Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training
A health worker checks a woman's blood pressure at an outdoor clinic while a girl looks on

Community health worker training by state

58 community health worker programs in 23 states, with costs, results and funding that can make them free

Which schools offer WIOA-approved community health worker training?

50 schools offer these programs, and each state on this page approved its programs for workforce funding. Pick a state on the map or compare them belowCompare the states below, then open one to see each program with its price and how past students did.

What does a community health worker do, and how do you become one?

Community health workers promote wellness by helping people in their community adopt healthy habits. Most need a high school diploma and learn on the job, and some states require certification, which can include a state-approved training program.1

Approved programsup to 12 to 23 to 3more than 3

How much does community health worker training cost?

Most community health worker programs approved for WIOA funding cost $1,184 to $2,960 if you pay yourself.

That is the price of the whole program as the school reports it. If you qualify, WIOA funding can pay part or all of it, depending on local limits (who qualifies). The figures cover only programs approved for WIOA funding; other schools and programs may cost more or less.

Compare community health worker training by state: cost, pay and results

Community health worker training by state
StateProgramsMost costEarned a year, estimatedWorking 6 months laterFinished
Arizona2Too few figures to show
California2Too few figures to show
Colorado1Too few figures to show
Connecticut3Too few figures to show
Florida2Too few figures to show
Hawaii1Too few figures to show
Idaho1Not enough dataNot reportedLeft outNot enough data
Illinois1Left outNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Indiana9$1,100 to $6,250about $39,10076%86%
Kentucky1No figures reported
Louisiana1Too few figures to show
Maryland2Too few figures to show
Michigan3Too few figures to show
Minnesota5$2,661 to $3,004about $36,70080%Not enough data
Missouri4Too few figures to show
Nevada2Not enough dataNot enough dataLeft outNot enough data
New Mexico3Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough dataLeft out
Ohio4Too few figures to show
South Dakota2Too few figures to show
Texas4Too few figures to show
Virginia1Too few figures to show
Washington1Too few figures to show
Wisconsin3Too few figures to show

Each figure is the middle program in that state. Yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. Only programs approved for workforce funding are counted; other schools may offer community health worker training too. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).How these figures are made

Community health worker certification: what the 58 programs are

By kind, the 58 programs approved for WIOA funding are community health worker certificate or course (47 programs), community health (associate degree, 4 programs), health navigator or wellness coach course (3 programs), community health worker apprenticeship (3 programs), and 1 more of one other kind.

Across the US, 16 of the 58 programs take students without a high school diploma, 29 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 13 ask for earlier courses first.

Is there free community health worker training in the US?

Other training by state

Approved programs per field across every state. Each opens that field's comparison by state.

Where the community health worker program numbers by state come from

Which community health worker programs are counted?

Programs each state approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), from the US Department of Labor's file for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025), covering programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).6 Schools that never applied for approval are missing.

What the figures for each state mean

Each figure is the middle program among those that report it: half did better, half did worse. Prices are what most programs cost if you pay yourself (the middle half). Earnings are for the second quarter after students left, times four. Where a figure is missing, the table says why: "Not reported", "Left out" or "Not enough data" (what each means).

Sources for the facts about community health worker training

Show the 6 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Community Health Workers
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List