Manufacturing technician training in Michigan
26 manufacturing programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
20 schools offer these manufacturing programs, and Michigan has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Assemblers and fabricators build finished products and the parts that go into them. A high school diploma is enough for most jobs, and new workers usually get several months of training on the job; advanced assembly work takes more experience and training, and certifications can help a worker move up.1
In Michigan, 17 of the 26 programs take students without a high school diploma, 5 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 4 ask for earlier courses first.
By kind, the 26 programs here are manufacturing technician certificate or diploma (9 programs), manufacturing (associate degree, 9 programs), quality control and inspection (4 programs), short course or intro to manufacturing (2 programs), and 2 more of 2 other kinds.
See the 26 programsHow much does manufacturing training cost in Michigan?
- Certificates and short courses (17 programs)
- $2,808 to $7,284most of them, usually 26 to 45 weeks long
- Two-year degrees (9 programs)
- $12,287 to $18,491most of them, usually 64 to 104 weeks long
What you pay yourself for the whole program, as the schools report it. "Most" is the middle half of the programs with a price.
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- Not enough data
- Only 5 of 26 programs report it
- Working 6 months later
- 86%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $67,200
- Length
- 30 to 66 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Michigan may also offer manufacturing training. How these figures are made
All 26 manufacturing programs in Michigan approved for WIOA funding
Filters
26 programs
Engineering Technology Certificate
St. Clair County Community College
Port Huron
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$6,519Program website, Engineering Technology Certificate at St. Clair County Community CollegeMore details about Engineering Technology Certificate at St. Clair County Community College
- Finished
- 51%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 32 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,672
- Students counted
- 47
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,519
Advanced Integrated Manufacturing - AAS.AIM
Mid Michigan College
Harrison
Accredited school
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimated$29,800Price if you pay yourself$18,718Program website, Advanced Integrated Manufacturing - AAS.AIM at Mid Michigan CollegeMore details about Advanced Integrated Manufacturing - AAS.AIM at Mid Michigan College
- Finished
- 9%
- Working at 6 months
- 90%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,449
- Length
- 104 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $12,026
- Students counted
- 38
- Earned a year, estimated
- $29,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- $18,718
Advanced Manufacturing - Associates Degree
Jackson College
Jackson
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$18,491Program website, Advanced Manufacturing - Associates Degree at Jackson CollegeMore details about Advanced Manufacturing - Associates Degree at Jackson College
- Finished
- 19%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 130 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $950
- Students counted
- 34
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $18,491
Advanced Manufacturing
Schoolcraft College
Livonia
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$67,200Price if you pay yourself$12,792Program website, Advanced Manufacturing at Schoolcraft CollegeMore details about Advanced Manufacturing at Schoolcraft College
- Finished
- 14%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- $16,789
- Length
- 67 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 29
- Earned a year, estimated
- $67,200
- Price if you pay yourself
- $12,792
Industrial Technology (181)
Kellogg Community College
Battle Creek
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$84,900Price if you pay yourself$10,260Program website, Industrial Technology (181) at Kellogg Community CollegeMore details about Industrial Technology (181) at Kellogg Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- $21,213
- Length
- 45 weeks, 18 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 15
- Earned a year, estimated
- $84,900
- Price if you pay yourself
- $10,260
Manufacturing Technology
Muskegon Community College
Muskegon
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$79,500Price if you pay yourself$12,750Program website, Manufacturing Technology at Muskegon Community CollegeMore details about Manufacturing Technology at Muskegon Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- 86%
- Earned in a quarter
- $19,873
- Length
- 104 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $3,400
- Students counted
- 12
- Earned a year, estimated
- $79,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $12,750
Industrial Technology (290)
Kellogg Community College
Battle Creek
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$79,100Price if you pay yourself$14,181Program website, Industrial Technology (290) at Kellogg Community CollegeMore details about Industrial Technology (290) at Kellogg Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- 80%
- Earned in a quarter
- $19,773
- Length
- 60 weeks, 23 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,100
- Students counted
- 12
- Earned a year, estimated
- $79,100
- Price if you pay yourself
- $14,181
Level A: Core Quality Tools Module A
GSHA Quality Services
Ann Arbor
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$54,200Price if you pay yourself$1,50010 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Level A: Core Quality Tools Module A at GSHA Quality ServicesMore details about Level A: Core Quality Tools Module A at GSHA Quality Services
- Finished
- 86%
- Working at 6 months
- 75%
- Earned in a quarter
- $13,548
- Length
- 8 weeks, 4 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $300
- Students counted
- 11
- Earned a year, estimated
- $54,200
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,500
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 10
Advanced Manufacturing Certificate
Schoolcraft College
Livonia
