Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Respiratory therapy programs in Wisconsin

7 respiratory therapy programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

7 schools offer these respiratory therapy programs, and Wisconsin has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Respiratory therapists care for patients who have trouble breathing, for example from a chronic condition such as asthma. Most need at least an associate degree in respiratory therapy from an accredited program, with supervised practice treating patients, and some employers prefer a bachelor's degree.1 All 49 states that license respiratory therapists base the license on the Certified Respiratory Therapist (CRT) or Registered Respiratory Therapist (RRT) credential from the National Board for Respiratory Care (NBRC).2

In Wisconsin, 6 of the 7 programs ask for a high school diploma or equivalent and 1 asks for earlier courses first.

By kind, the 7 programs here are respiratory therapy (associate degree, 6 programs) and respiratory therapy program (level not stated, 1 program).

See the 7 programs

How much do respiratory therapy programs cost in Wisconsin?

$10,141 to $11,898 is what most respiratory therapy programs in Wisconsin cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 7 programs with a price. All of them: $9,152 to $12,562

In the typical program

Finished the program
48%
Working 6 months later
82%
Earned a year, estimated
about $47,400
Length
66 to 79 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Wisconsin may also offer respiratory therapy programs. How these figures are made

Are there free respiratory therapy programs in Wisconsin?

All 7 respiratory therapy programs in Wisconsin approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

7 programs

  • Respiratory therapy (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Respiratory Therapist

    Milwaukee Area Technical College

    Milwaukee

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Milwaukee Area Technical College, MilwaukeeRespiratory therapy (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$47,400
    Price if you pay yourself$9,152
    Program website, Respiratory Therapist at Milwaukee Area Technical College
    More details about Respiratory Therapist at Milwaukee Area Technical College
    Finished
    33%
    Working at 6 months
    85%
    Earned in a quarter
    $11,843
    Length
    64 weeks, 19 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $5,010
    Students counted
    455
    Earned a year, estimated
    $47,400
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,152
    Program website, Respiratory Therapist at Milwaukee Area Technical College
  • Respiratory therapy program (level not stated)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Respiratory Therapist

    Madison Area Technical College

    Madison

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Madison Area Technical College, MadisonRespiratory therapy program (level not stated) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$49,000
    Price if you pay yourself$12,562

    4 students trained with WIOA funding

    School website, Respiratory Therapist at Madison Area Technical College
    More details about Respiratory Therapist at Madison Area Technical College
    Finished
    46%
    Working at 6 months
    77%
    Earned in a quarter
    $12,241
    Length
    64 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    299
    Earned a year, estimated
    $49,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $12,562
    students trained with WIOA funding
    4
    School website, Respiratory Therapist at Madison Area Technical College
  • Respiratory therapy (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Respiratory Therapy

    Western Technical College

    La Crosse

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Western Technical College, La CrosseRespiratory therapy (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$37,900
    Price if you pay yourself$10,341
    Program website, Respiratory Therapy at Western Technical College
    More details about Respiratory Therapy at Western Technical College
    Finished
    44%
    Working at 6 months
    74%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,478
    Length
    75 weeks, 23 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    155
    Earned a year, estimated
    $37,900
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,341
    Program website, Respiratory Therapy at Western Technical College
  • Respiratory therapy (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Respiratory Therapist Associate Degree

    Mid-State Technical College

    Wisconsin Rapids

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Mid-State Technical College, Wisconsin RapidsRespiratory therapy (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$51,700
    Price if you pay yourself$11,620

    13 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Respiratory Therapist Associate Degree at Mid-State Technical College
    More details about Respiratory Therapist Associate Degree at Mid-State Technical College
    Finished
    48%
    Working at 6 months
    82%
    Earned in a quarter
    $12,926
    Length
    80 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,701
    Students counted
    134
    Earned a year, estimated
    $51,700
    Price if you pay yourself
    $11,620
    students trained with WIOA funding
    13
    Program website, Respiratory Therapist Associate Degree at Mid-State Technical College
  • Respiratory therapy (associate degree)In personEducation and courses

    Respiratory Therapy

    Moraine Park Technical College

    Fond du Lac

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Moraine Park Technical College, Fond du LacRespiratory therapy (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$45,900
    Price if you pay yourself$9,941
    Program website, Respiratory Therapy at Moraine Park Technical College
    More details about Respiratory Therapy at Moraine Park Technical College
    Finished
    60%
    Working at 6 months
    91%
    Earned in a quarter
    $11,465
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    129
    Earned a year, estimated
    $45,900
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,941
    Program website, Respiratory Therapy at Moraine Park Technical College
  • Respiratory therapy (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Respiratory Therapy

    Northeast Wisconsin Technical College

    Green Bay

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Northeast Wisconsin Technical College, Green BayRespiratory therapy (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$49,200
    Price if you pay yourself$11,233

    8 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Respiratory Therapy at Northeast Wisconsin Technical College
    More details about Respiratory Therapy at Northeast Wisconsin Technical College
    Finished
    58%
    Working at 6 months
    83%
    Earned in a quarter
    $12,306
    Length
    101 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $3,500
    Students counted
    122
    Earned a year, estimated
    $49,200
    Price if you pay yourself
    $11,233
    students trained with WIOA funding
    8
    Program website, Respiratory Therapy at Northeast Wisconsin Technical College
  • Respiratory therapy (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Respiratory Therapy

    Chippewa Valley Technical College

    Eau Claire

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Chippewa Valley Technical College, Eau ClaireRespiratory therapy (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$42,900
    Price if you pay yourself$12,177
    Program website, Respiratory Therapy at Chippewa Valley Technical College
    More details about Respiratory Therapy at Chippewa Valley Technical College
    Finished
    71%
    Working at 6 months
    70%
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,723
    Length
    72 weeks, 36 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,448
    Students counted
    90
    Earned a year, estimated
    $42,900
    Price if you pay yourself
    $12,177
    Program website, Respiratory Therapy at Chippewa Valley Technical College

How to pay for respiratory therapy programs in Wisconsin

WIOA funding can pay for respiratory therapy programs in Wisconsin

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for respiratory therapy programs

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78

GI Bill for respiratory therapy programs

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.9

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Respiratory therapy programs in Wisconsin

lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
7th of 16
other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
3 of 11
respiratory therapy programs here, against the typical state's 4
7 vs 4

State comparisons use the same figures as the respiratory therapy programs by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Respiratory therapy programs in Milwaukee, Madison, La Crosse and other Wisconsin cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above. 1 more program is in 1 other area.

Other training in Wisconsin

How respiratory therapy programs compare with the rest of allied health: Allied health programs in Wisconsin

Where the Wisconsin respiratory therapy program numbers come from

Which Wisconsin respiratory therapy programs are on this list?

These are the respiratory therapy programs Wisconsin approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).10 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Wisconsin offers.

How the prices and results of Wisconsin respiratory therapy programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about respiratory therapy programs in Wisconsin

Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Respiratory Therapists
  2. National Board for Respiratory Care: Certified Respiratory Therapist (CRT)
  3. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  4. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  5. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  6. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  8. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  9. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  10. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List