Addiction counselor training in Wisconsin
15 addiction counseling programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
12 schools offer these addiction counseling programs, and Wisconsin has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Substance abuse counselors advise people on alcoholism, addiction and related problems. Many have a bachelor's degree, but some positions ask only for a high school diploma and others for a master's, and the license rules outside private practice vary by state.1
In Wisconsin, 4 of the 15 programs take students without a high school diploma, 7 ask for a diploma or equivalent, 3 ask for earlier courses first and 1 asks for a bachelor's degree.
By kind, the 15 programs here are addiction counselor certificate (8 programs) and addiction counseling (associate degree, 7 programs).
See the 15 programsHow much does addiction counselor training cost in Wisconsin?
- Certificates and short courses (8 programs)
- $2,688 to $6,449most of them, usually 29 to 40 weeks long
- Two-year degrees (7 programs)
- $9,064 to $10,031most of them, usually 64 to 104 weeks long
What you pay yourself for the whole program, as the schools report it. "Most" is the middle half of the programs with a price.
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 62%
- Working 6 months later
- 78%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $35,500
- Length
- 32 to 66 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Wisconsin may also offer addiction counselor training. How these figures are made
All 15 addiction counseling programs in Wisconsin approved for WIOA funding
Filters
15 programs
Substance Use Disorders Counselor Certificate
University of Wisconsin-Madison - Division of Continuing Studies
Based in Madison, WI
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$43,400Price if you pay yourself$2,250Program website, Substance Use Disorders Counselor Certificate at University of Wisconsin-Madison - Division of Continuing StudiesMore details about Substance Use Disorders Counselor Certificate at University of Wisconsin-Madison - Division of Continuing Studies
- Finished
- 84%
- Working at 6 months
- 80%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,846
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 346
- Earned a year, estimated
- $43,400
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,250
Substance Use Disorder Counseling
Fox Valley Technical College
Appleton
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$32,100Price if you pay yourself$9,14123 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Substance Use Disorder Counseling at Fox Valley Technical CollegeMore details about Substance Use Disorder Counseling at Fox Valley Technical College
- Finished
- 28%
- Working at 6 months
- 81%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,015
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $1,543
- Students counted
- 291
- Earned a year, estimated
- $32,100
- Price if you pay yourself
- $9,141
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 23
Addiction Studies
Madison Area Technical College
Madison
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$37,200Price if you pay yourself$3,618School website, Addiction Studies at Madison Area Technical CollegeMore details about Addiction Studies at Madison Area Technical College
- Finished
- 76%
- Working at 6 months
- 77%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,288
- Length
- 32 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 205
- Earned a year, estimated
- $37,200
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,618
Substance Use Disorder Counseling
Northcentral Technical College
Wausau
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$36,100Price if you pay yourself$10,89710 students trained with WIOA funding
More details about Substance Use Disorder Counseling at Northcentral Technical College
- Finished
- 44%
- Working at 6 months
- 69%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,018
- Length
- 64 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 173
- Earned a year, estimated
- $36,100
- Price if you pay yourself
- $10,897
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 10
Substance Abuse Counselor Education
Northcentral Technical College
Wausau
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$35,500Price if you pay yourself$6,20117 students trained with WIOA funding
More details about Substance Abuse Counselor Education at Northcentral Technical College
- Finished
- 63%
- Working at 6 months
- 72%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,872
- Length
- 48 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 142
- Earned a year, estimated
- $35,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,201
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 17
Substance Use Disorder Counseling
Blackhawk Technical College
Janesville
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$22,900Price if you pay yourself$8,98717 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Substance Use Disorder Counseling at Blackhawk Technical CollegeMore details about Substance Use Disorder Counseling at Blackhawk Technical College
- Finished
- 11%
- Working at 6 months
- 61%
- Earned in a quarter
- $5,727
- Length
- 64 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 112
- Earned a year, estimated
- $22,900
- Price if you pay yourself
- $8,987
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 17
Substance Abuse Counselor Education
Northeast Wisconsin Technical College
Green Bay
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$30,900Price if you pay yourself$7,1915 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Substance Abuse Counselor Education at Northeast Wisconsin Technical CollegeMore details about Substance Abuse Counselor Education at Northeast Wisconsin Technical College
- Finished
- 83%
- Working at 6 months
- 86%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,723
