Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training
A mechanic crouches under the wing of a small red airplane and checks its underside

Aircraft mechanic school by state

264 aircraft mechanic programs in 33 states, with costs, results and funding that can make them free

Which schools offer WIOA-approved aircraft mechanic school?

124 schools offer these programs, and each state on this page approved its programs for workforce funding. Pick a state on the map or compare them belowCompare the states below, then open one to see each program with its price and how past students did.

What does an aircraft mechanic do, and how do you become one?

Aircraft mechanics and avionics technicians inspect, test and repair aircraft and their systems. Most train at an FAA-approved aviation maintenance technician school, some in a two-year degree, and most are certified by the FAA; employers often prefer mechanics with both the airframe and powerplant (A&P) ratings.1 For the FAA mechanic certificate you must be at least 18, read, write, speak and understand English, and pass written, oral and practical tests.2

Approved programsup to 23 to 56 to 11more than 11

How much does aircraft mechanic school cost?

Most aircraft mechanic programs approved for WIOA funding cost $4,474 to $14,385 if you pay yourself. Certificates and short courses mostly cost $3,780 to $11,342 and two-year degrees $9,908 to $18,000. Prices also differ by state: most cost $1,400 to $4,297 in Oklahoma and $10,210 to $30,873 in Ohio.

That is the price of the whole program as the school reports it. If you qualify, WIOA funding can pay part or all of it, depending on local limits (who qualifies). The figures cover only programs approved for WIOA funding; other schools and programs may cost more or less.

Compare aircraft mechanic school by state: cost, pay and results

Aircraft mechanic school by state
StateProgramsMost costEarned a year, estimatedWorking 6 months laterFinished
Alabama6$9,135 to $14,356Not enough dataLeft out63%
Alaska12$9,000 to $16,500about $43,70071%62%
Arizona12$4,251 to $13,180about $15,700100%29%
Arkansas7$2,913 to $28,537Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
California11$1,975 to $19,815Not enough data58%76%
Colorado1Too few figures to show
Florida23$3,780 to $6,570about $32,60057%81%
Georgia29$4,481 to $10,558about $32,90072%58%
Illinois10Left outNot enough dataNot enough dataNot reported
Indiana5$9,874 to $45,510Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
Iowa3Too few figures to show
Kansas6$3,220 to $28,713Not enough dataNot enough data59%
Kentucky2Too few figures to show
Louisiana5$12,666 to $13,500Not enough dataLeft outLeft out
Maryland1Too few figures to show
Michigan5$8,505 to $52,445Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
Minnesota3Too few figures to show
Mississippi1Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough dataLeft out
Missouri4Too few figures to show
Nebraska3Too few figures to show
New Mexico6$6,300 to $12,197about $36,60014%Left out
New York1No figures reported
North Carolina6$1,157 to $6,543Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
Ohio14$10,210 to $30,873Not enough dataNot enough data77%
Oklahoma5$1,400 to $4,297Not enough dataLeft out97%
Pennsylvania1Not enough dataNot enough dataLeft outNot enough data
South Carolina1Too few figures to show
Tennessee11$4,772 to $9,724about $54,10073%77%
Texas36$4,895 to $13,800about $29,00071%45%
Utah1Too few figures to show
Virginia2Too few figures to show
Washington29$2,408 to $6,278Not enough dataNot enough data89%
Wisconsin2Too few figures to show

Each figure is the middle program in that state. Yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. Only programs approved for workforce funding are counted; other schools may offer aircraft mechanic school too. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).How these figures are made

A&P license or aviation maintenance degree? What the 264 programs are

By kind, the 264 programs approved for WIOA funding are aviation maintenance (associate degree, 73 programs), airframe or powerplant only (72 programs), A&P certificate or diploma (47 programs), avionics technician (24 programs), and 48 more of 4 other kinds.

Across the US, 55 of the 264 programs take students without a high school diploma, 166 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 43 ask for earlier courses first.

Is there free aircraft mechanic school in the US?

Other training by state

Approved programs per field across every state. Each opens that field's comparison by state.

Where the aviation maintenance program numbers by state come from

Which aviation maintenance programs are counted?

Programs each state approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), from the US Department of Labor's file for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025), covering programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).7 Schools that never applied for approval are missing.

What the figures for each state mean

Each figure is the middle program among those that report it: half did better, half did worse. Prices are what most programs cost if you pay yourself (the middle half). Earnings are for the second quarter after students left, times four. Where a figure is missing, the table says why: "Not reported", "Left out" or "Not enough data" (what each means).

Sources for the facts about aircraft mechanic school

Show the 7 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Aircraft and Avionics Equipment Mechanics and Technicians
  2. Electronic Code of Federal Regulations: 14 CFR part 65, subpart D, Mechanics
  3. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  4. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  5. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  6. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  7. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List