 101: Quality Control for Manufacturing

    Symbol Training Institute

    Skokie

    Prerequisite courses

    Symbol Training Institute, SkokieQuality control and inspectionIn person · Prerequisite courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, QC 101: Quality Control for Manufacturing at Symbol Training Institute
    More details about QC 101: Quality Control for Manufacturing at Symbol Training Institute
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    10 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, QC 101: Quality Control for Manufacturing at Symbol Training Institute

How to pay for manufacturing training in Chicago

WIOA funding can pay for manufacturing training in Chicago

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for manufacturing training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for manufacturing training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Other training in Chicago

How manufacturing training compares with the rest of skilled trades across Illinois: Trade school programs in Illinois

Where the Chicago manufacturing program numbers come from

Which Chicago manufacturing programs are on this list?

These are the manufacturing programs with classes in the Chicago-Naperville-Elgin area that are approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Online programs are left out here; they are on the Illinois page. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what the area offers.

How the prices and results of Chicago manufacturing programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

How reliable are the Illinois figures?

The US Department of Labor's own results site lists Illinois among the states with "known data quality concerns".10 We leave out the share who finished for Illinois: only a few programs report it, and those at a typical 11%. We leave out prices for Illinois: the state files a code in place of each price, so no price can be shown.

Sources for the facts about manufacturing training in Chicago

Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Assemblers and Fabricators
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List
  10. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: search page, note on states with known data quality concerns