- Length
- 32 weeks, 17 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,000
- Students counted
- 108
- Earned a year, estimated
- $30,900
- Price if you pay yourself
- $7,191
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 5
Substance Use Disorders Counseling
Moraine Park Technical College
Fond du Lac
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$34,800Price if you pay yourself$9,2105 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Substance Use Disorders Counseling at Moraine Park Technical CollegeMore details about Substance Use Disorders Counseling at Moraine Park Technical College
- Finished
- 43%
- Working at 6 months
- 79%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,692
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 95
- Earned a year, estimated
- $34,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- $9,210
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 5
Substance Use Disorder Counseling (SUDC)
Chippewa Valley Technical College
Eau Claire
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$44,900Price if you pay yourself$10,74812 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Substance Use Disorder Counseling (SUDC) at Chippewa Valley Technical CollegeMore details about Substance Use Disorder Counseling (SUDC) at Chippewa Valley Technical College
- Finished
- 65%
- Working at 6 months
- 80%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,228
- Length
- 72 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,228
- Students counted
- 92
- Earned a year, estimated
- $44,900
- Price if you pay yourself
- $10,748
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 12
Substance Use Disorder Counselor (SUDC)
Nicolet College
Rhinelander
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$20,600Price if you pay yourself$9,3143 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Substance Use Disorder Counselor (SUDC) at Nicolet CollegeMore details about Substance Use Disorder Counselor (SUDC) at Nicolet College
- Finished
- 30%
- Working at 6 months
- 67%
- Earned in a quarter
- $5,144
- Length
- 108 weeks, 28 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,274
- Students counted
- 73
- Earned a year, estimated
- $20,600
- Price if you pay yourself
- $9,314
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 3
"360 Circle of Support" AODA Community Substance Abuse Training Program
TransformationServices, Inc
Milwaukee
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$50,700Price if you pay yourself$9,696Program website, "360 Circle of Support" AODA Community Substance Abuse Training Program at TransformationServices, IncMore details about "360 Circle of Support" AODA Community Substance Abuse Training Program at TransformationServices, Inc
- Finished
- 62%
- Working at 6 months
- 45%
- Earned in a quarter
- $12,674
- Length
- 26 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $75
- Students counted
- 38
- Earned a year, estimated
- $50,700
- Price if you pay yourself
- $9,696
Substance Use Disorder Counseling
Waukesha County Technical College
Pewaukee
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$8,772Program website, Substance Use Disorder Counseling at Waukesha County Technical CollegeMore details about Substance Use Disorder Counseling at Waukesha County Technical College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 104 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 22
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $8,772
Substance Abuse Counselor in Training
Fox Valley Technical College
Appleton
Accredited school
Bachelor's degree
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,930Program website, Substance Abuse Counselor in Training at Fox Valley Technical CollegeMore details about Substance Abuse Counselor in Training at Fox Valley Technical College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 60 weeks, 25 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $135
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,930
Substance Abuse Counselor Education 360 Hr Comprehensive Program
Fox Valley Technical College
Appleton
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,834Program website, Substance Abuse Counselor Education 360 Hr Comprehensive Program at Fox Valley Technical CollegeMore details about Substance Abuse Counselor Education 360 Hr Comprehensive Program at Fox Valley Technical College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 18 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,834
Substance Abuse Counselor Education
Northwood Technical College
Rice Lake
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,861Program website, Substance Abuse Counselor Education at Northwood Technical CollegeMore details about Substance Abuse Counselor Education at Northwood Technical College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 32 weeks, 18 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,861
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for addiction counselor training in Wisconsin
WIOA funding can pay for addiction counselor training in Wisconsin
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for addiction counselor training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for addiction counselor training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Quick facts: Addiction counselor training in Wisconsin
- programs with a price cost under $3,000
- 3 of 15
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 13th of 15
- addiction counseling programs here, against the typical state's 4
- 15 vs 4
State comparisons use the same figures as the addiction counselor training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
Addiction counselor training in Appleton, Wausau, Milwaukee and other Wisconsin cities
Choosing an area filters the program list above. 2 more programs are in 2 other areas, 2 in smaller cities and towns and 1 online.
