Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Job training programs in Portsmouth, Ohio

51 programs in 32 fields, with costs, results and funding that can make them free

4 schools offer these programs with classes in the Portsmouth area, and every one is approved for workforce funding. Compare the fields below, then open one to see each program with its price and how past students did.

All job training programs in Ohio, including online programs

All 51 job training programs in the Portsmouth area

How to show the programs

Fire academy 6

All firefighter programs in Ohio, with typical prices and results

  • Fire inspector or investigator courseIn personNo diploma needed

    Fire Safety Inspector

    Scioto County Career Technical Center

    Lucasville

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Scioto County Career Technical Center, LucasvilleFire inspector or investigator course · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$615
    Program website, Fire Safety Inspector at Scioto County Career Technical Center
    More details about Fire Safety Inspector at Scioto County Career Technical Center
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $371
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $615
    Program website, Fire Safety Inspector at Scioto County Career Technical Center
  • Fire academy (Firefighter I and II)In personNo diploma needed

    Fire Fighter II Transitions

    Scioto County Career Technical Center

    Lucasville

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Scioto County Career Technical Center, LucasvilleFire academy (Firefighter I and II) · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$810
    Program website, Fire Fighter II Transitions at Scioto County Career Technical Center
    More details about Fire Fighter II Transitions at Scioto County Career Technical Center
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $190
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $810
    Program website, Fire Fighter II Transitions at Scioto County Career Technical Center
  • Fire academy (Firefighter I and II)In personPrerequisite courses

    Fire Fighting Two Transitions

    Scioto County Career Technical Center

    Lucasville

    Accredited school

    Prerequisite courses

    Scioto County Career Technical Center, LucasvilleFire academy (Firefighter I and II) · Accredited schoolIn person · Prerequisite courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$810
    Program website, Fire Fighting Two Transitions at Scioto County Career Technical Center
    More details about Fire Fighting Two Transitions at Scioto County Career Technical Center
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $190
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $810
    Program website, Fire Fighting Two Transitions at Scioto County Career Technical Center
  • Fire academy (Firefighter I and II)In personNo diploma needed

    Fire Fighter I Transitions

    Scioto County Career Technical Center

    Lucasville

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Scioto County Career Technical Center, LucasvilleFire academy (Firefighter I and II) · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$910
    Program website, Fire Fighter I Transitions at Scioto County Career Technical Center
    More details about Fire Fighter I Transitions at Scioto County Career Technical Center
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $190
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $910
    Program website, Fire Fighter I Transitions at Scioto County Career Technical Center
  • Fire academy (Firefighter I and II)In personNo diploma needed

    Fire Fighter I

    Scioto County Career Technical Center

    Lucasville

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Scioto County Career Technical Center, LucasvilleFire academy (Firefighter I and II) · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,035
    Program website, Fire Fighter I at Scioto County Career Technical Center
    More details about Fire Fighter I at Scioto County Career Technical Center
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $190
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,035
    Program website, Fire Fighter I at Scioto County Career Technical Center
  • Fire academy (Firefighter I and II)In personNo diploma needed

    Fire Fighter 1 & Fire Fighter 2

    Scioto County Career Technical Center

    Lucasville

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Scioto County Career Technical Center, LucasvilleFire academy (Firefighter I and II) · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,845
    Program website, Fire Fighter 1 & Fire Fighter 2 at Scioto County Career Technical Center
    More details about Fire Fighter 1 & Fire Fighter 2 at Scioto County Career Technical Center
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $380
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,845
    Program website, Fire Fighter 1 & Fire Fighter 2 at Scioto County Career Technical Center

Industrial maintenance technician training 3

All industrial maintenance programs in Ohio, with typical prices and results

  • Industrial maintenance (associate degree)In personPrerequisite courses

    Electromechanical Engineering Technology

    Shawnee State University

    Portsmouth

    Accredited school

    Prerequisite courses

    Shawnee State University, PortsmouthIndustrial maintenance (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · Prerequisite courses

