Teacher assistant certification in Wisconsin
17 teacher assistant programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
12 schools offer these teacher assistant programs, and Wisconsin has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Teacher assistants work with a licensed teacher to give students extra attention and instruction. In public schools they need at least two years of college coursework or an associate's degree, and most states require a skills test for those who work with special-needs students.1
In Wisconsin, 4 of the 17 programs take students without a high school diploma and 13 ask for a diploma or equivalent.
By kind, the 17 programs here are education and teaching (associate degree, 8 programs), paraprofessional and teacher assistant certificate or course (6 programs) and education and teaching certificate or course (3 programs).
See the 17 programsHow much does teacher assistant training cost in Wisconsin?
- Certificates and short courses (9 programs)
- $1,996 to $8,043most of them, usually 32 to 38 weeks long
- Two-year degrees (8 programs)
- $9,160 to $10,047most of them, usually 64 weeks long
What you pay yourself for the whole program, as the schools report it. "Most" is the middle half of the programs with a price.
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 59%
- Working 6 months later
- 78%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $26,900
- Length
- 32 to 64 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Wisconsin may also offer teacher assistant training. How these figures are made
All 17 teacher assistant programs in Wisconsin approved for WIOA funding
Filters
17 programs
Paraeducator
Northeast Wisconsin Technical College
Green Bay
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$26,300Price if you pay yourself$7,671Program website, Paraeducator at Northeast Wisconsin Technical CollegeMore details about Paraeducator at Northeast Wisconsin Technical College
- Finished
- 63%
- Working at 6 months
- 78%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,585
- Length
- 32 weeks, 17 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,525
- Students counted
- 201
- Earned a year, estimated
- $26,300
- Price if you pay yourself
- $7,671
Foundations of Teacher Education
Northeast Wisconsin Technical College
Green Bay
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$26,900Price if you pay yourself$9,440Program website, Foundations of Teacher Education at Northeast Wisconsin Technical CollegeMore details about Foundations of Teacher Education at Northeast Wisconsin Technical College
- Finished
- 61%
- Working at 6 months
- 76%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,723
- Length
- 64 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,925
- Students counted
- 198
- Earned a year, estimated
- $26,900
- Price if you pay yourself
- $9,440
Foundations of Teacher Education
Waukesha County Technical College
Pewaukee
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$28,900Price if you pay yourself$8,810Program website, Foundations of Teacher Education at Waukesha County Technical CollegeMore details about Foundations of Teacher Education at Waukesha County Technical College
- Finished
- 57%
- Working at 6 months
- 78%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,227
- Length
- 64 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 166
- Earned a year, estimated
- $28,900
- Price if you pay yourself
- $8,810
Foundations of Teacher Education
Western Technical College
La Crosse
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$22,800Price if you pay yourself$10,013Program website, Foundations of Teacher Education at Western Technical CollegeMore details about Foundations of Teacher Education at Western Technical College
- Finished
- 58%
- Working at 6 months
- 70%
- Earned in a quarter
- $5,712
- Length
- 60 weeks, 21 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 155
- Earned a year, estimated
- $22,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- $10,013
Foundations of Teacher Education
Gateway Technical College
Based in Kenosha, WI
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$28,000Price if you pay yourself$10,150Program website, Foundations of Teacher Education at Gateway Technical CollegeMore details about Foundations of Teacher Education at Gateway Technical College
- Finished
- 48%
- Working at 6 months
- 74%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,998
- Length
- 70 weeks, 18 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 143
- Earned a year, estimated
- $28,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $10,150
Foundations of Teacher Education
Northcentral Technical College
Wausau
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$20,400Price if you pay yourself$10,394More details about Foundations of Teacher Education at Northcentral Technical College
- Finished
- 33%
- Working at 6 months
- 81%
- Earned in a quarter
- $5,099
- Length
- 64 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 98
- Earned a year, estimated
- $20,400
- Price if you pay yourself
- $10,394
Foundations of Teacher Education
Chippewa Valley Technical College
Eau Claire
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$27,200Price if you pay yourself$9,888Program website, Foundations of Teacher Education at Chippewa Valley Technical CollegeMore details about Foundations of Teacher Education at Chippewa Valley Technical College
- Finished
- 68%
- Working at 6 months
- 79%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,797
- Length
- 64 weeks, 19 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $89
- Students counted
- 84
- Earned a year, estimated
- $27,200
- Price if you pay yourself
- $9,888
Foundations of Teacher Education
Fox Valley Technical College
Appleton
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$21,600Price if you pay yourself$8,871Program website, Foundations of Teacher Education at Fox Valley Technical CollegeMore details about Foundations of Teacher Education at Fox Valley Technical College
- Finished
- 42%
- Working at 6 months
- 84%
- Earned in a quarter
- $5,411
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 75
- Earned a year, estimated
- $21,600
- Price if you pay yourself
- $8,871
Foundations of Teacher Education
Blackhawk Technical College
Janesville
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$27,100Price if you pay yourself$9,257Program website, Foundations of Teacher Education at Blackhawk Technical CollegeMore details about Foundations of Teacher Education at Blackhawk Technical College
- Finished
- 57%
- Working at 6 months
- 73%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,787
- Length
- 64 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 71
- Earned a year, estimated
- $27,100
- Price if you pay yourself
- $9,257
Intro to Paraeducator Careers
Gateway Technical College
Based in Kenosha, WI
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$27,200Price if you pay yourself$1,996Program website, Intro to Paraeducator Careers at Gateway Technical CollegeMore details about Intro to Paraeducator Careers at Gateway Technical College
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 83%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,796
- Length
- 30 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 70
- Earned a year, estimated
- $27,200
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,996
Educational Assistant
Western Technical College
La Crosse
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$18,700Price if you pay yourself$8,043Program website, Educational Assistant at Western Technical CollegeMore details about Educational Assistant at Western Technical College
- Finished
- 62%
- Working at 6 months
- 79%
- Earned in a quarter
