Retraining Report
Find training

Accounting and bookkeeping classes in Chicago, Illinois

35 accounting and bookkeeping programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

19 schools offer these accounting and bookkeeping programs with classes in the Chicago-Naperville-Elgin area, and every one is approved for workforce funding: 33 by Illinois and 2 by Indiana. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Bookkeeping and accounting clerks record and check financial data so an organization keeps complete, accurate books. Some employers want college classes or a degree in accounting, others hire people with a high school diploma and train them on the job; certification is not usually required.1 In Chicago, 5 of the 35 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 24 are taught partly or fully online.

See the 35 programs

All 68 accounting and bookkeeping programs in Illinois, including online programs

How much do accounting and bookkeeping classes cost in Chicago?

$1,350 to $85,875

is what the 2 programs with a price cost if you pay yourself

In the typical program

Finished the program
Not reported
Working 6 months later
Not enough data
Earned a year, estimated
Not enough data
Length
32 to 64 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Chicago may also offer accounting and bookkeeping classes. How these figures are made

Are there free accounting and bookkeeping classes in Chicago?

All 35 accounting and bookkeeping programs in Chicago approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
How it's taught
How to show the list

35 programs

  • Accounting (associate degree)HybridEducation and courses

    Accountancy AAS Degree

    College Of DuPage

    Glen Ellyn

    Education and courses

    College Of DuPage, Glen Ellyn · Accounting (associate degree) · Hybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$51,200
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported

    3 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Accountancy AAS Degree at College Of DuPage
    More details about Accountancy AAS Degree at College Of DuPage
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    66%
    Earned in a quarter
    $12,790
    Length
    120 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    411
    a year, estimated
    $51,200
    price
    Not reported
    trained with WIOA funding
    3
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseHybridEducation and courses

    Paraprofessional Accountant Certificate

    College Of DuPage

    Glen Ellyn

    Education and courses

    College Of DuPage, Glen Ellyn · Bookkeeping certificate or course · Hybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$51,200
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported

    7 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Paraprofessional Accountant Certificate at College Of DuPage
    More details about Paraprofessional Accountant Certificate at College Of DuPage
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    66%
    Earned in a quarter
    $12,790
    Length
    72 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    411
    a year, estimated
    $51,200
    price
    Not reported
    trained with WIOA funding
    7
  • Accounting (associate degree)HybridEducation and courses

    A.A.S. Accounting Associate Degree

    Harper College

    Palatine

    Education and courses

    Harper College, Palatine · Accounting (associate degree) · Hybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$42,600
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, A.A.S. Accounting Associate Degree at Harper College
    More details about A.A.S. Accounting Associate Degree at Harper College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    67%
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,661
    Length
    64 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    216
    a year, estimated
    $42,600
    price
    Not reported
  • Accounting (associate degree)HybridNo diploma needed

    Accounting (AAS)

    McHenry County College

    Crystal Lake

    No diploma needed

    McHenry County College, Crystal Lake · Accounting (associate degree) · Hybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$23,400
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported

    4 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Accounting (AAS) at McHenry County College
    More details about Accounting (AAS) at McHenry County College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    66%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,841
    Length
    80 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    112
    a year, estimated
    $23,400
    price
    Not reported
    trained with WIOA funding
    4
  • Accounting certificateIn personNo diploma needed

    Accounting Certificate

    McHenry County College

    Crystal Lake

    No diploma needed

    McHenry County College, Crystal Lake · Accounting certificate · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$50,300
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported

    3 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Accounting Certificate at McHenry County College
    More details about Accounting Certificate at McHenry County College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    68%
    Earned in a quarter
    $12,564
    Length
    48 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    32
    a year, estimated
    $50,300
    price
    Not reported
    trained with WIOA funding
    3
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseHybridEducation and courses

    Accounting Assistant/Clerk

    Moraine Valley Community College

    Palos Hills

    Education and courses

    Moraine Valley Community College, Palos Hills · Bookkeeping certificate or course · Hybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$30,800
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Accounting Assistant/Clerk at Moraine Valley Community College
    More details about Accounting Assistant/Clerk at Moraine Valley Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    50%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,705
    Length
    48 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    27
    a year, estimated
    $30,800
    price
    Not reported
  • QuickBooks and accounting softwareIn personNo diploma needed

    Quickbooks Certified Proadviser On-Line

    Computer Education Institute

    Porter

    No diploma needed

    Computer Education Institute, Porter · QuickBooks and accounting software · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,350
    Program website, Quickbooks Certified Proadviser On-Line at Computer Education Institute
    More details about Quickbooks Certified Proadviser On-Line at Computer Education Institute
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    2 weeks, 6 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $1,350
  • Accounting (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Accounting

    Calumet College

    Whiting

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Calumet College, Whiting · Accounting (associate degree) · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$85,875
    Program website, Accounting at Calumet College
    More details about Accounting at Calumet College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    104 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $4,200
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $85,875
  • Accounting (associate degree)HybridEducation and courses

    Accounting (AAS)

