Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Aircraft mechanic school in Wisconsin

2 aircraft mechanic programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

1 school offers these aviation maintenance programs, and Wisconsin has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Aircraft mechanics and avionics technicians inspect, test and repair aircraft and their systems. Most train at an FAA-approved aviation maintenance technician school, some in a two-year degree, and most are certified by the FAA; employers often prefer mechanics with both the airframe and powerplant (A&P) ratings.1 For the FAA mechanic certificate you must be at least 18, read, write, speak and understand English, and pass written, oral and practical tests.2

In Wisconsin, both programs ask for a high school diploma or equivalent.

By kind, the 2 programs here are A&P certificate or diploma (1 program) and aviation maintenance (associate degree, 1 program).

See the 2 programs

How much does aircraft mechanic school cost in Wisconsin?

$10,570 to $12,179

from the lowest-priced program to the highest, if you pay yourself

These two programs

Finished the program
62% to 79%
Working 6 months later
71% to 76%
Earned a year, estimated
about $38,900 to $46,100
Length
Not reported
Neither program reports it

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Wisconsin may also offer aircraft mechanic school. How these figures are made

Is there free aircraft mechanic school in Wisconsin?

All 2 aircraft mechanic programs in Wisconsin approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

2 programs

  • A&P certificate or diplomaIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Airframe & Powerplant Mechanics

    Fox Valley Technical College

    Appleton

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Fox Valley Technical College, AppletonA&P certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$46,100
    Price if you pay yourself$12,179
    Program website, Airframe & Powerplant Mechanics at Fox Valley Technical College
    More details about Airframe & Powerplant Mechanics at Fox Valley Technical College
    Finished
    79%
    Working at 6 months
    71%
    Earned in a quarter
    $11,521
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $6,346
    Students counted
    178
    Earned a year, estimated
    $46,100
    Price if you pay yourself
    $12,179
    Program website, Airframe & Powerplant Mechanics at Fox Valley Technical College
  • Aviation maintenance (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Aircraft Electronics

    Fox Valley Technical College

    Appleton

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Fox Valley Technical College, AppletonAviation maintenance (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$38,900
    Price if you pay yourself$10,570
    Program website, Aircraft Electronics at Fox Valley Technical College
    More details about Aircraft Electronics at Fox Valley Technical College
    Finished
    62%
    Working at 6 months
    76%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,721
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $3,667
    Students counted
    100
    Earned a year, estimated
    $38,900
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,570
    Program website, Aircraft Electronics at Fox Valley Technical College

How to pay for aircraft mechanic school in Wisconsin

WIOA funding can pay for aircraft mechanic school in Wisconsin

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for aircraft mechanic school

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78

GI Bill for aircraft mechanic school

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.9

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Other training in Wisconsin

How aircraft mechanic school compares with the rest of transportation and logistics: Transportation and logistics training in Wisconsin

Where the Wisconsin aviation maintenance program numbers come from

Which Wisconsin aviation maintenance programs are on this list?

These are the aviation maintenance programs Wisconsin approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).10 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Wisconsin offers.

How the prices and results of Wisconsin aviation maintenance programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about aircraft mechanic school in Wisconsin

Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Aircraft and Avionics Equipment Mechanics and Technicians
  2. Electronic Code of Federal Regulations: 14 CFR part 65, subpart D, Mechanics
  3. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  4. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  5. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  6. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  8. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  9. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  10. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List