    Earned a year, estimated$20,300
    Price if you pay yourself$8,604
    Program website, Electromechanical Engineering Technology at Shawnee State University
    More details about Electromechanical Engineering Technology at Shawnee State University
    Finished
    45%
    Working at 6 months
    67%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,065
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    38
    Earned a year, estimated
    $20,300
    Price if you pay yourself
    $8,604
    Program website, Electromechanical Engineering Technology at Shawnee State University
  • Industrial maintenance certificate or diplomaIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Industrial Maintenance

    Scioto County Career Technical Center

    Lucasville

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Scioto County Career Technical Center, LucasvilleIndustrial maintenance certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$8,530
    Program website, Industrial Maintenance at Scioto County Career Technical Center
    More details about Industrial Maintenance at Scioto County Career Technical Center
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $3,255
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $8,530
    Program website, Industrial Maintenance at Scioto County Career Technical Center
  • Mechatronics and automationIn personEducation and courses

    Robotics Technology

    Scioto County Career Technical Center

    Lucasville

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Scioto County Career Technical Center, LucasvilleMechatronics and automation · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Robotics Technology at Scioto County Career Technical Center
    More details about Robotics Technology at Scioto County Career Technical Center
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Not reported
    Program website, Robotics Technology at Scioto County Career Technical Center

Medical administrative assistant training 3

All medical office programs in Ohio, with typical prices and results

RN programs 3

All RN programs in Ohio, with typical prices and results

  • RN bachelor's degree (BSN)In personAssociate's degree

    Registered Nursing (BSN)

    Shawnee State University

    Portsmouth

    Accredited school

    Associate's degree

    Shawnee State University, PortsmouthRN bachelor's degree (BSN) · Accredited schoolIn person · Associate's degree

    Earned a year, estimated$78,000
    Price if you pay yourself$8,604

    9 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Registered Nursing (BSN) at Shawnee State University
    More details about Registered Nursing (BSN) at Shawnee State University
    Finished
    65%
    Working at 6 months
    79%
    Earned in a quarter
    $19,502
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    255
    Earned a year, estimated
    $78,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $8,604
    students trained with WIOA funding
    9
    Program website, Registered Nursing (BSN) at Shawnee State University
  • RN associate degree (ADN)In personNo diploma needed

    Registered Nursing Associate Degree

    Shawnee State University

    Portsmouth

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Shawnee State University, PortsmouthRN associate degree (ADN) · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$33,400
    Price if you pay yourself$8,604

    8 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Registered Nursing Associate Degree at Shawnee State University
    More details about Registered Nursing Associate Degree at Shawnee State University
    Finished
    60%
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,344
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    17
    Earned a year, estimated
    $33,400
    Price if you pay yourself
    $8,604
    students trained with WIOA funding
    8
    Program website, Registered Nursing Associate Degree at Shawnee State University
  • RN diploma programIn personEducation and courses

    LPN to RN Diploma Nursing

    Scioto County Career Technical Center

    Lucasville

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Scioto County Career Technical Center, LucasvilleRN diploma program · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$12,639
    Program website, LPN to RN Diploma Nursing at Scioto County Career Technical Center
    More details about LPN to RN Diploma Nursing at Scioto County Career Technical Center
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $1,471
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $12,639
    Program website, LPN to RN Diploma Nursing at Scioto County Career Technical Center

Accounting and bookkeeping classes 2

All accounting and bookkeeping programs in Ohio, with typical prices and results

  • Accounting (associate degree)In personNo diploma needed

    Accounting (Associate)

    Shawnee State University

    Portsmouth

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Shawnee State University, PortsmouthAccounting (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$9,341
    Program website, Accounting (Associate) at Shawnee State University
    More details about Accounting (Associate) at Shawnee State University
    Finished
    38%
    Working at 6 months
    80%
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    88
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,341
    Program website, Accounting (Associate) at Shawnee State University
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseIn personNo diploma needed

    Certified Bookkeeper

    Shawnee State University

    Portsmouth

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Shawnee State University, PortsmouthBookkeeping certificate or course · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,995
    Program website, Certified Bookkeeper at Shawnee State University
    More details about Certified Bookkeeper at Shawnee State University
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,995
    Program website, Certified Bookkeeper at Shawnee State University