Other training in Wisconsin
How addiction counselor training compares with the rest of education and social services: Child care and social services training in Wisconsin
- CDL training35 programs
- CNA classes36 programs
- Medical assistant training33 programs
- Phlebotomy training18 programs
- Welding classes53 programs
- HVAC training25 programs
- Medical billing and coding training28 programs
- LPN programs9 programs
- EMT classes53 programs
- Electrician training17 programs
- Dental assistant programs18 programs
- Auto mechanic classes43 programs
- Pharmacy technician training12 programs
- Plumbing school9 programs
- CNC machinist training40 programs
- Carpentry classes17 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training4 programs
- Diesel mechanic training20 programs
- Cybersecurity training21 programs
- IT training70 programs
- Cosmetology school13 programs
- Barber school6 programs
- Esthetician school7 programs
- Nail tech school9 programs
- EKG technician programs2 programs
- Massage therapy school7 programs
- Paralegal programs16 programs
- Fire academy14 programs
- Police academy13 programs
- Surgical tech programs14 programs
- Radiology tech programs8 programs
- Culinary school34 programs
- Home health aide training20 programs
- PTA programs5 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training26 programs
- Human resources training36 programs
- Medication aide training2 programs
- Industrial maintenance technician training63 programs
- Early childhood education programs51 programs
- Aircraft mechanic school2 programs
- Supply chain and logistics training27 programs
- Hospitality management programs20 programs
- Community health worker training3 programs
- Coding and software development courses30 programs
- Lineman school8 programs
- Sterile processing technician training2 programs
- Sonography school4 programs
- Data analytics courses12 programs
- Administrative assistant training53 programs
- Respiratory therapy programs7 programs
- Medical lab technician programs13 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses22 programs
- Digital marketing courses23 programs
- Web and graphic design courses29 programs
- Health information technology programs15 programs
- Vet tech programs9 programs
- Real estate school6 programs
- Security guard training3 programs
- OTA programs4 programs
- Crane operator training4 programs
- Interpreter and translator training2 programs
- Forklift certification1 program
- Personal trainer certification2 programs
- Healthcare administration programs8 programs
- Customer service training11 programs
- Flight school2 programs
- Cardiovascular technology programs1 program
- Human services programs10 programs
- Manufacturing technician training33 programs
- Electronics technician training19 programs
- Business administration programs79 programs
- Criminal justice programs22 programs
- Teacher assistant certification17 programs
- Auto body repair classes10 programs
- Solar and wind technician training6 programs
- Water treatment operator training2 programs
- OSHA safety training7 programs
- Dialysis technician training1 program
- Optician training3 programs
- Masonry training3 programs
- Insurance license courses1 program
- Construction training programs12 programs
- Dental hygiene programs7 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes51 programs
- RN programs20 programs
- Project management certification21 programs
Where the Wisconsin addiction counseling program numbers come from
Which Wisconsin addiction counseling programs are on this list?
These are the addiction counseling programs Wisconsin approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Wisconsin offers.
How the prices and results of Wisconsin addiction counseling programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Sources for the facts about addiction counselor training in Wisconsin
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Substance Abuse, Behavioral Disorder, and Mental Health Counselors
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List