Retraining Report
Find training

Medical assistant training in Chicago

47 medical assistant programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

41 schools offer these medical assistant programs with classes in the Chicago-Naperville-Elgin area, and every one is approved for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Medical assistants do office and clinical work, from scheduling appointments to taking patients' vital signs. Most train in a certificate program. Certification isn't required in most states, but employers often prefer it.1 In Chicago, 9 of the 47 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 26 are taught partly or fully online.

See the 47 programs

All 65 medical assistant programs in Illinois, including online programs

How much does a medical assistant program cost in Chicago?

$2,899 to $7,367

is what most programs cost if you pay yourself

All 12 programs with a price: $1,529 to $14,025

Finished the program
Not reported
Working 6 months later
Not reported
Earned a year, estimated
Not reported
Length
16 to 52 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Chicago may also offer medical assistant training. How these figures are made

Is there free medical assistant training in Chicago?

All 47 medical assistant programs in Chicago approved for funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
How it's taught
How to show the list

47 programs

  • Clinical medical assistantHybridNo diploma needed

    Clinical Medical Assistant W/externship

    Jeremi College, Munster

    No diploma needed

    Jeremi College, Munster · Clinical medical assistant · Hybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$26,000
    Price if you pay yourself$4,319
    Program website, Clinical Medical Assistant W/externship at Jeremi College
    More details about Clinical Medical Assistant W/externship at Jeremi College
    Finished
    92%
    Working at 6 months
    9%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,508
    Length
    16 weeks, 6 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $200
    Students counted
    470
    a year, estimated
    $26,000
    price
    $4,319
  • Medical assistantIn personPrerequisite courses

    Medical Assisting

    Malcolm X College, Chicago

    Prerequisite courses

    Malcolm X College, Chicago · Medical assistant · In person · Prerequisite courses

    Earned a year, estimated$39,300
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Medical Assisting at Malcolm X College
    More details about Medical Assisting at Malcolm X College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    81%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,826
    Length
    40 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    318
    a year, estimated
    $39,300
    price
    Not reported
  • Clinical medical assistantIn personNo diploma needed

    Certified Clinical Medical Assistant (ccma)

    Saint Joseph'S College, Rensselaer

    No diploma needed

    Saint Joseph'S College, Rensselaer · Clinical medical assistant · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$28,200
    Price if you pay yourself$1,529
    Program website, Certified Clinical Medical Assistant (ccma) at Saint Joseph'S College
    More details about Certified Clinical Medical Assistant (ccma) at Saint Joseph'S College
    Finished
    90%
    Working at 6 months
    76%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,040
    Length
    15 weeks, 8 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $400
    Students counted
    144
    a year, estimated
    $28,200
    price
    $1,529
  • Medical assistantHybridEducation and courses

    Medical Assisting Cert 21MA

    College of Lake County, Grayslake

    Education and courses

    College of Lake County, Grayslake · Medical assistant · Hybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$36,800
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Medical Assisting Cert 21MA at College of Lake County
    More details about Medical Assisting Cert 21MA at College of Lake County
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    63%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,207
    Length
    48 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    113
    a year, estimated
    $36,800
    price
    Not reported
  • Medical assistantIn personEducation and courses

    Medical Assistant Certificate

    College Of DuPage, Glen Ellyn

    Education and courses

    College Of DuPage, Glen Ellyn · Medical assistant · In person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$36,300
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Medical Assistant Certificate at College Of DuPage
    More details about Medical Assistant Certificate at College Of DuPage
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    80%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,085
    Length
    48 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    92
    a year, estimated
    $36,300
    price
    Not reported
  • Clinical medical assistantIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Clinical Medical Assisting

    In Training Inc. College Of Adult Education, Lowell

    High school diploma or equivalent

    In Training Inc. College Of Adult Education, Lowell · Clinical medical assistant · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$23,400
    Price if you pay yourself$5,500
    Program website, Clinical Medical Assisting at In Training Inc. College Of Adult Education
    More details about Clinical Medical Assisting at In Training Inc. College Of Adult Education
    Finished
    92%
    Working at 6 months
    80%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,850
    Length
    52 weeks, 12 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    49
    a year, estimated
    $23,400
    price
    $5,500
  • Medical administrative assistantHybridEducation and courses