Administrative assistant training 2

All administrative assistant programs in Ohio, with typical prices and results

Electrician training 2

All electrician training programs in Ohio, with typical prices and results

  • Electrician apprenticeshipIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Electricians

    Electricians JATC

    Portsmouth

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Electricians JATC, PortsmouthElectrician apprenticeshipIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    More details about Electricians at Electricians JATC
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    14
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Not reported
  • Electrician certificate or diplomaIn personEducation and courses

    Industrial/Constructional Electricity

    Scioto County Career Technical Center

    Lucasville

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Scioto County Career Technical Center, LucasvilleElectrician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$7,596
    Program website, Industrial/Constructional Electricity at Scioto County Career Technical Center
    More details about Industrial/Constructional Electricity at Scioto County Career Technical Center
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $2,422
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $7,596
    Program website, Industrial/Constructional Electricity at Scioto County Career Technical Center

Esthetician school 2

All esthetician programs in Ohio, with typical prices and results

  • Master or advanced estheticsIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Advanced Esthetics

    Paramount Beauty Academy

    Portsmouth

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Paramount Beauty Academy, PortsmouthMaster or advanced esthetics · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$14,920
    Program website, Advanced Esthetics at Paramount Beauty Academy
    More details about Advanced Esthetics at Paramount Beauty Academy
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $1,000
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $14,920
    Program website, Advanced Esthetics at Paramount Beauty Academy
  • Master or advanced estheticsIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Combo Managing Esthetics and Managing Manicurist

    Paramount Beauty Academy

    Portsmouth

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Paramount Beauty Academy, PortsmouthMaster or advanced esthetics · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$17,569
    Program website, Combo Managing Esthetics and Managing Manicurist at Paramount Beauty Academy
    More details about Combo Managing Esthetics and Managing Manicurist at Paramount Beauty Academy
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $1,500
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $17,569
    Program website, Combo Managing Esthetics and Managing Manicurist at Paramount Beauty Academy

HVAC training 2

All HVAC training programs in Ohio, with typical prices and results

Medical assistant training 2

All medical assistant programs in Ohio, with typical prices and results

Pharmacy technician training 2

All pharmacy technician programs in Ohio, with typical prices and results

  • Pharmacy technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Pharmacy Technician (Voucher Included)

    Shawnee State University

    Portsmouth

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Shawnee State University, PortsmouthPharmacy technician · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,995
    Program website, Pharmacy Technician (Voucher Included) at Shawnee State University
    More details about Pharmacy Technician (Voucher Included) at Shawnee State University
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,995
    Program website, Pharmacy Technician (Voucher Included) at Shawnee State University
  • Pharmacy technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Pharmacy Technician

    Scioto County Career Technical Center

    Lucasville

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Scioto County Career Technical Center, LucasvillePharmacy technician · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,518
    Program website, Pharmacy Technician at Scioto County Career Technical Center
    More details about Pharmacy Technician at Scioto County Career Technical Center
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $1,393
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,518
    Program website, Pharmacy Technician at Scioto County Career Technical Center

Police academy 2

All police and corrections programs in Ohio, with typical prices and results

AutoCAD and drafting courses 1

All CAD and drafting programs in Ohio, with typical prices and results

CNA classes 1

All CNA programs in Ohio, with typical prices and results

  • Nursing assistant (CNA)In personNo diploma needed

    Nurse Aid

    Scioto County Career Technical Center

    Lucasville

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Scioto County Career Technical Center, LucasvilleNursing assistant (CNA) · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$649
    Program website, Nurse Aid at Scioto County Career Technical Center
    More details about Nurse Aid at Scioto County Career Technical Center
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $188
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $649
    Program website, Nurse Aid at Scioto County Career Technical Center

CNC machinist training 1

All CNC machinist programs in Ohio, with typical prices and results

  • Machinist certificate or diplomaIn personEducation and courses

    CNC Machinist

    Scioto County Career Technical Center

    Lucasville

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Scioto County Career Technical Center, LucasvilleMachinist certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, CNC Machinist at Scioto County Career Technical Center
    More details about CNC Machinist at Scioto County Career Technical Center
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Not reported
    Program website, CNC Machinist at Scioto County Career Technical Center