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$49,500Price if you pay yourself$6,824Program website, Advanced Manufacturing Certificate at Schoolcraft CollegeMore details about Advanced Manufacturing Certificate at Schoolcraft College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- 83%
- Earned in a quarter
- $12,373
- Length
- 48 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 11
- Earned a year, estimated
- $49,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,824
Manufacturing Production (Certificate of Achievement)
Lake Michigan College
Benton Harbor
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,80812 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Manufacturing Production (Certificate of Achievement) at Lake Michigan CollegeMore details about Manufacturing Production (Certificate of Achievement) at Lake Michigan College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 21 weeks, 8 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $200
- Students counted
- 12
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,808
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 12
Engineering Technician
Andrews University
Based in Berrien Springs, MI
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,995Program website, Engineering Technician at Andrews UniversityMore details about Engineering Technician at Andrews University
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 78 weeks, 5 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,995
Quality Inspector
Central Michigan University
Based in Mt Pleasant, MI
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,995Program website, Quality Inspector at Central Michigan UniversityMore details about Quality Inspector at Central Michigan University
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 48 weeks, 2 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,995
My Quality Tech Career
Nexus Qsd Group LLC
Based in Flint, MI
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,400More details about My Quality Tech Career at Nexus Qsd Group LLC
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,400
Manufacturing and Production Technology Program
Mylestones Work Force Academy
Ferndale
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,500Program website, Manufacturing and Production Technology Program at Mylestones Work Force AcademyMore details about Manufacturing and Production Technology Program at Mylestones Work Force Academy
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 10 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $700
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,500
Manufacturing Production Specialist
Henry Ford College
Dearborn
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,617Program website, Manufacturing Production Specialist at Henry Ford CollegeMore details about Manufacturing Production Specialist at Henry Ford College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 32 weeks, 10 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,617
Manufacturing Fundamentals - 1327 - Job Training Program
Montcalm Community College
Sidney
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,888Program website, Manufacturing Fundamentals - 1327 - Job Training Program at Montcalm Community CollegeMore details about Manufacturing Fundamentals - 1327 - Job Training Program at Montcalm Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 30 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,250
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,888
Production Technician Certificate (PTEC.CERT)
Jackson College
Jackson
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,512Program website, Production Technician Certificate (PTEC.CERT) at Jackson CollegeMore details about Production Technician Certificate (PTEC.CERT) at Jackson College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 39 weeks, 33 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $350
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,512
Industrial Manufacturing Technician
JAMA/Academy for Manufacturing Careers
Jackson
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,525School website, Industrial Manufacturing Technician at JAMA/Academy for Manufacturing CareersMore details about Industrial Manufacturing Technician at JAMA/Academy for Manufacturing Careers
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,525
Industrial Technology
Alpena Community College
Alpena
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$7,284Program website, Industrial Technology at Alpena Community CollegeMore details about Industrial Technology at Alpena Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 30 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $500
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $7,284
Advanced Integrated Manufacturing - Pre-Apprentice - CERT.AIM.APPRENTICE / AIM.TC.MTO / AIM.TC.ATM
Mid Michigan College
Harrison
Accredited school
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$10,597Program website, Advanced Integrated Manufacturing - Pre-Apprentice - CERT.AIM.APPRENTICE / AIM.TC.MTO / AIM.TC.ATM at Mid Michigan CollegeMore details about Advanced Integrated Manufacturing - Pre-Apprentice - CERT.AIM.APPRENTICE / AIM.TC.MTO / AIM.TC.ATM at Mid Michigan College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 26 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $4,357
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $10,597
Robotics and Advanced Manufacturing
West Shore Community College
Scottville
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$11,031Program website, Robotics and Advanced Manufacturing at West Shore Community CollegeMore details about Robotics and Advanced Manufacturing at West Shore Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 60 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,000
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $11,031
Manufacturing Engineering Technology
Macomb Community College
Warren
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$11,448Program website, Manufacturing Engineering Technology at Macomb Community CollegeMore details about Manufacturing Engineering Technology at Macomb Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 120 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,500
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $11,448
Industrial Manufacturing Engineering Technology (0110)
Lansing Community College
Lansing
