
CDL training by state
1,789 CDL training programs in 30 states, with costs, results and funding that can make them free
982 schools offer these programs, and each state on this page approved its programs for workforce funding. Compare the states below, then open one to see each program with its price and how past students did.
Truck drivers need a commercial driver's license, which generally takes a knowledge test and a driving test. Most drivers have a high school diploma and prepare at a professional truck driving school.1
Compare CDL training by state: cost, pay and results
| State | Programs | Most cost | Earned a year, estimated | Working 6 months later | Finished |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Arizona | 43 | $2,845 to $5,822 | about $55,700 | 87% | 86% |
| Arkansas | 37 | $3,200 to $5,000 | about $40,600 | 66% | 82% |
| California | 101 | $4,132 to $6,950 | about $44,800 | 79% | 86% |
| Connecticut | 24 | $3,955 to $6,798 | about $48,200 | 78% | 74% |
| Florida | 74 | $2,750 to $6,995 | about $39,300 | 72% | 91% |
| Georgia | 41 | $1,792 to $4,895 | about $44,200 | 75% | 90% |
| Indiana | 94 | $3,995 to $4,995 | about $49,200 | 64% | 93% |
| Iowa | 33 | $2,000 to $4,995 | about $45,100 | 80% | 81% |
| Kentucky | 34 | Not reported | about $59,300 | 70% | 97% |
| Maine | 18 | $2,896 to $4,962 | about $54,700 | 79% | 97% |
| Maryland | 35 | $2,198 to $5,022 | about $46,800 | 74% | 94% |
| Massachusetts | 43 | $4,000 to $6,995 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Michigan | 106 | $2,550 to $4,998 | about $50,300 | 73% | 98% |
| Minnesota | 24 | $3,652 to $6,496 | about $40,800 | 63% | 97% |
| Mississippi | 60 | $2,500 to $4,200 | about $35,200 | 74% | 97% |
| Missouri | 48 | $4,460 to $5,690 | about $45,900 | 76% | 86% |
| Nebraska | 15 | $1,102 to $4,850 | about $47,700 | 69% | 88% |
| Nevada | 54 | $3,933 to $6,497 | about $43,300 | Not reported | 92% |
| New Mexico | 33 | $3,075 to $4,845 | about $48,800 | 71% | 100% |
| North Carolina | 85 | $1,186 to $3,750 | about $38,700 | 61% | 91% |
| Ohio | 102 | $4,600 to $6,300 | about $42,700 | 83% | 89% |
| Oregon | 14 | $2,346 to $5,569 | about $64,900 | 77% | 96% |
| Pennsylvania | 107 | $4,210 to $6,000 | about $47,400 | Not reported | 96% |
| South Carolina | 25 | $4,595 to $5,595 | about $39,500 | 83% | 94% |
| Tennessee | 47 | $1,860 to $4,998 | about $44,900 | 81% | 91% |
| Texas | 162 | $3,881 to $6,543 | about $45,800 | 69% | 95% |
| Utah | 20 | $2,741 to $4,919 | about $48,600 | Not reported | 95% |
| Virginia | 60 | $3,500 to $4,612 | about $41,800 | 69% | 96% |
| Washington | 217 | $3,066 to $5,592 | about $57,200 | 81% | 93% |
| Wisconsin | 33 | $2,650 to $5,250 | about $46,100 | 72% | 87% |
Each figure is the middle program in that state. Yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. More states follow. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). How these figures are made
Where the truck driving program numbers by state come from
Which truck driving programs are counted?
Programs each state approved for public workforce funding (the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), from the US Department of Labor's file for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025), covering programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing.
What the figures for each state mean
Each figure is the middle program among those that report it: half did better, half did worse. Prices are what most programs cost if you pay yourself (the middle half). Earnings are for the second quarter after students left, times four. Where too few programs report a figure, the table says "Not reported".