Vet tech programs in Michigan
12 vet tech and veterinary assistant programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
12 schools offer these vet tech programs, and Michigan has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Vet techs do medical tests that help diagnose animals' injuries and illnesses and help veterinarians with exams, care and lab work. Most have a two-year associate degree in veterinary technology, and most states require them to pass an exam. Veterinary assistants handle routine animal care; most learn on the job, and certification is optional.1
In Michigan, 4 of the 12 programs take students without a high school diploma, 7 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 1 asks for earlier courses first.
By kind, the 12 programs here are veterinary assistant course (10 programs) and vet tech (associate degree, 2 programs).
See the 12 programsHow much do vet tech programs cost in Michigan?
$2,121 to $14,507 is what most vet tech and veterinary assistant programs in Michigan cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 12 programs with a price. All of them: $1,899 to $26,995
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 56%
- Working 6 months later
- 88%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $29,900
- Length
- 26 to 40 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Michigan may also offer vet tech programs. How these figures are made
All 12 vet tech and veterinary assistant programs in Michigan approved for WIOA funding
Filters
12 programs
Veterinary Technology
Baker College
Owosso
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$31,000Price if you pay yourself$26,9953 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Veterinary Technology at Baker CollegeMore details about Veterinary Technology at Baker College
- Finished
- 38%
- Working at 6 months
- 90%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,740
- Length
- 76 weeks, 14 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 275
- Earned a year, estimated
- $31,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $26,995
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 3
Veterinarian Technician
Macomb Community College
Warren
Accredited school
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimated$37,100Price if you pay yourself$11,897Program website, Veterinarian Technician at Macomb Community CollegeMore details about Veterinarian Technician at Macomb Community College
- Finished
- 60%
- Working at 6 months
- 88%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,265
- Length
- 80 weeks, 13 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,112
- Students counted
- 87
- Earned a year, estimated
- $37,100
- Price if you pay yourself
- $11,897
Veterinary Assistant
Ross Medical Education Center
Canton
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$20,600Price if you pay yourself$14,507Program website, Veterinary Assistant at Ross Medical Education CenterMore details about Veterinary Assistant at Ross Medical Education Center
- Finished
- 56%
- Working at 6 months
- 89%
- Earned in a quarter
- $5,152
- Length
- 36 weeks, 25 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 44
- Earned a year, estimated
- $20,600
- Price if you pay yourself
- $14,507
Veterinary Assistant Training Program
Animal Behavior
Based in Valencia, CA
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$74,000Price if you pay yourself$3,926Program website, Veterinary Assistant Training Program at Animal BehaviorMore details about Veterinary Assistant Training Program at Animal Behavior
- Finished
- 54%
- Working at 6 months
- 28%
- Earned in a quarter
- $18,500
- Length
- 52 weeks, 10 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,729
- Students counted
- 26
- Earned a year, estimated
- $74,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,926
Veterinary Assistant
Ross Medical Education Center
Portage
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$21,100Price if you pay yourself$14,507Program website, Veterinary Assistant at Ross Medical Education CenterMore details about Veterinary Assistant at Ross Medical Education Center
- Finished
- 82%
- Working at 6 months
- 88%
- Earned in a quarter
- $5,263
- Length
- 36 weeks, 25 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 24
- Earned a year, estimated
- $21,100
- Price if you pay yourself
- $14,507
Veterinary Assistant
Ross Medical Education Center
Warren
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$10,500Price if you pay yourself$14,507Program website, Veterinary Assistant at Ross Medical Education CenterMore details about Veterinary Assistant at Ross Medical Education Center
- Finished
- 56%
- Working at 6 months
- 75%
- Earned in a quarter
- $2,627
- Length
- 36 weeks, 25 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 22
- Earned a year, estimated
- $10,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $14,507
Veterinary Assistant
Ross Medical Education Center
New Baltimore
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$29,900Price if you pay yourself$14,507Program website, Veterinary Assistant at Ross Medical Education CenterMore details about Veterinary Assistant at Ross Medical Education Center
- Finished
- 86%
- Working at 6 months
- 75%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,468
- Length
- 36 weeks, 25 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 12
- Earned a year, estimated
- $29,900
- Price if you pay yourself
- $14,507
Veterinary Assistant
Monroe County Community College
Monroe
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,899Program website, Veterinary Assistant at Monroe County Community CollegeMore details about Veterinary Assistant at Monroe County Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 12 weeks, 7 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,899
Veterinary Assistant
Saginaw Valley State University
Based in Saginaw, MI
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,995Program website, Veterinary Assistant at Saginaw Valley State UniversityMore details about Veterinary Assistant at Saginaw Valley State University