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$12,287Program website, Industrial Manufacturing Engineering Technology (0110) at Lansing Community CollegeMore details about Industrial Manufacturing Engineering Technology (0110) at Lansing Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 64 weeks, 38 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,600
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $12,287
3D Printing Technician
JAMA/Academy for Manufacturing Careers
Jackson
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$12,390School website, 3D Printing Technician at JAMA/Academy for Manufacturing CareersMore details about 3D Printing Technician at JAMA/Academy for Manufacturing Careers
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $12,390
Quality Technician
JAMA/Academy for Manufacturing Careers
Jackson
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$19,410School website, Quality Technician at JAMA/Academy for Manufacturing CareersMore details about Quality Technician at JAMA/Academy for Manufacturing Careers
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $19,410
Manufacturing Engineering Technology
Lake Superior State University
Sault S Marie
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$28,606Program website, Manufacturing Engineering Technology at Lake Superior State UniversityMore details about Manufacturing Engineering Technology at Lake Superior State University
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 64 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,500
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $28,606
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for manufacturing training in Michigan
WIOA funding can pay for manufacturing training in Michigan
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for manufacturing training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for manufacturing training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Quick facts: Manufacturing technician training in Michigan
- programs with a price cost under $3,000
- 5 of 26
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 22nd of 22
- manufacturing programs here, against the typical state's 7
- 26 vs 7
State comparisons use the same figures as the manufacturing training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
Manufacturing technician training in Detroit, Jackson, Battle Creek and other Michigan cities
Choosing an area filters the program list above. 5 more programs are in 5 other areas, 2 in smaller cities and towns and 3 online.
Other training in Michigan
How manufacturing training compares with the rest of skilled trades: Trade school programs in Michigan
- CDL training106 programs
- CNA classes99 programs
- Medical assistant training94 programs
- Phlebotomy training45 programs
- Welding classes64 programs
- HVAC training40 programs
- Medical billing and coding training48 programs
- LPN programs22 programs
- EMT classes48 programs
- Electrician training27 programs
- Dental assistant programs39 programs
- Auto mechanic classes30 programs
- Pharmacy technician training34 programs
- Plumbing school10 programs
- CNC machinist training34 programs
- Carpentry classes11 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training4 programs
- Diesel mechanic training7 programs
- Cybersecurity training32 programs
- IT training107 programs
- Cosmetology school11 programs
- Barber school1 program
- Esthetician school6 programs
- Nail tech school5 programs
- EKG technician programs21 programs
- Massage therapy school14 programs
- Paralegal programs15 programs
- Fire academy14 programs
- Police academy31 programs
- Surgical tech programs15 programs
- Radiology tech programs14 programs
- Culinary school26 programs
- Home health aide training5 programs
- PTA programs12 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training34 programs
- Human resources training11 programs
- Medication aide training1 program
- Industrial maintenance technician training45 programs
- Early childhood education programs32 programs
- Aircraft mechanic school5 programs
- Supply chain and logistics training6 programs
- Hospitality management programs7 programs
- Addiction counselor training9 programs
- Community health worker training3 programs
- Coding and software development courses53 programs
- Lineman school8 programs
- Sterile processing technician training13 programs
- Sonography school11 programs
- Data analytics courses14 programs
- Administrative assistant training40 programs
- Respiratory therapy programs8 programs
- Medical lab technician programs12 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses29 programs
- Digital marketing courses13 programs
- Web and graphic design courses39 programs
- Health information technology programs14 programs
- Vet tech programs12 programs
- Real estate school1 program
- Patient care technician training17 programs
- OTA programs4 programs
- Interpreter and translator training3 programs
- Home inspector training3 programs
- Personal trainer certification11 programs
- Healthcare administration programs8 programs
- Customer service training8 programs
- MRI tech school7 programs
- Cardiovascular technology programs4 programs
- RBT certification training5 programs
- Mental health technician training6 programs
- Human services programs11 programs
- Electronics technician training17 programs
- Business administration programs71 programs
- Criminal justice programs42 programs
- Teacher assistant certification12 programs
- Auto body repair classes1 program
- Solar and wind technician training3 programs
- Sheet metal training2 programs
- Water treatment operator training1 program
- OSHA safety training2 programs
- Dialysis technician training5 programs
- Optician training4 programs
- Masonry training3 programs
- Construction training programs25 programs
- Dental hygiene programs10 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes59 programs
- RN programs35 programs
- Project management certification29 programs
Where the Michigan manufacturing program numbers come from
Which Michigan manufacturing programs are on this list?
These are the manufacturing programs Michigan approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Michigan offers.
How the prices and results of Michigan manufacturing programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Sources for the facts about manufacturing training in Michigan
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Assemblers and Fabricators
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List