    Waubonsee Community College

    Sugar Grove

    Education and courses

    Waubonsee Community College, Sugar Grove · Accounting (associate degree) · Hybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Accounting (AAS) at Waubonsee Community College
    More details about Accounting (AAS) at Waubonsee Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    64 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Accounting (associate degree)HybridPrerequisite courses

    Accounting (AAS)-BU020

    Joliet Junior College

    Joliet

    Prerequisite courses

    Joliet Junior College, Joliet · Accounting (associate degree) · Hybrid · Prerequisite courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    School website, Accounting (AAS)-BU020 at Joliet Junior College
    More details about Accounting (AAS)-BU020 at Joliet Junior College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    104 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Accounting certificateHybridPrerequisite courses

    Accounting (COA)-BU030

    Joliet Junior College

    Joliet

    Prerequisite courses

    Joliet Junior College, Joliet · Accounting certificate · Hybrid · Prerequisite courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    School website, Accounting (COA)-BU030 at Joliet Junior College
    More details about Accounting (COA)-BU030 at Joliet Junior College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    52 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Accounting (associate degree)HybridNo diploma needed

    Accounting AAS

    Elgin Comm. College District #509

    Elgin

    No diploma needed

    Elgin Comm. College District #509, Elgin · Accounting (associate degree) · Hybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Accounting AAS at Elgin Comm. College District #509
    More details about Accounting AAS at Elgin Comm. College District #509
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    64 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Accounting certificateHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Accounting AC

    Wright College - North Campus

    Chicago

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Wright College - North Campus, Chicago · Accounting certificate · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Accounting AC at Wright College - North Campus
    More details about Accounting AC at Wright College - North Campus
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    48 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseHybridEducation and courses

    Accounting Assistant Certificate

    Harper College

    Palatine

    Education and courses

    Harper College, Palatine · Bookkeeping certificate or course · Hybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Accounting Assistant Certificate at Harper College
    More details about Accounting Assistant Certificate at Harper College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    48 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Accounting (associate degree)In personEducation and courses

    Accounting Associate AAS

    Oakton College

    Skokie

    Education and courses

    Oakton College, Skokie · Accounting (associate degree) · In person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Accounting Associate AAS at Oakton College
    More details about Accounting Associate AAS at Oakton College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    64 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Accounting certificateIn personEducation and courses

    Accounting Associate Certificate

    Oakton College

    Skokie

    Education and courses

    Oakton College, Skokie · Accounting certificate · In person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Accounting Associate Certificate at Oakton College
    More details about Accounting Associate Certificate at Oakton College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    64 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Accounting (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Accounting Associates Degree

    Wright College - North Campus

    Chicago

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Wright College - North Campus, Chicago · Accounting (associate degree) · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Accounting Associates Degree at Wright College - North Campus
    More details about Accounting Associates Degree at Wright College - North Campus
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    64 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Accounting certificateHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Accounting BC

    Wright College - North Campus

    Chicago

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Wright College - North Campus, Chicago · Accounting certificate · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Accounting BC at Wright College - North Campus
    More details about Accounting BC at Wright College - North Campus
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    32 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseHybridEducation and courses

    Accounting Bookkeeper/Clerk Certificate

    Harper College

    Palatine

    Education and courses

    Harper College, Palatine · Bookkeeping certificate or course · Hybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Accounting Bookkeeper/Clerk Certificate at Harper College
    More details about Accounting Bookkeeper/Clerk Certificate at Harper College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    32 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Accounting Bookkeeping Certificate

    College Of DuPage

    Glen Ellyn

    High school diploma or equivalent

    College Of DuPage, Glen Ellyn · Bookkeeping certificate or course · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Accounting Bookkeeping Certificate at College Of DuPage
    More details about Accounting Bookkeeping Certificate at College Of DuPage
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    24 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Accounting certificateHybridEducation and courses

    Accounting Certificate

    Waubonsee Community College

    Sugar Grove

    Education and courses

    Waubonsee Community College, Sugar Grove · Accounting certificate · Hybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Accounting Certificate at Waubonsee Community College
    More details about Accounting Certificate at Waubonsee Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    26 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Accounting certificateHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Accounting Certificate

    Prairie State College

    Chicago Heights

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Prairie State College, Chicago Heights · Accounting certificate · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Accounting Certificate at Prairie State College
    More details about Accounting Certificate at Prairie State College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    52 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Accounting certificateIn personEducation and courses

    Accounting Certificate

    South Suburban College

    South Holland

    Education and courses

    South Suburban College, South Holland · Accounting certificate · In person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    School website, Accounting Certificate at South Suburban College
    More details about Accounting Certificate at South Suburban College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    48 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Accounting certificateHybridEducation and courses

    Accounting Program

    Morton College

    Cicero

    Education and courses

    Morton College, Cicero · Accounting certificate · Hybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Accounting Program at Morton College
    More details about Accounting Program at Morton College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    32 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Accounting Specialist Certificate

    College Of DuPage

    Glen Ellyn

    High school diploma or equivalent

    College Of DuPage, Glen Ellyn · Bookkeeping certificate or course · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Accounting Specialist Certificate at College Of DuPage
    More details about Accounting Specialist Certificate at College Of DuPage
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    24 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Accounting certificateIn personEducation and courses

