
Criminal justice programs by state
557 criminal justice programs in 41 states and 1 territory, with costs, results and funding that can make them free
Which schools offer WIOA-approved criminal justice programs?
356 schools offer these programs, and each state on this page approved its programs for workforce funding. Pick a state on the map or compare them belowCompare the states below, then open one to see each program with its price and how past students did.
What does a police officer do, and how do you become one?
Police officers protect lives and property, and detectives gather facts and collect evidence of possible crimes. The education needed ranges from a high school diploma to a college degree, and new officers usually attend a training academy before they start.1
How much do criminal justice programs cost?
Most criminal justice programs approved for WIOA funding cost $5,168 to $11,310 if you pay yourself. Two-year degrees mostly cost $7,176 to $11,852 and other criminal justice programs $2,677 to $6,891. Prices also differ by state: most cost $828 to $2,760 in California and $13,188 to $22,618 in Pennsylvania.
That is the price of the whole program as the school reports it. If you qualify, WIOA funding can pay part or all of it, depending on local limits (who qualifies). The figures cover only programs approved for WIOA funding; other schools and programs may cost more or less.
Compare criminal justice programs by state: cost, pay and results
| State | Programs | Most cost | Earned a year, estimated | Working 6 months later | Finished |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alaska | 1 | Too few figures to show | |||
| Arizona | 7 | $5,460 to $8,468 | Not enough data | Not enough data | Not enough data |
| Arkansas | 23 | $5,430 to $10,860 | about $29,300 | 61% | 30% |
| California | 28 | $828 to $2,760 | Not enough data | Not enough data | 71% |
| Colorado | 20 | $4,130 to $12,440 | about $44,900 | 52% | 27% |
| Florida | 12 | $3,412 to $18,050 | about $38,600 | 80% | 47% |
| Georgia | 32 | $3,657 to $7,255 | about $24,000 | 72% | 23% |
| Hawaii | 2 | Too few figures to show | |||
| Illinois | 34 | Left out | Not enough data | Not enough data | Left out |
| Indiana | 15 | Too few figures to show | |||
| Iowa | 7 | $12,218 to $13,662 | about $31,300 | 82% | 25% |
| Kansas | 4 | Too few figures to show | |||
| Kentucky | 10 | Too few figures to show | |||
| Louisiana | 14 | $5,837 to $10,273 | about $29,400 | Left out | Left out |
| Maine | 8 | $4,828 to $10,405 | about $28,000 | 77% | 42% |
| Maryland | 4 | Too few figures to show | |||
| Massachusetts | 1 | Too few figures to show | |||
| Michigan | 42 | $7,781 to $12,654 | about $32,600 | 81% | 24% |
| Minnesota | 26 | $9,924 to $11,557 | about $29,200 | 79% | 33% |
| Mississippi | 2 | Not enough data | Not reported | Not reported | Left out |
| Missouri | 46 | $6,804 to $13,084 | Not enough data | Not enough data | Not enough data |
| Montana | 2 | Too few figures to show | |||
| Nebraska | 6 | $7,381 to $7,734 | about $28,500 | 75% | 26% |
| Nevada | 1 | Too few figures to show | |||
| New Jersey | 1 | Too few figures to show | |||
| New Mexico | 14 | $5,108 to $7,470 | about $35,800 | 72% | Left out |
| North Carolina | 31 | $4,864 to $5,468 | about $35,500 | 73% | 24% |
| North Dakota | 1 | Too few figures to show | |||
| Ohio | 34 | $10,355 to $13,434 | about $60,400 | 83% | 41% |
| Oklahoma | 3 | Too few figures to show | |||
| Oregon | 7 | $11,120 to $11,800 | Not enough data | Not enough data | Not enough data |
| Pennsylvania | 7 | $13,188 to $22,618 | Not enough data | Left out | 74% |
| Puerto Rico | 2 | Not enough data | Not reported | Not reported | Left out |
| South Carolina | 1 | Too few figures to show | |||
| South Dakota | 4 | Not enough data | Not enough data | Left out | Not enough data |
| Tennessee | 12 | $8,364 to $10,526 | about $27,800 | 83% | 57% |
| Texas | 23 | $4,906 to $6,914 | about $23,300 | 75% | 100% |
| Utah | 2 | Not enough data | Not enough data | Left out | Not reported |
| Virginia | 12 | $8,955 to $10,075 | Not enough data | Not enough data | 100% |
| Washington | 26 | $6,578 to $11,349 | about $29,900 | 84% | 54% |
| Wisconsin | 22 | $9,628 to $10,217 | about $32,000 | 82% | 42% |
| Wyoming | 8 | $4,828 to $6,684 | Not enough data | Left out | Not enough data |
Each figure is the middle program in that state. Yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. Only programs approved for workforce funding are counted; other schools may offer criminal justice programs too. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).How these figures are made
Criminal justice degree or certificate? What the 557 programs are
By kind, the 557 programs approved for WIOA funding are criminal justice, corrections or police science (associate degree, 380 programs), criminal justice certificate (112 programs), crime scene and forensic science (28 programs), law enforcement and investigation certificate (23 programs), and 14 more of 3 other kinds.