    Medical Assistant w/ Medical Billing & Coding

    Triton College, River Grove

    Education and courses

    Triton College, River Grove · Medical administrative assistant · Hybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$30,200
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Medical Assistant w/ Medical Billing & Coding at Triton College
    More details about Medical Assistant w/ Medical Billing & Coding at Triton College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    84%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,559
    Length
    52 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    48
    a year, estimated
    $30,200
    price
    Not reported
  • Medical assistantIn personNo diploma needed

    Medical Assisting - Technical Certificate (tc)

    Ivy Tech Community College, Valparaiso

    No diploma needed

    Ivy Tech Community College, Valparaiso · Medical assistant · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$34,100
    Price if you pay yourself$7,242
    Program website, Medical Assisting - Technical Certificate (tc) at Ivy Tech Community College
    More details about Medical Assisting - Technical Certificate (tc) at Ivy Tech Community College
    Finished
    85%
    Working at 6 months
    81%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,514
    Length
    52 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $51
    Students counted
    32
    a year, estimated
    $34,100
    price
    $7,242
  • Medical assistantHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assisting - Technical Certificate (tc)

    Ivy Tech Community College, Valparaiso

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Ivy Tech Community College, Valparaiso · Medical assistant · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$7,367
    Program website, Medical Assisting - Technical Certificate (tc) at Ivy Tech Community College
    More details about Medical Assisting - Technical Certificate (tc) at Ivy Tech Community College
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    104 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $663
    Students counted
    30
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $7,367
  • Medical assistantIn personNo diploma needed

    Medical Assistant

    Denmark College, Merrillville

    No diploma needed

    Denmark College, Merrillville · Medical assistant · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$14,025
    Program website, Medical Assistant at Denmark College
    More details about Medical Assistant at Denmark College
    Finished
    83%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    40 weeks, 7 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $100
    Students counted
    25
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $14,025
  • Medical assistantHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assisting - Technical Certificate (tc)

    Ivy Tech Community College, Crown Point

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Ivy Tech Community College, Crown Point · Medical assistant · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$7,367
    Program website, Medical Assisting - Technical Certificate (tc) at Ivy Tech Community College
    More details about Medical Assisting - Technical Certificate (tc) at Ivy Tech Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    104 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $663
    Students counted
    20
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $7,367
  • Medical assistantHybridNo diploma needed

    Medical Assistant

    Victory Training Llc, Hobart

    No diploma needed

    Victory Training Llc, Hobart · Medical assistant · Hybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,800
    Program website, Medical Assistant at Victory Training Llc
    More details about Medical Assistant at Victory Training Llc
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    12 weeks, 6 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $300
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $1,800
  • Clinical medical assistantHybridEducation and courses

    clinical medical assistant

    Allied Healthcare Institute North, Hammond

    Education and courses

    Allied Healthcare Institute North, Hammond · Clinical medical assistant · Hybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,899
    Program website, clinical medical assistant at Allied Healthcare Institute North
    More details about clinical medical assistant at Allied Healthcare Institute North
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    6 weeks, 6 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $300
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $2,899
  • Clinical medical assistantHybridEducation and courses

    clinical medical assistant

    Allied Health Care Institute (Gary), Gary

    Education and courses

    Allied Health Care Institute (Gary), Gary · Clinical medical assistant · Hybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,899
    Program website, clinical medical assistant at Allied Health Care Institute (Gary)
    More details about clinical medical assistant at Allied Health Care Institute (Gary)
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    6 weeks, 6 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $300
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $2,899
  • Medical assistantIn personNo diploma needed

    Certified Medical Assisting

    Medical Career Academy Llc, Hammond

    No diploma needed

    Medical Career Academy Llc, Hammond · Medical assistant · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,000
    Program website, Certified Medical Assisting at Medical Career Academy Llc
    More details about Certified Medical Assisting at Medical Career Academy Llc
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    12 weeks, 8 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $250
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $3,000
  • Medical assistantHybridNo diploma needed

