Accounting and bookkeeping classes in Virginia
21 accounting and bookkeeping programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
10 schools offer these accounting and bookkeeping programs, and Virginia has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Bookkeeping and accounting clerks record and check financial data so an organization keeps complete, accurate books. Some employers want college classes or a degree in accounting, others hire people with a high school diploma and train them on the job; certification is not usually required.1 In Virginia, 11 of the 21 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 11 are taught partly or fully online.
See the 21 programsHow much do accounting and bookkeeping classes cost in Virginia?
$2,849 to $8,751 is what most accounting and bookkeeping programs in Virginia cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 21 programs with a price. All of them: $1,400 to $16,790
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Length
- 29 to 96 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Virginia may also offer accounting and bookkeeping classes. How these figures are made
Accounting and bookkeeping classes in Blacksburg, Martinsville, Kingsport and other Virginia cities
Choosing an area filters the list below. 1 more program is in 1 other area, 1 in smaller cities and towns and 5 online.
All 21 accounting and bookkeeping programs in Virginia approved for WIOA funding
Filters
21 programs
Accounting - Associate in Applied Science Degree
Blue Ridge Community College
Weyers Cave
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$58,800Price if you pay yourself$10,318More details about Accounting - Associate in Applied Science Degree at Blue Ridge Community College
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 80%
- Earned in a quarter
- $14,697
- Length
- 72 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $4,062
- Students counted
- 72
- a year, estimated
- $58,800
- price
- $10,318
PC Specialist & Bookkeeping
Career Technical Institute
Washington, DC
No diploma needed
Classes are outside Virginia; Virginia approved the program for its funding.
Earned a year, estimated$31,200Price if you pay yourself$16,790More details about PC Specialist & Bookkeeping at Career Technical Institute
- Finished
- 66%
- Working at 6 months
- 38%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,800
- Length
- 48 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 54
- a year, estimated
- $31,200
- price
- $16,790
Accounting, AAS
New River Community College
Dublin
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$48,200Price if you pay yourself$9,246More details about Accounting, AAS at New River Community College
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 80%
- Earned in a quarter
- $12,057
- Length
- 96 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $3,843
- Students counted
- 38
- a year, estimated
- $48,200
- price
- $9,246
Business Technology: Major: Accounting
Patrick Henry Community College
Martinsville
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,350More details about Business Technology: Major: Accounting at Patrick Henry Community College
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 104 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $5,075
- Students counted
- 16
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $4,350
Accounting
Patrick Henry Community College
Martinsville
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$8,751More details about Accounting at Patrick Henry Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 60 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,797
- Students counted
- 24
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $8,751
Accounting
Virginia Highlands Community College
Abingdon
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$10,000School website, Accounting at Virginia Highlands Community CollegeMore details about Accounting at Virginia Highlands Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 96 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,000
- Students counted
- 24
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $10,000
Accounting Specialist with QuickBooks Desktop Certification
ONLC
Based in Wilmington, DE
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,400More details about Accounting Specialist with QuickBooks Desktop Certification at ONLC
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 12 weeks, 7 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $100
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,400
Accounts Receivable/Accounts Payable
New River Community College
Dublin
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,566More details about Accounts Receivable/Accounts Payable at New River Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 29 weeks, 10 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,000
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,566
Payroll Clerk
New River Community College
Dublin
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,208More details about Payroll Clerk at New River Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 48 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,048
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,208
Bookkeeping
Patrick Henry Community College
Martinsville
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,320More details about Bookkeeping at Patrick Henry Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 52 weeks, 31 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,175
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,320
Cost Accounting Clerk
New River Community College
Dublin
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,346More details about Cost Accounting Clerk at New River Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 96 weeks, 17 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,338
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,346
Professional Bookkeeping with QuickBooks
University of Richmond-School of Prof and Continuing Studies
Richmond
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,849Program website, Professional Bookkeeping with QuickBooks at University of Richmond-School of Prof and Continuing StudiesMore details about Professional Bookkeeping with QuickBooks at University of Richmond-School of Prof and Continuing Studies
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 8 weeks, 8 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,849
Professional Bookkeeping with QuickBooks and Payroll