Cosmetology school 1

All cosmetology programs in Ohio, with typical prices and results

  • Cosmetology license programIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    cosmetology

    Paramount Beauty Academy

    Portsmouth

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Paramount Beauty Academy, PortsmouthCosmetology license program · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$24,853
    Program website, cosmetology at Paramount Beauty Academy
    More details about cosmetology at Paramount Beauty Academy
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $1,150
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $24,853
    Program website, cosmetology at Paramount Beauty Academy

Dental assistant programs 1

All dental assistant programs in Ohio, with typical prices and results

  • Dental assistantIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Dental Assisting

    Scioto County Career Technical Center

    Lucasville

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Scioto County Career Technical Center, LucasvilleDental assistant · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$6,496
    Program website, Dental Assisting at Scioto County Career Technical Center
    More details about Dental Assisting at Scioto County Career Technical Center
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $1,085
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $6,496
    Program website, Dental Assisting at Scioto County Career Technical Center

Dental hygiene programs 1

All dental hygiene programs in Ohio, with typical prices and results

  • Dental hygiene (associate degree)In personPrerequisite courses

    Dental Hygiene

    Shawnee State University

    Portsmouth

    Accredited school

    Prerequisite courses

    Shawnee State University, PortsmouthDental hygiene (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · Prerequisite courses

    Earned a year, estimated$91,100
    Price if you pay yourself$5,154
    Program website, Dental Hygiene at Shawnee State University
    More details about Dental Hygiene at Shawnee State University
    Finished
    90%
    Working at 6 months
    74%
    Earned in a quarter
    $22,778
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    48
    Earned a year, estimated
    $91,100
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,154
    Program website, Dental Hygiene at Shawnee State University

EMT classes 1

All EMT and paramedic programs in Ohio, with typical prices and results

IT training 1

All IT training programs in Ohio, with typical prices and results

Lineman school 1

All lineman programs in Ohio, with typical prices and results

  • Lineworker certificate or courseIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Power Line Mechanic

    Scioto County Career Technical Center

    Lucasville

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Scioto County Career Technical Center, LucasvilleLineworker certificate or course · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$36,300
    Price if you pay yourself$14,556
    Program website, Power Line Mechanic at Scioto County Career Technical Center
    More details about Power Line Mechanic at Scioto County Career Technical Center
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,075
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $757
    Students counted
    15
    Earned a year, estimated
    $36,300
    Price if you pay yourself
    $14,556
    Program website, Power Line Mechanic at Scioto County Career Technical Center

Medical billing and coding training 1

All medical billing and coding programs in Ohio, with typical prices and results

Medical lab technician programs 1

All medical lab programs in Ohio, with typical prices and results

  • Medical lab technician (associate degree)In personPrerequisite courses

    Medical Laboratory

    Shawnee State University

    Portsmouth

    Accredited school

    Prerequisite courses

    Shawnee State University, PortsmouthMedical lab technician (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · Prerequisite courses

    Earned a year, estimated$53,700
    Price if you pay yourself$4,547
    Program website, Medical Laboratory at Shawnee State University
    More details about Medical Laboratory at Shawnee State University
    Finished
    82%
    Working at 6 months
    79%
    Earned in a quarter
    $13,437
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    29
    Earned a year, estimated
    $53,700
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,547
    Program website, Medical Laboratory at Shawnee State University

Mental health technician training 1

All mental health technician programs in Ohio, with typical prices and results

  • Mental health technician certificate or courseIn personNo diploma needed

    BH Paraprofessional Training Program

    Shawnee State University

    Portsmouth

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Shawnee State University, PortsmouthMental health technician certificate or course · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,347
    School website, BH Paraprofessional Training Program at Shawnee State University
    More details about BH Paraprofessional Training Program at Shawnee State University
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $260
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,347
    School website, BH Paraprofessional Training Program at Shawnee State University

Nail tech school 1

All nail technician programs in Ohio, with typical prices and results

  • Nail technician license programIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Manicuring

