Retraining Report
Find training

Esthetician school in Michigan

6 esthetician programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

5 schools offer these esthetician programs, and Michigan has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Estheticians, or skincare specialists, give face and body treatments and remove unwanted hair. To be licensed you complete a state-approved esthetician or cosmetology program and pass a state exam; the rules vary by state.1 In Michigan, every program asks for a diploma or other schooling first, and 1 is taught partly or fully online.

See the 6 programs

How much does esthetician school cost in Michigan?

$5,092 to $12,478 is what most esthetician programs in Michigan cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 6 programs with a price. All of them: $4,695 to $16,163

In the typical program

Finished the program
100%
Working 6 months later
Not enough data
Earned a year, estimated
Not enough data
Length
20 to 26 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Michigan may also offer esthetician school. How these figures are made

Is there free esthetician school in Michigan?

Esthetician school in Detroit, Jackson and other Michigan cities

Choosing an area filters the list below. 1 in smaller cities and towns.

All 6 esthetician programs in Michigan approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
How it's taught
How to show the list

6 programs

  • Esthetician license programHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Esthetician

    Dorsey College

    Madison Heights

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Dorsey College, Madison Heights · Esthetician license program · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$34,500
    Price if you pay yourself$4,995
    Program website, Esthetician at Dorsey College
    More details about Esthetician at Dorsey College
    Finished
    87%
    Working at 6 months
    70%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,613
    Length
    24 weeks, 22 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    75
    a year, estimated
    $34,500
    price
    $4,995
  • Esthetician license programSeveral formatsHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Esthetics

    Dymond Designs Beauty School

    Detroit

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Dymond Designs Beauty School, Detroit · Esthetician license program · Several formats · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$11,063
    Program website, Esthetics at Dymond Designs Beauty School
    More details about Esthetics at Dymond Designs Beauty School
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    26 weeks, 26 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,100
    Students counted
    22
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $11,063
  • Esthetician license programIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Esthetician

    Kirtland Community College

    Grayling

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Kirtland Community College, Grayling · Esthetician license program · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$20,800
    Price if you pay yourself$5,384
    Program website, Esthetician at Kirtland Community College
    More details about Esthetician at Kirtland Community College
    Finished
    67%
    Working at 6 months
    64%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,205
    Length
    30 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    20
    a year, estimated
    $20,800
    price
    $5,384
  • Esthetician license programIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Esthetician Program

    Atlas Academy of Cosmetology

    Jackson

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Atlas Academy of Cosmetology, Jackson · Esthetician license program · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$15,300
    Price if you pay yourself$12,950
    Program website, Esthetician Program at Atlas Academy of Cosmetology
    More details about Esthetician Program at Atlas Academy of Cosmetology
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    $3,835
    Length
    20 weeks, 22 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,500
    Students counted
    16
    a year, estimated
    $15,300
    price
    $12,950
  • Esthetician license programSeveral formatsHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Advanced Esthetics

    Dymond Designs Beauty School

    Detroit

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Dymond Designs Beauty School, Detroit · Esthetician license program · Several formats · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$99,900
    Price if you pay yourself$16,163
    Program website, Advanced Esthetics at Dymond Designs Beauty School
    More details about Advanced Esthetics at Dymond Designs Beauty School
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    50%
    Earned in a quarter
    $24,978
    Length
    12 weeks, 35 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,500
    Students counted
    14
    a year, estimated
    $99,900
    price
    $16,163
  • Esthetician license programIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Esthetician

    Code Blac Institute

    Southfield

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Code Blac Institute, Southfield · Esthetician license program · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,695
    Program website, Esthetician at Code Blac Institute
    More details about Esthetician at Code Blac Institute
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    20 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $780
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $4,695

How to pay for esthetician school in Michigan

WIOA funding can pay for esthetician school in Michigan

Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4

Ask at an American Job Center

Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5

Financial aid and grants for esthetician school

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for esthetician school

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Esthetician school in Michigan

lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
9th of 16
esthetician programs here, against the typical state's 4
6 vs 4

State comparisons use the same figures as the esthetician school by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Where the Michigan esthetician program numbers come from

Which Michigan esthetician programs are on this list?

These are the esthetician programs Michigan approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Michigan offers.

How Michigan esthetician program prices are reported

The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.

What the graduate results of these programs measure

The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.

Why do some esthetician programs say "Not reported"?

Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.

Why the kind of school is left off each program

The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.

Other training in Michigan

Sources for the facts about esthetician school in Michigan

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Skincare Specialists
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List