    Medical Assistant Program

    University Of Saint Francis, Crown Point

    No diploma needed

    University Of Saint Francis, Crown Point · Medical assistant · Hybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$8,000
    Program website, Medical Assistant Program at University Of Saint Francis
    More details about Medical Assistant Program at University Of Saint Francis
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    52 weeks, 10 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $340
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $8,000
  • Medical assistantIn personEducation and courses

    Bilingual Medical Assistant

    National Latino Education Inst. NLEI (former) Spanish Coalition, Chicago

    Education and courses

    National Latino Education Inst. NLEI (former) Spanish Coalition, Chicago · Medical assistant · In person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Bilingual Medical Assistant at National Latino Education Inst. NLEI (former) Spanish Coalition
    More details about Bilingual Medical Assistant at National Latino Education Inst. NLEI (former) Spanish Coalition
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    40 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Medical administrative assistantHybridEducation and courses

    Certified Administrative Medical Assistant

    Management Info Tech Solutions (MITS), Oak Brook

    Education and courses

    Management Info Tech Solutions (MITS), Oak Brook · Medical administrative assistant · Hybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Certified Administrative Medical Assistant at Management Info Tech Solutions (MITS)
    More details about Certified Administrative Medical Assistant at Management Info Tech Solutions (MITS)
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    16 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Clinical medical assistantIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Certified Clinical Medical Administrative Assistant - (CMAA)

    McHenry County College, Crystal Lake

    High school diploma or equivalent

    McHenry County College, Crystal Lake · Clinical medical assistant · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Certified Clinical Medical Administrative Assistant - (CMAA) at McHenry County College
    More details about Certified Clinical Medical Administrative Assistant - (CMAA) at McHenry County College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    24 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Clinical medical assistantHybridEducation and courses

    Certified Clinical Medical Assistant

    Jeremi Vocational Institute, Olympia Fields

    Education and courses

    Jeremi Vocational Institute, Olympia Fields · Clinical medical assistant · Hybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Certified Clinical Medical Assistant at Jeremi Vocational Institute
    More details about Certified Clinical Medical Assistant at Jeremi Vocational Institute
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    16 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Clinical medical assistantHybridEducation and courses

    Certified Clinical Medical Assistant

    Management Info Tech Solutions (MITS), Oak Brook

    Education and courses

    Management Info Tech Solutions (MITS), Oak Brook · Clinical medical assistant · Hybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Certified Clinical Medical Assistant at Management Info Tech Solutions (MITS)
    More details about Certified Clinical Medical Assistant at Management Info Tech Solutions (MITS)
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    22 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Clinical medical assistantIn personEducation and courses

    Clinical Medical Assistant

    Crocus Institute, Palatine

    Education and courses

    Crocus Institute, Palatine · Clinical medical assistant · In person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Clinical Medical Assistant at Crocus Institute
    More details about Clinical Medical Assistant at Crocus Institute
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    54 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Clinical medical assistantIn personPrerequisite courses

    Clinical Medical Assistant

    Prairie State College, Chicago Heights

    Prerequisite courses

    Prairie State College, Chicago Heights · Clinical medical assistant · In person · Prerequisite courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    School website, Clinical Medical Assistant at Prairie State College
    More details about Clinical Medical Assistant at Prairie State College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    12 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Clinical medical assistantHybridEducation and courses

    Clinical Medical Assistant

    Tukiendorf Training Institute(CBCI), Chicago

    Education and courses

    Tukiendorf Training Institute(CBCI), Chicago · Clinical medical assistant · Hybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Clinical Medical Assistant at Tukiendorf Training Institute(CBCI)
    More details about Clinical Medical Assistant at Tukiendorf Training Institute(CBCI)
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    22 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Clinical medical assistantHybridEducation and courses

    Clinical Medical Assisting

    Midwestern Career College, Chicago

    Education and courses

    Midwestern Career College, Chicago · Clinical medical assistant · Hybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Clinical Medical Assisting at Midwestern Career College
    More details about Clinical Medical Assisting at Midwestern Career College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    60 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Clinical medical assistantIn personEducation and courses

    Dermatology Clinical Assistant (medical assistant)

