Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training
A police officer in a blue cap and uniform, seen from behind, watches over a street parade

Police academy by state

338 police and corrections programs in 28 states, with costs, results and funding that can make them free

Which schools offer WIOA-approved police academy training?

252 schools offer these programs, and each state on this page approved its programs for workforce funding. Pick a state on the map or compare them belowCompare the states below, then open one to see each program with its price and how past students did.

What does a police officer do, and how do you become one?

Police officers protect lives and property. Applicants need at least a high school diploma, though some departments and federal agencies ask for college classes or a degree, and they usually must be 21 and meet strict physical and personal standards; most then graduate from their agency's training academy and train on the job.1

Approved programsup to 34 to 78 to 16more than 16

How much does police academy cost?

Most police and corrections programs approved for WIOA funding cost $1,985 to $5,295 if you pay yourself. Prices also differ by state: most cost $582 to $1,254 in California and $2,326 to $7,087 in Arkansas.

That is the price of the whole program as the school reports it. If you qualify, WIOA funding can pay part or all of it, depending on local limits (who qualifies). The figures cover only programs approved for WIOA funding; other schools and programs may cost more or less.

Compare police academy training by state: cost, pay and results

Police academy by state
StateProgramsMost costEarned a year, estimatedWorking 6 months laterFinished
Alaska5$4,800 to $7,500Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
Arizona11$3,517 to $4,592Not enough data93%81%
Arkansas8$2,326 to $7,087Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
California26$582 to $1,254about $70,000100%89%
Colorado9$3,245 to $8,561about $46,90078%92%
Florida42$1,869 to $3,384about $58,40094%90%
Georgia4Too few figures to show
Idaho1Not enough dataNot reportedLeft outNot enough data
Illinois4Left outNot enough dataNot enough dataNot reported
Indiana1Too few figures to show
Maryland1Too few figures to show
Michigan31$3,111 to $6,800about $55,70096%95%
Minnesota20$2,128 to $5,148about $33,70084%56%
Mississippi8$2,250 to $3,400Not enough dataNot enough dataLeft out
Missouri16$4,930 to $6,232Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
New Mexico3Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough dataLeft out
North Carolina37$268 to $1,328about $44,30089%55%
North Dakota1Too few figures to show
Ohio39$4,421 to $7,119Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
Oklahoma4Not enough dataNot enough dataLeft outNot enough data
Pennsylvania4Too few figures to show
Tennessee12$2,711 to $2,880Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
Texas21$2,640 to $5,949about $46,60082%81%
Utah5$3,275 to $6,270Not enough dataLeft outNot enough data
Virginia3Too few figures to show
Washington7$2,961 to $3,526Not enough dataNot enough dataNot enough data
Wisconsin13$3,688 to $5,027about $63,70087%94%
Wyoming2Too few figures to show

Each figure is the middle program in that state. Yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. Only programs approved for workforce funding are counted; other schools may offer police academy training too. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).How these figures are made

Police academy or criminal justice degree? What the 338 programs are

By kind, the 338 programs approved for WIOA funding are police academy (basic law enforcement, 207 programs), law enforcement certificate (47 programs), corrections certificate (32 programs), corrections officer academy (31 programs), and 21 more of 2 other kinds.

Across the US, 87 of the 338 programs take students without a high school diploma, 224 ask for a diploma or equivalent, 22 ask for earlier courses first and 5 ask for an associate degree.

Is there free police academy training in the US?

Other training by state

Approved programs per field across every state. Each opens that field's comparison by state.

Where the law enforcement program numbers by state come from

Which law enforcement programs are counted?

Programs each state approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), from the US Department of Labor's file for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025), covering programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).6 Schools that never applied for approval are missing.

What the figures for each state mean

Each figure is the middle program among those that report it: half did better, half did worse. Prices are what most programs cost if you pay yourself (the middle half). Earnings are for the second quarter after students left, times four. Where a figure is missing, the table says why: "Not reported", "Left out" or "Not enough data" (what each means).

Sources for the facts about police academy training

Show the 6 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Police and Detectives
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List