Patient care technician training in Washington
3 patient care technician programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
3 schools offer these patient care technician programs, and Washington has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
The federal job guide has no separate profile for patient care technicians; the closest is nursing assistants, who give basic care and help patients with daily activities. Nursing assistants often complete a state-approved program and pass the state's competency exam, which puts them on the state registry that nursing home work requires.1
In Washington, 2 of the 3 programs ask for a high school diploma or equivalent and 1 asks for an associate degree.
All 3 are the same kind of program: patient care technician course.
See the 3 programsHow much does patient care technician training cost in Washington?
$1,444 to $4,110
is what the 3 programs with a price cost if you pay yourself
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- Not reported
- None of the 3 programs report it
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- None of the 3 programs report it
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- None of the 3 programs report it
- Length
- Not enough data
- 3 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Washington may also offer patient care technician training. How these figures are made
All 3 patient care technician programs in Washington approved for WIOA funding
Filters
3 programs
Emergency Room and Patient Care Technician
Green River College
Auburn
Accredited school
Associate's degree
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,444Program website, Emergency Room and Patient Care Technician at Green River CollegeMore details about Emergency Room and Patient Care Technician at Green River College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 12 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,444
Patient Care Technician
Walla Walla University
College Place
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,000Program website, Patient Care Technician at Walla Walla UniversityMore details about Patient Care Technician at Walla Walla University
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 24 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,000
Patient Care Technician
Edmonds College
Lynnwood
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,110Program website, Patient Care Technician at Edmonds CollegeMore details about Patient Care Technician at Edmonds College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 30 weeks, 13 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,110
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for patient care technician training in Washington
WIOA funding can pay for patient care technician training in Washington
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for patient care technician training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for patient care technician training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Patient care technician training in Seattle, Walla Walla and other Washington cities
Choosing an area filters the program list above.
Other training in Washington
How patient care technician training compares with the rest of nursing and patient care: Nursing and patient care programs in Washington
- CDL training237 programs
- CNA classes78 programs
- Medical assistant training47 programs
- Phlebotomy training32 programs
- Welding classes93 programs
- HVAC training49 programs
- Medical billing and coding training39 programs
- LPN programs9 programs
- EMT classes40 programs
- Electrician training89 programs
- Dental assistant programs56 programs
- Auto mechanic classes86 programs
- Pharmacy technician training18 programs
- Plumbing school43 programs
- CNC machinist training56 programs
- Carpentry classes41 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training9 programs
- Diesel mechanic training31 programs
- Cybersecurity training62 programs
- IT training196 programs
- Cosmetology school49 programs
- Barber school34 programs
- Esthetician school54 programs
- Nail tech school26 programs
- EKG technician programs7 programs
- Massage therapy school39 programs
- Paralegal programs29 programs
- Fire academy16 programs
- Police academy7 programs
- Surgical tech programs9 programs
- Radiology tech programs9 programs
- Culinary school44 programs
- Home health aide training37 programs
- PTA programs11 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training47 programs
- Human resources training27 programs
- Medication aide training3 programs
- Industrial maintenance technician training58 programs
- Early childhood education programs175 programs
- Aircraft mechanic school29 programs
- Supply chain and logistics training35 programs
- Hospitality management programs17 programs
- Addiction counselor training28 programs
- Community health worker training1 program
- Coding and software development courses96 programs
- Lineman school68 programs
- Sterile processing technician training9 programs
- Sonography school4 programs
- Data analytics courses54 programs
- Administrative assistant training130 programs
- Respiratory therapy programs6 programs
- Medical lab technician programs4 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses60 programs
- Digital marketing courses35 programs
- Web and graphic design courses75 programs
- Health information technology programs11 programs
- Vet tech programs17 programs
- Real estate school7 programs
- Security guard training1 program
- OTA programs5 programs
- Crane operator training5 programs
- Interpreter and translator training5 programs
- Home inspector training9 programs
- Forklift certification13 programs
- Personal trainer certification10 programs
- Healthcare administration programs2 programs
- Customer service training7 programs
- Flight school25 programs
- MRI tech school2 programs
- Cardiovascular technology programs1 program
- Mental health technician training6 programs
- Human services programs10 programs
- Manufacturing technician training27 programs
- Electronics technician training43 programs
- Business administration programs129 programs
- Criminal justice programs26 programs
- Teacher assistant certification23 programs
- Auto body repair classes26 programs
- Merchant mariner training99 programs
- Sleep technician training1 program
- Solar and wind technician training7 programs
- Sheet metal training26 programs
- Water treatment operator training13 programs
- OSHA safety training15 programs
- Dialysis technician training1 program
- Optician training2 programs
- Masonry training13 programs
- Construction training programs47 programs
- Dental hygiene programs9 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes98 programs
- RN programs44 programs
- Project management certification56 programs
Where the Washington patient care technician program numbers come from
Which Washington patient care technician programs are on this list?
These are the patient care technician programs Washington approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Washington offers.
How the prices and results of Washington patient care technician programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Sources for the facts about patient care technician training in Washington
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Nursing Assistants and Orderlies
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List