    Accounting Technology Certificate

    Oakton College

    Skokie

    Education and courses

    Oakton College, Skokie · Accounting certificate · In person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Accounting Technology Certificate at Oakton College
    More details about Accounting Technology Certificate at Oakton College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    32 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseHybridEducation and courses

    Advanced Accounting Bookkeeper/Clerk Certificate

    Harper College

    Palatine

    Education and courses

    Harper College, Palatine · Bookkeeping certificate or course · Hybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Advanced Accounting Bookkeeper/Clerk Certificate at Harper College
    More details about Advanced Accounting Bookkeeper/Clerk Certificate at Harper College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    32 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Accounting certificateHybridEducation and courses

    Advanced Accounting Certificate

    College Of DuPage

    Glen Ellyn

    Education and courses

    College Of DuPage, Glen Ellyn · Accounting certificate · Hybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Advanced Accounting Certificate at College Of DuPage
    More details about Advanced Accounting Certificate at College Of DuPage
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    72 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseIn personPrerequisite courses

    Bookkeeping Certificate

    Harry S. Truman College

    Chicago

    Prerequisite courses

    Harry S. Truman College, Chicago · Bookkeeping certificate or course · In person · Prerequisite courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Bookkeeping Certificate at Harry S. Truman College
    More details about Bookkeeping Certificate at Harry S. Truman College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    21 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Bookkeeping w QuickBooks w Payroll Prtc & Mngmt (Voucher)

    Governors State University

    University Park

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Governors State University, University Park · Bookkeeping certificate or course · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    School website, Bookkeeping w QuickBooks w Payroll Prtc & Mngmt (Voucher) at Governors State University
    More details about Bookkeeping w QuickBooks w Payroll Prtc & Mngmt (Voucher) at Governors State University
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    52 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseIn personEducation and courses

    C306A Accounting AssistantCertificate

    Triton College

    River Grove

    Education and courses

    Triton College, River Grove · Bookkeeping certificate or course · In person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, C306A Accounting AssistantCertificate at Triton College
    More details about C306A Accounting AssistantCertificate at Triton College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    52 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • QuickBooks and accounting softwareHybridEducation and courses

    Intuit QuickBooks Online Plus

    College Of DuPage

    Glen Ellyn

    Education and courses

    College Of DuPage, Glen Ellyn · QuickBooks and accounting software · Hybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Intuit QuickBooks Online Plus at College Of DuPage
    More details about Intuit QuickBooks Online Plus at College Of DuPage
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    52 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseIn personNo diploma needed

    Office Administration/Assistant Accounting and Bookkeeping

    MicroTrain Technologies

    Oak Brook

    No diploma needed

    MicroTrain Technologies, Oak Brook · Bookkeeping certificate or course · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Office Administration/Assistant Accounting and Bookkeeping at MicroTrain Technologies
    More details about Office Administration/Assistant Accounting and Bookkeeping at MicroTrain Technologies
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    20 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • PayrollHybridPrerequisite courses

    PayTrain Fundamentals

    Northern Illinois University

    Dekalb

    Prerequisite courses

    Northern Illinois University, Dekalb · Payroll · Hybrid · Prerequisite courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, PayTrain Fundamentals at Northern Illinois University
    More details about PayTrain Fundamentals at Northern Illinois University
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    10 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • PayrollIn personPrerequisite courses

    Payroll & Tax Accounting Certificate

    Waubonsee Community College

    Sugar Grove

    Prerequisite courses

    Waubonsee Community College, Sugar Grove · Payroll · In person · Prerequisite courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Payroll & Tax Accounting Certificate at Waubonsee Community College
    More details about Payroll & Tax Accounting Certificate at Waubonsee Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    26 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported

How to pay for accounting and bookkeeping classes in Chicago

WIOA funding can pay for accounting and bookkeeping classes in Chicago

Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4

Ask at an American Job Center

Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5

Financial aid and grants for accounting and bookkeeping classes

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for accounting and bookkeeping classes

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Where the Chicago accounting and bookkeeping program numbers come from

Which Chicago accounting and bookkeeping programs are on this list?

These are the accounting and bookkeeping programs with classes in the Chicago-Naperville-Elgin area that are approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Online programs are left out here; they are on the Illinois page. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what the area offers.

How Chicago accounting and bookkeeping program prices are reported

The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.

What the graduate results of these programs measure

The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.

Why do some accounting and bookkeeping programs say "Not reported"?

Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.

Why the kind of school is left off each program

The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.

How reliable are the Illinois figures?

The US Department of Labor's own results site lists Illinois among the states with "known data quality concerns".10 We leave out the share who finished for Illinois: only a few programs report it, and those at a typical 11%. We leave out prices for Illinois: the state files a code in place of each price, so no price can be shown.

Other training in Chicago

Sources for the facts about accounting and bookkeeping classes in Chicago

Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Bookkeeping, Accounting, and Auditing Clerks
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List
  10. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: search page, note on states with known data quality concerns