Across the US, 192 of the 557 programs take students without a high school diploma, 310 ask for a diploma or equivalent, 49 ask for earlier courses first, 5 ask for an associate degree and 1 asks for a bachelor's degree.
Other training by state
- CDL training2,423 programs
- CNA classes1,749 programs
- Medical assistant training1,865 programs
- Phlebotomy training1,153 programs
- Welding classes2,307 programs
- HVAC training1,340 programs
- Medical billing and coding training1,297 programs
- LPN programs1,024 programs
- EMT classes1,210 programs
- Electrician training1,004 programs
- Dental assistant programs966 programs
- Auto mechanic classes1,108 programs
- Pharmacy technician training847 programs
- Plumbing school384 programs
- CNC machinist training918 programs
- Carpentry classes361 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training215 programs
- Diesel mechanic training446 programs
- Cybersecurity training1,449 programs
- IT training3,817 programs
- Cosmetology school355 programs
- Barber school233 programs
- Esthetician school264 programs
- Nail tech school191 programs
- EKG technician programs337 programs
- Massage therapy school305 programs
- Paralegal programs449 programs
- Fire academy337 programs
- Police academy338 programs
- Surgical tech programs363 programs
- Radiology tech programs345 programs
- Culinary school606 programs
- Home health aide training186 programs
- PTA programs217 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training907 programs
- Human resources training460 programs
- Medication aide training293 programs
- Industrial maintenance technician training1,298 programs
- Early childhood education programs1,008 programs
- Aircraft mechanic school264 programs
- Supply chain and logistics training472 programs
- Hospitality management programs294 programs
- Addiction counselor training233 programs
- Community health worker training58 programs
- Coding and software development courses1,104 programs
- Lineman school282 programs
- Sterile processing technician training180 programs
- Sonography school183 programs
- Data analytics courses644 programs
- Administrative assistant training1,530 programs
- Respiratory therapy programs213 programs
- Medical lab technician programs255 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses579 programs
- Digital marketing courses392 programs
- Web and graphic design courses840 programs
- Health information technology programs385 programs
- Vet tech programs218 programs
- Real estate school123 programs
- Security guard training119 programs
- Patient care technician training278 programs
- OTA programs101 programs
- Crane operator training105 programs
- Interpreter and translator training82 programs
- Home inspector training67 programs
- Forklift certification113 programs
- Personal trainer certification123 programs
- Healthcare administration programs121 programs
- Customer service training168 programs
- Flight school144 programs
- MRI tech school29 programs
- Cardiovascular technology programs26 programs
- RBT certification training52 programs
- Mental health technician training120 programs
- Human services programs269 programs
- Manufacturing technician training668 programs
- Electronics technician training465 programs
- Business administration programs1,613 programs
- Teacher assistant certification212 programs
- Auto body repair classes301 programs
- Merchant mariner training142 programs
- Sleep technician training18 programs
- Solar and wind technician training150 programs
- Sheet metal training59 programs
- Water treatment operator training66 programs
- OSHA safety training128 programs
- Dialysis technician training60 programs
- Optician training54 programs
- Masonry training72 programs
- Insurance license courses41 programs
- Construction training programs833 programs
- Dental hygiene programs171 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes1,461 programs
- RN programs1,252 programs
- Project management certification951 programs
Approved programs per field across every state. Each opens that field's comparison by state.
Where the criminal justice program numbers by state come from
Which criminal justice programs are counted?
Programs each state approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), from the US Department of Labor's file for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025), covering programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).6 Schools that never applied for approval are missing.
What the figures for each state mean
Each figure is the middle program among those that report it: half did better, half did worse. Prices are what most programs cost if you pay yourself (the middle half). Earnings are for the second quarter after students left, times four. Where a figure is missing, the table says why: "Not reported", "Left out" or "Not enough data" (what each means).
Sources for the facts about criminal justice programs
Show the 6 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Police and Detectives
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List