
Auto mechanic classes by state
1,086 auto mechanic programs in 48 states and 1 territory, with costs, results and funding that can make them free
573 schools offer these programs, and each state on this page approved its programs for workforce funding. Compare the states below, then open one to see each program with its price and how past students did.
Automotive service technicians and mechanics inspect, maintain and repair cars and light trucks. Most complete a program in automotive service technology that leads to a certificate or an associate's degree, and employers may require or prefer certification.1
Compare auto mechanic classes by state: cost, pay and results
| State | Programs | Most cost | Earned a year, estimated | Working 6 months later | Finished |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | 6 | $10,594 to $12,852 | Not reported | Not reported | 83% |
| Alaska | 5 | $4,800 to $18,000 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Arizona | 19 | $3,178 to $8,457 | about $31,100 | 60% | 52% |
| Arkansas | 19 | $6,099 to $11,216 | about $26,700 | 62% | 44% |
| California | 74 | $1,200 to $4,453 | about $47,600 | 58% | 69% |
| Colorado | 47 | $2,804 to $10,664 | about $32,700 | 50% | 36% |
| Connecticut | 2 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Delaware | 4 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Florida | 42 | $3,038 to $6,156 | about $31,800 | 68% | 62% |
| Georgia | 50 | $2,519 to $7,094 | about $27,500 | 69% | 24% |
| Hawaii | 1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Idaho | 4 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Illinois | 96 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Indiana | 36 | $4,912 to $7,342 | about $33,000 | 80% | 53% |
| Iowa | 19 | $9,342 to $16,239 | about $30,300 | 84% | 49% |
| Kansas | 8 | $8,020 to $12,571 | Not reported | Not reported | 77% |
| Kentucky | 6 | $11,880 to $13,120 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Louisiana | 10 | $6,744 to $12,064 | about $30,700 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Maine | 6 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Maryland | 9 | $2,800 to $4,435 | about $29,000 | 67% | 61% |
| Massachusetts | 5 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Michigan | 28 | $6,566 to $16,190 | about $35,600 | 75% | 48% |
| Minnesota | 43 | $4,631 to $11,758 | about $32,800 | 78% | 56% |
| Mississippi | 19 | $4,606 to $8,149 | about $27,400 | 78% | 100% |
| Missouri | 40 | $4,509 to $10,691 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Nebraska | 19 | $1,868 to $7,835 | about $33,500 | 80% | 48% |
| Nevada | 9 | $1,650 to $2,000 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| New Hampshire | 5 | $4,515 to $6,036 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| New Mexico | 21 | $1,301 to $7,200 | about $39,000 | 63% | 100% |
| New York | 4 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| North Carolina | 33 | $1,580 to $5,709 | about $32,400 | 68% | 37% |
| North Dakota | 7 | $8,446 to $16,569 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Ohio | 58 | $2,685 to $9,650 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Oklahoma | 17 | $2,140 to $3,291 | about $31,800 | Not reported | 81% |
| Oregon | 10 | $3,109 to $11,934 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Pennsylvania | 27 | $6,750 to $17,227 | Not reported | Not reported | 78% |
| Puerto Rico | 7 | $13,518 to $14,420 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Rhode Island | 1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| South Carolina | 1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| South Dakota | 3 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tennessee | 26 | $5,492 to $6,523 | about $27,200 | 77% | 76% |
| Texas | 75 | $3,755 to $8,710 | about $28,500 | 73% | 60% |
| Utah | 11 | $2,361 to $7,552 | about $23,800 | Not reported | 31% |
| Vermont | 2 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Virginia | 18 | $632 to $5,479 | Not reported | Not reported | 100% |
| Washington | 86 | $1,545 to $10,536 | about $36,400 | 76% | 78% |
| West Virginia | 1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Wisconsin | 43 | $4,872 to $9,793 | about $33,000 | 80% | 54% |
| Wyoming | 4 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Each figure is the middle program in that state. Yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. Only programs approved for workforce funding are counted; other schools may offer auto mechanic classes too. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).How these figures are made
Where the automotive program numbers by state come from
Which automotive programs are counted?
Programs each state approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), from the US Department of Labor's file for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025), covering programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).5 Schools that never applied for approval are missing.
What the figures for each state mean
Each figure is the middle program among those that report it: half did better, half did worse. Prices are what most programs cost if you pay yourself (the middle half). Earnings are for the second quarter after students left, times four. Where too few programs report a figure, the table says "Not reported".
Other training by state
- CDL training2,356 programs
- CNA classes1,857 programs
- Medical assistant training1,428 programs
- Phlebotomy training1,080 programs
- Welding classes2,163 programs
- HVAC training1,312 programs
- Medical billing and coding training1,063 programs
- LPN programs794 programs
- EMT classes1,029 programs
- Electrician training750 programs
- Dental assistant programs952 programs
Approved programs per trade across every state. Each opens that trade's comparison by state.
Sources for the facts about auto mechanic classes
Show the 5 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Automotive Service Technicians and Mechanics
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List