    Dental Assistant Academy of Chicago, Chicago

    Education and courses

    Dental Assistant Academy of Chicago, Chicago · Clinical medical assistant · In person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Dermatology Clinical Assistant (medical assistant) at Dental Assistant Academy of Chicago
    More details about Dermatology Clinical Assistant (medical assistant) at Dental Assistant Academy of Chicago
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    14 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Medical assistantHybridNo diploma needed

    Medical Assistant

    Jasmine Home Care Training Program Llc, Gary

    No diploma needed

    Jasmine Home Care Training Program Llc, Gary · Medical assistant · Hybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Medical Assistant at Jasmine Home Care Training Program Llc
    More details about Medical Assistant at Jasmine Home Care Training Program Llc
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    3 weeks, 8 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Medical assistantHybridEducation and courses

    Medical Assistant

    National Louis University, Chicago

    Education and courses

    National Louis University, Chicago · Medical assistant · Hybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Medical Assistant at National Louis University
    More details about Medical Assistant at National Louis University
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    30 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Medical assistantIn personPrerequisite courses

    Medical Assistant

    International Training Academy, Schaumburg

    Prerequisite courses

    International Training Academy, Schaumburg · Medical assistant · In person · Prerequisite courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Medical Assistant at International Training Academy
    More details about Medical Assistant at International Training Academy
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    20 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Medical assistantHybridEducation and courses

    Medical Assistant

    Oakton College, Skokie

    Education and courses

    Oakton College, Skokie · Medical assistant · Hybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Medical Assistant at Oakton College
    More details about Medical Assistant at Oakton College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    40 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Medical assistantIn personEducation and courses

    Medical Assistant

    South Suburban College, South Holland

    Education and courses

    South Suburban College, South Holland · Medical assistant · In person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Medical Assistant at South Suburban College
    More details about Medical Assistant at South Suburban College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    64 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Medical assistantHybridEducation and courses

    Medical Assistant

    Tukiendorf Training Institute(CBCI), Chicago

    Education and courses

    Tukiendorf Training Institute(CBCI), Chicago · Medical assistant · Hybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Medical Assistant at Tukiendorf Training Institute(CBCI)
    More details about Medical Assistant at Tukiendorf Training Institute(CBCI)
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    52 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Medical assistantIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assistant

    National College of Health, Chicago

    High school diploma or equivalent

    National College of Health, Chicago · Medical assistant · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Medical Assistant at National College of Health
    More details about Medical Assistant at National College of Health
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    40 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Medical assistantIn personEducation and courses

    Medical Assistant Certificate

    Waubonsee Community College, Aurora

    Education and courses

    Waubonsee Community College, Aurora · Medical assistant · In person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Medical Assistant Certificate at Waubonsee Community College
    More details about Medical Assistant Certificate at Waubonsee Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    40 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Medical assistantHybridNo diploma needed

    Medical Assistant Certificate

    Kishwaukee College, Malta

    No diploma needed

    Kishwaukee College, Malta · Medical assistant · Hybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Medical Assistant Certificate at Kishwaukee College
    More details about Medical Assistant Certificate at Kishwaukee College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    38 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Medical assistantIn personEducation and courses

    Medical Assistant Certificate

    Moraine Valley Community College, Palos Hills

    Education and courses

    Moraine Valley Community College, Palos Hills · Medical assistant · In person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Medical Assistant Certificate at Moraine Valley Community College
    More details about Medical Assistant Certificate at Moraine Valley Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    64 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Medical assistantHybridEducation and courses

    Medical Assistant Comprehensive

    Management Info Tech Solutions (MITS), Oak Brook

    Education and courses

    Management Info Tech Solutions (MITS), Oak Brook · Medical assistant · Hybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Medical Assistant Comprehensive at Management Info Tech Solutions (MITS)
    More details about Medical Assistant Comprehensive at Management Info Tech Solutions (MITS)
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    30 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Medical assistantIn personEducation and courses

    Medical Assistant Diploma Training Program

    New Lake College, Hanover Park

    Education and courses

    New Lake College, Hanover Park · Medical assistant · In person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Medical Assistant Diploma Training Program at New Lake College
    More details about Medical Assistant Diploma Training Program at New Lake College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    48 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Medical assistantIn personEducation and courses

