Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Health information technology programs in Virginia

8 health information programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

5 schools offer these health information technology programs, and Virginia has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did. One school runs 4 of these 8 programs, so the typical figures lean heavily on its prices and results.

Health information technologists and medical registrars help design electronic healthcare systems and analyze clinical data; some specialize in electronic health records systems, including setting them up and training staff. Most need at least an associate degree in health information management or a related field, and employers may prefer certification or expect it after hiring.1

In Virginia, 1 of the 8 programs takes students without a high school diploma and 7 ask for a diploma or equivalent.

By kind, the 8 programs here are health information certificate or diploma (4 programs), electronic health records specialist (CEHRS, 2 programs), health information technology (associate degree, 1 program) and health information program (level not stated, 1 program).

See the 8 programs

How much do health information technology programs cost in Virginia?

$5,175 to $8,257 is what most health information programs in Virginia cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 8 programs with a price. All of them: $1,999 to $10,268

In the typical program

Finished the program
Not enough data
3 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
Working 6 months later
Not enough data
1 program reports it; a typical figure needs 5
Earned a year, estimated
Not enough data
1 program reports it; a typical figure needs 5
Length
23 to 38 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Virginia may also offer health information technology programs. How these figures are made

Are there free health information technology programs in Virginia?

All 8 health information programs in Virginia approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

8 programs

  • Health information technology (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Health Information Management AAS

    Mountain Empire Community College

    Big Stone Gap

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Mountain Empire Community College, Big Stone GapHealth information technology (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$10,268
    School website, Health Information Management AAS at Mountain Empire Community College
    More details about Health Information Management AAS at Mountain Empire Community College
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    104 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,699
    Students counted
    54
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,268
    School website, Health Information Management AAS at Mountain Empire Community College
  • Electronic health records specialist (CEHRS)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    HI-3100 Electronic Health Records Specialist

    MedCerts, LLC

    Livonia, MI

    High school diploma or equivalent

    MedCerts, LLC, Livonia, MIElectronic health records specialist (CEHRS)Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Classes are outside Virginia; Virginia approved the program for its funding.

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,700
    More details about HI-3100 Electronic Health Records Specialist at MedCerts, LLC
    Finished
    91%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    12 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    41
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,700
  • Health information program (level not stated)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Administrative Support Technology-Health Info Management Specialization

    Wytheville Community College

    Wytheville

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Wytheville Community College, WythevilleHealth information program (level not stated) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$31,100
    Price if you pay yourself$9,884

    10 students trained with WIOA funding

    More details about Administrative Support Technology-Health Info Management Specialization at Wytheville Community College
    Finished
    86%
    Working at 6 months
    71%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,781
    Length
    64 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $7,150
    Students counted
    19
    Earned a year, estimated
    $31,100
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,884
    students trained with WIOA funding
    10
  • Electronic health records specialist (CEHRS)OnlineNo diploma needed

    Certified Electronic Health Records Specialist

    Fairfax Public Schools Adult and Community Education

    Based in Springfield, VA

    No diploma needed

    Fairfax Public Schools Adult and Community Education, based in Springfield, VAElectronic health records specialist (CEHRS)Online · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,999
    More details about Certified Electronic Health Records Specialist at Fairfax Public Schools Adult and Community Education
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    26 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,999
  • Health information certificate or diplomaOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Healthcare Information Technician (Online, Cert)

    Joshua Career Institute

    Based in Henrico, VA

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Joshua Career Institute, based in Henrico, VAHealth information certificate or diplomaOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$6,000
    Program website, Healthcare Information Technician (Online, Cert) at Joshua Career Institute
    More details about Healthcare Information Technician (Online, Cert) at Joshua Career Institute
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    23 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $6,000
    Program website, Healthcare Information Technician (Online, Cert) at Joshua Career Institute
  • Health information certificate or diplomaOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Records Technician (Online, Cert)

    Joshua Career Institute

    Based in Henrico, VA

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Joshua Career Institute, based in Henrico, VAHealth information certificate or diplomaOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$6,000
    Program website, Medical Records Technician (Online, Cert) at Joshua Career Institute
    More details about Medical Records Technician (Online, Cert) at Joshua Career Institute
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    23 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $6,000
    Program website, Medical Records Technician (Online, Cert) at Joshua Career Institute
  • Health information certificate or diplomaOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Healthcare Information Technician (Online, Dip)

    Joshua Career Institute

    Based in Henrico, VA

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Joshua Career Institute, based in Henrico, VAHealth information certificate or diplomaOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$7,715
    Program website, Healthcare Information Technician (Online, Dip) at Joshua Career Institute
    More details about Healthcare Information Technician (Online, Dip) at Joshua Career Institute
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    30 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $285
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $7,715
    Program website, Healthcare Information Technician (Online, Dip) at Joshua Career Institute
  • Health information certificate or diplomaOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Records Technician (Online, Dip)

    Joshua Career Institute

    Based in Henrico, VA

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Joshua Career Institute, based in Henrico, VAHealth information certificate or diplomaOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$7,715
    Program website, Medical Records Technician (Online, Dip) at Joshua Career Institute
    More details about Medical Records Technician (Online, Dip) at Joshua Career Institute
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    30 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $285
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $7,715
    Program website, Medical Records Technician (Online, Dip) at Joshua Career Institute

How to pay for health information technology programs in Virginia

WIOA funding can pay for health information technology programs in Virginia

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for health information technology programs

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for health information technology programs

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Health information technology programs in Virginia

lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
15th of 23
health information programs here, against the typical state's 5
8 vs 5

State comparisons use the same figures as the health information technology programs by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Other training in Virginia

How health information technology programs compare with the rest of medical office and lab work: Medical certification programs in Virginia

Where the Virginia health information technology program numbers come from

Which Virginia health information technology programs are on this list?

These are the health information technology programs Virginia approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Virginia offers.

How the prices and results of Virginia health information technology programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about health information technology programs in Virginia

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Health Information Technologists and Medical Registrars
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List