Diesel mechanic training in Michigan
7 diesel mechanic programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
6 schools offer these diesel mechanic programs, and Michigan has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Diesel mechanics inspect and repair buses and trucks and maintain diesel engines of every kind. Community colleges and technical schools offer certificates and degrees in diesel repair, employers may require or prefer certification, and some jobs need a commercial driver's license to test-drive trucks and buses.1 Under federal rules, anyone paid to handle the refrigerant in a truck's cab air conditioning must be certified by an EPA-approved program.2
In Michigan, 4 of the 7 programs take students without a high school diploma and 3 ask for a diploma or equivalent.
By kind, the 7 programs here are diesel technician certificate or diploma (4 programs), diesel technology (associate degree, 2 programs) and medium and heavy truck technician (1 program).
See the 7 programsHow much does diesel mechanic training cost in Michigan?
$6,986 to $21,010 is what most diesel mechanic programs in Michigan cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 7 programs with a price. All of them: $1,500 to $38,045
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- Not enough data
- 4 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- 2 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- 2 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
- Length
- 38 to 82 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Michigan may also offer diesel mechanic training. How these figures are made
All 7 diesel mechanic programs in Michigan approved for WIOA funding
Filters
7 programs
Diesel Technology II 290
Universal Technical Institute of Arizona
Avondale, AZ
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Classes are outside Michigan; Michigan approved the program for its funding.
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$38,045Program website, Diesel Technology II 290 at Universal Technical Institute of ArizonaMore details about Diesel Technology II 290 at Universal Technical Institute of Arizona
- Finished
- 82%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 45 weeks, 27 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $320
- Students counted
- 178
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $38,045
Diesel Service Technology
Baker College
Owosso
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$43,800Price if you pay yourself$30,150Program website, Diesel Service Technology at Baker CollegeMore details about Diesel Service Technology at Baker College
- Finished
- 33%
- Working at 6 months
- 86%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,958
- Length
- 60 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,000
- Students counted
- 21
Listed 2 times in the state's file with differing results. Shown: the listing with the most students.
- Earned a year, estimated
- $43,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- $30,150
Diesel Mechanics Technology/Technician
Kirtland Community College
Grayling
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$42,000Price if you pay yourself$11,224Program website, Diesel Mechanics Technology/Technician at Kirtland Community CollegeMore details about Diesel Mechanics Technology/Technician at Kirtland Community College
- Finished
- 80%
- Working at 6 months
- 80%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,496
- Length
- 30 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $775
- Students counted
- 16
- Earned a year, estimated
- $42,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $11,224
Heavy Duty Diesel Service Technology - AAS
Delta College
University Center
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$11,869Program website, Heavy Duty Diesel Service Technology - AAS at Delta CollegeMore details about Heavy Duty Diesel Service Technology - AAS at Delta College
- Finished
- 30%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 104 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $5,644
- Students counted
- 15
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $11,869
Diesel Mechanic/Heavy Truck Maintenance
Andrews University
Based in Berrien Springs, MI
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,500Program website, Diesel Mechanic/Heavy Truck Maintenance at Andrews UniversityMore details about Diesel Mechanic/Heavy Truck Maintenance at Andrews University
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 56 weeks, 8 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,500
Diesel Mechanic General Automotive Training
Wayne County Community College District
Detroit
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,672Program website, Diesel Mechanic General Automotive Training at Wayne County Community College DistrictMore details about Diesel Mechanic General Automotive Training at Wayne County Community College District
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 16 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,312
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,672
Heavy Duty Diesel Service Technology - Advanced Certificate
Delta College
University Center
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$9,300Program website, Heavy Duty Diesel Service Technology - Advanced Certificate at Delta CollegeMore details about Heavy Duty Diesel Service Technology - Advanced Certificate at Delta College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 104 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $4,420
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $9,300
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for diesel mechanic training in Michigan
WIOA funding can pay for diesel mechanic training in Michigan
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for diesel mechanic training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78
GI Bill for diesel mechanic training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.9
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Quick facts: Diesel mechanic training in Michigan
- programs with a price cost under $10,000
- 3 of 7
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 22nd of 26
- diesel mechanic programs here, against the typical state's 8
- 7 vs 8
State comparisons use the same figures as the diesel mechanic training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
Diesel mechanic training in Bay City, Phoenix, Owosso and other Michigan cities
Choosing an area filters the program list above. 1 in smaller cities and towns and 1 online.
Other training in Michigan
How diesel mechanic training compares with the rest of skilled trades: Trade school programs in Michigan
- CDL training106 programs
- CNA classes99 programs
- Medical assistant training94 programs
- Phlebotomy training45 programs
- Welding classes64 programs
- HVAC training40 programs
- Medical billing and coding training48 programs
- LPN programs22 programs
- EMT classes48 programs
- Electrician training27 programs
- Dental assistant programs39 programs
- Auto mechanic classes30 programs
- Pharmacy technician training34 programs
- Plumbing school10 programs
- CNC machinist training34 programs
- Carpentry classes11 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training4 programs
- Cybersecurity training32 programs
- IT training107 programs
- Cosmetology school11 programs
- Barber school1 program
- Esthetician school6 programs
- Nail tech school5 programs
- EKG technician programs21 programs
- Massage therapy school14 programs
- Paralegal programs15 programs
- Fire academy14 programs
- Police academy31 programs
- Surgical tech programs15 programs
- Radiology tech programs14 programs
- Culinary school26 programs
- Home health aide training5 programs
- PTA programs12 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training34 programs
- Human resources training11 programs
- Medication aide training1 program
- Industrial maintenance technician training45 programs
- Early childhood education programs32 programs
- Aircraft mechanic school5 programs
- Supply chain and logistics training6 programs
- Hospitality management programs7 programs
- Addiction counselor training9 programs
- Community health worker training3 programs
- Coding and software development courses53 programs
- Lineman school8 programs
- Sterile processing technician training13 programs
- Sonography school11 programs
- Data analytics courses14 programs
- Administrative assistant training40 programs
- Respiratory therapy programs8 programs
- Medical lab technician programs12 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses29 programs
- Digital marketing courses13 programs
- Web and graphic design courses39 programs
- Health information technology programs14 programs
- Vet tech programs12 programs
- Real estate school1 program
- Patient care technician training17 programs
- OTA programs4 programs
- Interpreter and translator training3 programs
- Home inspector training3 programs
- Personal trainer certification11 programs
- Healthcare administration programs8 programs
- Customer service training8 programs
- MRI tech school7 programs
- Cardiovascular technology programs4 programs
- RBT certification training5 programs
- Mental health technician training6 programs
- Human services programs11 programs
- Manufacturing technician training26 programs
- Electronics technician training17 programs
- Business administration programs71 programs
- Criminal justice programs42 programs
- Teacher assistant certification12 programs
- Auto body repair classes1 program
- Solar and wind technician training3 programs
- Sheet metal training2 programs
- Water treatment operator training1 program
- OSHA safety training2 programs
- Dialysis technician training5 programs
- Optician training4 programs
- Masonry training3 programs
- Construction training programs25 programs
- Dental hygiene programs10 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes59 programs
- RN programs35 programs
- Project management certification29 programs
Where the Michigan diesel mechanic program numbers come from
Which Michigan diesel mechanic programs are on this list?
These are the diesel mechanic programs Michigan approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).10 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Michigan offers.
How the prices and results of Michigan diesel mechanic programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Sources for the facts about diesel mechanic training in Michigan
Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Diesel Service Technicians and Mechanics
- Electronic Code of Federal Regulations: 40 CFR part 82, subpart B, Servicing of motor vehicle air conditioners
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List