    Medical Assistant Program

    A Plus Healthcare Traning, South Elgin

    Education and courses

    A Plus Healthcare Traning, South Elgin · Medical assistant · In person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Medical Assistant Program at A Plus Healthcare Traning
    More details about Medical Assistant Program at A Plus Healthcare Traning
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    26 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Medical assistantHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assistant Program

    B&DA Inc., Skokie

    High school diploma or equivalent

    B&DA Inc., Skokie · Medical assistant · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Medical Assistant Program at B&DA Inc.
    More details about Medical Assistant Program at B&DA Inc.
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    16 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Medical assistantIn personEducation and courses

    Medical Assistant Training Program

    Medway Healthcare Institute, Chicago

    Education and courses

    Medway Healthcare Institute, Chicago · Medical assistant · In person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Medical Assistant Training Program at Medway Healthcare Institute
    More details about Medical Assistant Training Program at Medway Healthcare Institute
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    30 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Medical assistantHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assistant and Dental Assistant

    B&DA Inc., Skokie

    High school diploma or equivalent

    B&DA Inc., Skokie · Medical assistant · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Medical Assistant and Dental Assistant at B&DA Inc.
    More details about Medical Assistant and Dental Assistant at B&DA Inc.
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    16 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Medical assistantHybridEducation and courses

    Medical Assistant with Externship

    Northeastern Illinois University, Chicago

    Education and courses

    Northeastern Illinois University, Chicago · Medical assistant · Hybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Medical Assistant with Externship at Northeastern Illinois University
    More details about Medical Assistant with Externship at Northeastern Illinois University
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    52 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Medical assistantHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assistant-Diploma

    Lincoln College of Technology, Melrose Park

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Lincoln College of Technology, Melrose Park · Medical assistant · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Medical Assistant-Diploma at Lincoln College of Technology
    More details about Medical Assistant-Diploma at Lincoln College of Technology
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    36 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Medical assistantIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assisting

    First Institute Training & Management, Crystal Lake

    High school diploma or equivalent

    First Institute Training & Management, Crystal Lake · Medical assistant · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Medical Assisting at First Institute Training & Management
    More details about Medical Assisting at First Institute Training & Management
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    53 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Medical assistantHybridEducation and courses

    Medical Assisting Program

    Genesis Healthcare Institute, Romeoville

    Education and courses

    Genesis Healthcare Institute, Romeoville · Medical assistant · Hybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Medical Assisting Program at Genesis Healthcare Institute
    More details about Medical Assisting Program at Genesis Healthcare Institute
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    36 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Medical assistantHybridEducation and courses

    Medical Assisting with Phlebotomy Technician

    Stellar Career College, Chicago

    Education and courses

    Stellar Career College, Chicago · Medical assistant · Hybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Medical Assisting with Phlebotomy Technician at Stellar Career College
    More details about Medical Assisting with Phlebotomy Technician at Stellar Career College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    32 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported

How to pay for medical assistant training in Chicago

Workforce funding can pay for medical assistant training in Chicago

Every program on this page is approved for public workforce funding, the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3

Ask at an American Job Center

Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).4

Financial aid and grants for medical assistant training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.56

GI Bill for medical assistant training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.7

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Where the Chicago medical assistant program numbers come from

Which Chicago medical assistant programs are on this list?

These are the medical assistant programs with classes in the Chicago-Naperville-Elgin area that are approved for public workforce funding (the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). The list covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Online programs are left out here; they are on the Illinois page. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what the area offers.

How Chicago medical assistant program prices are reported

The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.

What the graduate results of these programs measure

The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.

Why do some medical assistant programs say "Not reported"?

Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.

Why the kind of school is left off each program

The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.

How reliable are the Illinois figures?

The US Department of Labor's own results site lists Illinois among the states with "known data quality concerns".8 We leave out the share who finished for Illinois: only a few programs report it, and those at a typical 11%. We leave out prices for Illinois: the state files a code in place of each price, so no price can be shown.

Sources for the facts about medical assistant training in Chicago

Show the 8 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Medical Assistants
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  5. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  7. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  8. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: search page, note on states with known data quality concerns