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 26 weeks, 9 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,995
Veterinary Assistant
Sanilac Career Center
Based in Peck, MI
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,049School website, Veterinary Assistant at Sanilac Career CenterMore details about Veterinary Assistant at Sanilac Career Center
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 24 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,049
Veterinary Assistant
Central Michigan University
Based in Mt Pleasant, MI
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,145Program website, Veterinary Assistant at Central Michigan UniversityMore details about Veterinary Assistant at Central Michigan University
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 24 weeks, 10 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,145
Veterinary Assistant
Glen Oaks Community College
Based in Centreville, MI
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,495Program website, Veterinary Assistant at Glen Oaks Community CollegeMore details about Veterinary Assistant at Glen Oaks Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 26 weeks, 9 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,495
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for vet tech programs in Michigan
WIOA funding can pay for vet tech programs in Michigan
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for vet tech programs
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for vet tech programs
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Quick facts: Vet tech programs in Michigan
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 7th of 13
- vet tech and veterinary assistant programs here, against the typical state's 4
- 12 vs 4
State comparisons use the same figures as the vet tech programs by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
Vet tech programs in Detroit, Owosso, Kalamazoo and other Michigan cities
Choosing an area filters the program list above. 5 programs are online.
Other training in Michigan
How vet tech programs compare with the rest of allied health: Allied health programs in Michigan
- CDL training106 programs
- CNA classes99 programs
- Medical assistant training94 programs
- Phlebotomy training45 programs
- Welding classes64 programs
- HVAC training40 programs
- Medical billing and coding training48 programs
- LPN programs22 programs
- EMT classes48 programs
- Electrician training27 programs
- Dental assistant programs39 programs
- Auto mechanic classes30 programs
- Pharmacy technician training34 programs
- Plumbing school10 programs
- CNC machinist training34 programs
- Carpentry classes11 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training4 programs
- Diesel mechanic training7 programs
- Cybersecurity training32 programs
- IT training107 programs
- Cosmetology school11 programs
- Barber school1 program
- Esthetician school6 programs
- Nail tech school5 programs
- EKG technician programs21 programs
- Massage therapy school14 programs
- Paralegal programs15 programs
- Fire academy14 programs
- Police academy31 programs
- Surgical tech programs15 programs
- Radiology tech programs14 programs
- Culinary school26 programs
- Home health aide training5 programs
- PTA programs12 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training34 programs
- Human resources training11 programs
- Medication aide training1 program
- Industrial maintenance technician training45 programs
- Early childhood education programs32 programs
- Aircraft mechanic school5 programs
- Supply chain and logistics training6 programs
- Hospitality management programs7 programs
- Addiction counselor training9 programs
- Community health worker training3 programs
- Coding and software development courses53 programs
- Lineman school8 programs
- Sterile processing technician training13 programs
- Sonography school11 programs
- Data analytics courses14 programs
- Administrative assistant training40 programs
- Respiratory therapy programs8 programs
- Medical lab technician programs12 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses29 programs
- Digital marketing courses13 programs
- Web and graphic design courses39 programs
- Health information technology programs14 programs
- Real estate school1 program
- Patient care technician training17 programs
- OTA programs4 programs
- Interpreter and translator training3 programs
- Home inspector training3 programs
- Personal trainer certification11 programs
- Healthcare administration programs8 programs
- Customer service training8 programs
- MRI tech school7 programs
- Cardiovascular technology programs4 programs
- RBT certification training5 programs
- Mental health technician training6 programs
- Human services programs11 programs
- Manufacturing technician training26 programs
- Electronics technician training17 programs
- Business administration programs71 programs
- Criminal justice programs42 programs
- Teacher assistant certification12 programs
- Auto body repair classes1 program
- Solar and wind technician training3 programs
- Sheet metal training2 programs
- Water treatment operator training1 program
- OSHA safety training2 programs
- Dialysis technician training5 programs
- Optician training4 programs
- Masonry training3 programs
- Construction training programs25 programs
- Dental hygiene programs10 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes59 programs
- RN programs35 programs
- Project management certification29 programs
Where the Michigan vet tech program numbers come from
Which Michigan vet tech programs are on this list?
These are the vet tech programs Michigan approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Michigan offers.
How the prices and results of Michigan vet tech programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Sources for the facts about vet tech programs in Michigan
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Veterinary Technologists and Technicians
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List