Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training
A man with a marker talks to three colleagues at a table in front of a flip chart that lists plan, strategy and marketing

Business administration programs by state

1,613 business programs in 47 states and 2 territories, with costs, results and funding that can make them free

Which schools offer WIOA-approved business administration programs?

746 schools offer these programs, and each state on this page approved its programs for workforce funding. Pick a state on the map or compare them belowCompare the states below, then open one to see each program with its price and how past students did.

What does a manager do, and how do you become one?

General and operations managers run the daily work of an organization: they make staff schedules, assign work, see that projects get done and plan how materials and people are used. Most move up from supervisory jobs, and the BLS says top executives typically need a bachelor's degree and considerable work experience.1

Approved programsup to 89 to 1819 to 53more than 53

How much do business administration programs cost?

Most business programs approved for WIOA funding cost $3,035 to $9,748 if you pay yourself. Certificates and short courses mostly cost $2,142 to $6,029 and two-year degrees $6,270 to $11,347. Prices also differ by state: most cost $1,104 to $3,070 in California and $15,645 to $31,030 in Montana.

That is the price of the whole program as the school reports it. If you qualify, WIOA funding can pay part or all of it, depending on local limits (who qualifies). The figures cover only programs approved for WIOA funding; other schools and programs may cost more or less.

Compare business administration programs by state: cost, pay and results

Business administration programs by state
StateProgramsMost costEarned a year, estimatedWorking 6 months laterFinished
Alaska14$4,500 to $9,000about $38,40070%43%
Arizona27$300 to $3,982about $25,500100%29%
Arkansas26$8,340 to $11,560about $28,80059%22%
California89$1,104 to $3,070Not enough dataNot enough data88%
Colorado53$3,682 to $10,063about $34,10046%23%
Connecticut3Too few figures to show
Delaware4Too few figures to show
Florida53$2,584 to $6,719about $30,80067%62%
Georgia36$4,661 to $8,187about $30,80067%17%
Hawaii2Too few figures to show
Illinois67Left outNot enough dataNot enough dataLeft out
Indiana106$4,912about $33,90071%66%
Iowa26$4,792 to $12,974about $28,80079%21%
Kansas3Too few figures to show
Kentucky38Not enough dataabout $27,00067%18%
Louisiana13$8,000 to $10,378about $26,800Left outLeft out
Maine17$3,761 to $8,750about $34,30072%38%
Maryland8$2,978 to $7,672Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
Massachusetts15$2,898 to $7,648Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
Michigan71$4,738 to $10,948about $31,20072%25%
Minnesota112$2,958 to $9,930about $31,70071%35%
Mississippi5$5,770 to $8,420Not enough dataNot enough dataLeft out
Missouri97$3,217 to $10,734Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
Montana9$15,645 to $31,030Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
Nebraska18$2,221 to $7,308about $35,10065%37%
Nevada20$2,592 to $4,062Not reportedNot reported85%
New Hampshire18$712 to $5,500Not enough dataLeft outNot enough data
New Jersey9$2,850 to $3,800Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
New Mexico23$2,676 to $6,895about $40,00058%Left out
New York7$2,066 to $18,275Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
North Carolina55$4,877 to $5,621about $38,70071%20%
North Dakota8$9,280 to $11,191about $36,40074%Not enough data
Northern Mariana Islands1Too few figures to show
Ohio117$3,787 to $11,775Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
Oklahoma4Not enough dataNot enough dataLeft outNot enough data
Oregon8$7,596 to $12,808about $33,700100%Not enough data
Pennsylvania24$7,500 to $19,822about $28,600Left out80%
Puerto Rico3Not enough dataNot enough dataLeft outLeft out
South Carolina1Too few figures to show
South Dakota9$8,763 to $20,857Not enough dataLeft out49%
Tennessee31$9,147 to $11,187about $29,70077%41%
Texas93$3,540 to $8,475about $24,90067%29%
Utah8$3,914 to $9,255Not enough dataLeft outNot enough data
Vermont2Too few figures to show
Virginia39$1,216 to $9,263Not enough dataNot enough data100%
Washington129$3,109 to $9,727about $44,80068%50%
West Virginia2Not enough dataNot enough dataLeft outNot enough data
Wisconsin79$3,000 to $9,861about $36,30074%47%
Wyoming11$4,378 to $9,817Not enough dataLeft out50%

Each figure is the middle program in that state. Yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. Only programs approved for workforce funding are counted; other schools may offer business administration programs too. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).How these figures are made

Business management certificate or business administration degree? What the 1,613 programs are

By kind, the 1,613 programs approved for WIOA funding are business administration (associate degree, 707 programs), business management certificate (456 programs), entrepreneurship and small business course (206 programs), leadership, supervision and workplace skills course (119 programs), and 125 more of 5 other kinds.

Across the US, 637 of the 1,613 programs take students without a high school diploma, 793 ask for a diploma or equivalent, 167 ask for earlier courses first, 11 ask for an associate degree and 5 ask for a bachelor's degree.

Are there free business administration programs in the US?

Other training by state

Approved programs per field across every state. Each opens that field's comparison by state.

Where the business administration program numbers by state come from

Which business administration programs are counted?

Programs each state approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), from the US Department of Labor's file for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025), covering programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).6 Schools that never applied for approval are missing.

What the figures for each state mean

Each figure is the middle program among those that report it: half did better, half did worse. Prices are what most programs cost if you pay yourself (the middle half). Earnings are for the second quarter after students left, times four. Where a figure is missing, the table says why: "Not reported", "Left out" or "Not enough data" (what each means).

Sources for the facts about business administration programs

Show the 6 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Top Executives
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List