    Paramount Beauty Academy

    Portsmouth

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Paramount Beauty Academy, PortsmouthNail technician license program · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,385
    Program website, Manicuring at Paramount Beauty Academy
    More details about Manicuring at Paramount Beauty Academy
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $750
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,385
    Program website, Manicuring at Paramount Beauty Academy

OTA programs 1

All OTA programs in Ohio, with typical prices and results

Phlebotomy training 1

All phlebotomy programs in Ohio, with typical prices and results

  • Phlebotomy technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Phlebotomy

    Scioto County Career Technical Center

    Lucasville

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Scioto County Career Technical Center, LucasvillePhlebotomy technician · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,215
    Program website, Phlebotomy at Scioto County Career Technical Center
    More details about Phlebotomy at Scioto County Career Technical Center
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $485
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,215
    Program website, Phlebotomy at Scioto County Career Technical Center

PTA programs 1

All PTA programs in Ohio, with typical prices and results

Radiology tech programs 1

All radiology tech programs in Ohio, with typical prices and results

  • Radiography (associate degree)In personNo diploma needed

    Radiologic Technology

    Shawnee State University

    Portsmouth

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Shawnee State University, PortsmouthRadiography (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,302
    Program website, Radiologic Technology at Shawnee State University
    More details about Radiologic Technology at Shawnee State University
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,302
    Program website, Radiologic Technology at Shawnee State University

Respiratory therapy programs 1

All respiratory therapy programs in Ohio, with typical prices and results

  • Respiratory therapy (associate degree)In personPrerequisite courses

    Respiratory Therapy

    Shawnee State University

    Portsmouth

    Accredited school

    Prerequisite courses

    Shawnee State University, PortsmouthRespiratory therapy (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · Prerequisite courses

    Earned a year, estimated$81,100
    Price if you pay yourself$9,175
    Program website, Respiratory Therapy at Shawnee State University
    More details about Respiratory Therapy at Shawnee State University
    Finished
    76%
    Working at 6 months
    77%
    Earned in a quarter
    $20,286
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    39
    Earned a year, estimated
    $81,100
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,175
    Program website, Respiratory Therapy at Shawnee State University

Surgical tech programs 1

All surgical tech programs in Ohio, with typical prices and results

  • Surgical technology certificate or diplomaIn personEducation and courses

    Surgical Technician

    Scioto County Career Technical Center

    Lucasville

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Scioto County Career Technical Center, LucasvilleSurgical technology certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$32,200
    Price if you pay yourself$9,339

    21 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Surgical Technician at Scioto County Career Technical Center
    More details about Surgical Technician at Scioto County Career Technical Center
    Finished
    56%
    Working at 6 months
    83%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,050
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $1,187
    Students counted
    26
    Earned a year, estimated
    $32,200
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,339
    students trained with WIOA funding
    21
    Program website, Surgical Technician at Scioto County Career Technical Center

Welding classes 1

All welding programs in Ohio, with typical prices and results

  • General weldingIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Welding

    Scioto County Career Technical Center

    Lucasville

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Scioto County Career Technical Center, LucasvilleGeneral welding · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,025
    Program website, Welding at Scioto County Career Technical Center
    More details about Welding at Scioto County Career Technical Center
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $1,810
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,025
    Program website, Welding at Scioto County Career Technical Center

Each program shows its own figures as the school reported them. Yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate.Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are counted; other schools in Portsmouth may offer more. How these figures are made

Is there free job training in Portsmouth?

Where the Portsmouth job training numbers come from

Which Portsmouth programs are counted?

Programs with classes in the Portsmouth area that the state they're in approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act). Online programs are on the state pages. Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).5 They come from the US Department of Labor's file for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025), covering programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Portsmouth offers.

What the figures for each field mean

Each figure is the middle program among those that report it: half did better, half did worse. Prices are what most programs cost if you pay yourself (the middle half). Earnings are for the second quarter after students left, times four. Where a figure is missing, the table says why: "Not reported", "Left out" or "Not enough data" (what each means).

Sources for the funding facts about job training in Portsmouth

Show the 5 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  2. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  3. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  4. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  5. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List