- $4,676
- Length
- 45 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 41
- Earned a year, estimated
- $18,700
- Price if you pay yourself
- $8,043
Autism Assistant
Chippewa Valley Technical College
Eau Claire
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,963Program website, Autism Assistant at Chippewa Valley Technical CollegeMore details about Autism Assistant at Chippewa Valley Technical College
- Finished
- 90%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 32 weeks, 14 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 14
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,963
Intro to Education
Northcentral Technical College - Local Programs
Based in Wausau, WI
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,509More details about Intro to Education at Northcentral Technical College - Local Programs
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 36 weeks, 5 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,509
Teacher's Aide with ParaPro Prep
University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
Based in La Crosse, WI
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,695Program website, Teacher's Aide with ParaPro Prep at University of Wisconsin-La CrosseMore details about Teacher's Aide with ParaPro Prep at University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 26 weeks, 5 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,695
Autism Technician
Northeast Wisconsin Technical College
Green Bay
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,868Program website, Autism Technician at Northeast Wisconsin Technical CollegeMore details about Autism Technician at Northeast Wisconsin Technical College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 32 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $875
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,868
Foundations of Teacher Education
Lakeshore Technical College
Based in Cleveland, WI
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$9,413Program website, Foundations of Teacher Education at Lakeshore Technical CollegeMore details about Foundations of Teacher Education at Lakeshore Technical College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $1,089
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $9,413
Foundations of Education
University of Wisconsin-Green Bay, Division of Continuing Education and Com
Based in Green Bay, WI
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$13,124Program website, Foundations of Education at University of Wisconsin-Green Bay, Division of Continuing Education and ComMore details about Foundations of Education at University of Wisconsin-Green Bay, Division of Continuing Education and Com
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 116 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $13,124
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for teacher assistant training in Wisconsin
WIOA funding can pay for teacher assistant training in Wisconsin
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for teacher assistant training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for teacher assistant training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Quick facts: Teacher assistant certification in Wisconsin
- programs with a price cost under $5,000
- 5 of 17
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 10th of 14
- most teacher assistant programs of any state, after Washington and Arkansas
- 3rd
State comparisons use the same figures as the teacher assistant training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
Teacher assistant certification in Green Bay, La Crosse, Eau Claire and other Wisconsin cities
Choosing an area filters the program list above. 1 in smaller cities and towns and 6 online.
Other training in Wisconsin
How teacher assistant training compares with the rest of education and social services: Child care and social services training in Wisconsin
- CDL training35 programs
- CNA classes36 programs
- Medical assistant training33 programs
- Phlebotomy training18 programs
- Welding classes53 programs
- HVAC training25 programs
- Medical billing and coding training28 programs
- LPN programs9 programs
- EMT classes53 programs
- Electrician training17 programs
- Dental assistant programs18 programs
- Auto mechanic classes43 programs
- Pharmacy technician training12 programs
- Plumbing school9 programs
- CNC machinist training40 programs
- Carpentry classes17 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training4 programs
- Diesel mechanic training20 programs
- Cybersecurity training21 programs
- IT training70 programs
- Cosmetology school13 programs
- Barber school6 programs
- Esthetician school7 programs
- Nail tech school9 programs
- EKG technician programs2 programs
- Massage therapy school7 programs
- Paralegal programs16 programs
- Fire academy14 programs
- Police academy13 programs
- Surgical tech programs14 programs
- Radiology tech programs8 programs
- Culinary school34 programs
- Home health aide training20 programs
- PTA programs5 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training26 programs
- Human resources training36 programs
- Medication aide training2 programs
- Industrial maintenance technician training63 programs
- Early childhood education programs51 programs
- Aircraft mechanic school2 programs
- Supply chain and logistics training27 programs
- Hospitality management programs20 programs
- Addiction counselor training15 programs
- Community health worker training3 programs
- Coding and software development courses30 programs
- Lineman school8 programs
- Sterile processing technician training2 programs
- Sonography school4 programs
- Data analytics courses12 programs
- Administrative assistant training53 programs
- Respiratory therapy programs7 programs
- Medical lab technician programs13 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses22 programs
- Digital marketing courses23 programs
- Web and graphic design courses29 programs
- Health information technology programs15 programs
- Vet tech programs9 programs
- Real estate school6 programs
- Security guard training3 programs
- OTA programs4 programs
- Crane operator training4 programs
- Interpreter and translator training2 programs
- Forklift certification1 program
- Personal trainer certification2 programs
- Healthcare administration programs8 programs
- Customer service training11 programs
- Flight school2 programs
- Cardiovascular technology programs1 program
- Human services programs10 programs
- Manufacturing technician training33 programs
- Electronics technician training19 programs
- Business administration programs79 programs
- Criminal justice programs22 programs
- Auto body repair classes10 programs
- Solar and wind technician training6 programs
- Water treatment operator training2 programs
- OSHA safety training7 programs
- Dialysis technician training1 program
- Optician training3 programs
- Masonry training3 programs
- Insurance license courses1 program
- Construction training programs12 programs
- Dental hygiene programs7 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes51 programs
- RN programs20 programs
- Project management certification21 programs
Where the Wisconsin teacher assistant program numbers come from
Which Wisconsin teacher assistant programs are on this list?
These are the teacher assistant programs Wisconsin approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Wisconsin offers.
How the prices and results of Wisconsin teacher assistant programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Sources for the facts about teacher assistant training in Wisconsin
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Teacher Assistants
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List