University of Richmond-School of Prof and Continuing Studies
Richmond
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,999Program website, Professional Bookkeeping with QuickBooks and Payroll at University of Richmond-School of Prof and Continuing StudiesMore details about Professional Bookkeeping with QuickBooks and Payroll at University of Richmond-School of Prof and Continuing Studies
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 8 weeks, 8 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $3,999
Accounting
New River Community College
Dublin
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,830More details about Accounting at New River Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 96 weeks, 35 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,851
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $4,830
Accounting and Information Systems Technology
Virginia Highlands Community College
Abingdon
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,075School website, Accounting and Information Systems Technology at Virginia Highlands Community CollegeMore details about Accounting and Information Systems Technology at Virginia Highlands Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 96 weeks, 34 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,000
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $5,075
Accounting Specialist (Online, Cert)
Joshua Career Institute
Based in Henrico, VA
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$6,000Program website, Accounting Specialist (Online, Cert) at Joshua Career InstituteMore details about Accounting Specialist (Online, Cert) at Joshua Career Institute
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 23 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $6,000
Bookkeeping Specialist (Online, Cert)
Joshua Career Institute
Based in Henrico, VA
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$6,000Program website, Bookkeeping Specialist (Online, Cert) at Joshua Career InstituteMore details about Bookkeeping Specialist (Online, Cert) at Joshua Career Institute
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 23 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $6,000
Accounting Specialist (Online, Dip)
Joshua Career Institute
Based in Henrico, VA
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$7,715Program website, Accounting Specialist (Online, Dip) at Joshua Career InstituteMore details about Accounting Specialist (Online, Dip) at Joshua Career Institute
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 30 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $285
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $7,715
Bookkeeping Specialist (Online, Dip)
Joshua Career Institute
Based in Henrico, VA
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$7,715Program website, Bookkeeping Specialist (Online, Dip) at Joshua Career InstituteMore details about Bookkeeping Specialist (Online, Dip) at Joshua Career Institute
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 30 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $285
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $7,715
Accounting
Danville Community College
Danville
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$7,800More details about Accounting at Danville Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 64 weeks, 5 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $3,600
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $7,800
Accounting
Wytheville Community College
Wytheville
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$10,033More details about Accounting at Wytheville Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 64 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,582
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $10,033
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for accounting and bookkeeping classes in Virginia
WIOA funding can pay for accounting and bookkeeping classes in Virginia
Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5
Financial aid and grants for accounting and bookkeeping classes
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for accounting and bookkeeping classes
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Does WIOA pay for job training? Who qualifies and how to apply
Quick facts: Accounting and bookkeeping classes in Virginia
- programs with a price cost under $3,000
- 6 of 21
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 28th of 36
- accounting and bookkeeping programs here, against the typical state's 12
- 21 vs 12
State comparisons use the same figures as the accounting and bookkeeping classes by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
Where the Virginia accounting and bookkeeping program numbers come from
Which Virginia accounting and bookkeeping programs are on this list?
These are the accounting and bookkeeping programs Virginia approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Virginia offers.
How Virginia accounting and bookkeeping program prices are reported
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.
What the graduate results of these programs measure
The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.
Why do some accounting and bookkeeping programs say "Not reported"?
Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.
Why the kind of school is left off each program
The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.
Other training in Virginia
- CDL training60 programs
- CNA classes49 programs
- Medical assistant training36 programs
- Phlebotomy training41 programs
- Welding classes88 programs
- HVAC training78 programs
- Medical billing and coding training42 programs
- LPN programs23 programs
- EMT classes18 programs
- Electrician training37 programs
- Dental assistant programs17 programs
- Auto mechanic classes18 programs
- Pharmacy technician training33 programs
- Plumbing school8 programs
- CNC machinist training34 programs
- Carpentry classes15 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training13 programs
- Diesel mechanic training10 programs
- Cybersecurity training89 programs
- IT training131 programs
- Cosmetology school6 programs
- Barber school7 programs
- Esthetician school16 programs
- Nail tech school4 programs
- RN programs6 programs
- Project management certification31 programs
Sources for the facts about accounting and bookkeeping classes in Virginia
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Bookkeeping, Accounting, and Auditing Clerks
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List