Project management certification in Virginia
31 project management programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
20 schools offer these project management programs, and Virginia has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Project management specialists coordinate a project's budget, schedule and other details. Most have a bachelor's degree, some jobs ask for work experience, and professional certification, though not always required, shows employers what you can do.1 In Virginia, 12 of the 31 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 17 are taught partly or fully online.
See the 31 programsHow much does project management certification cost in Virginia?
$1,347 to $3,000 is what most project management programs in Virginia cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 31 programs with a price. All of them: $996 to $8,000
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 100%
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Length
- 1 to 6 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Virginia may also offer project management certification. How these figures are made
Project management certification in Washington, Richmond, Harrisonburg and other Virginia cities
Choosing an area filters the list below. 6 programs are online.
All 31 project management programs in Virginia approved for WIOA funding
Filters
31 programs
Project Management
James Madison University
Harrisonburg
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,200More details about Project Management at James Madison University
- Finished
- 97%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 6 weeks, 35 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 217
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,200
Project Management 5-Day Prep
Community College Workforce Alliance
Midlothian
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$87,100Price if you pay yourself$1,2995 students trained with WIOA funding
More details about Project Management 5-Day Prep at Community College Workforce Alliance
- Finished
- 97%
- Working at 6 months
- 90%
- Earned in a quarter
- $21,770
- Length
- 1 week, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 85
- a year, estimated
- $87,100
- price
- $1,299
- trained with WIOA funding
- 5
Project Management Fundamentals
George Mason University Continuing and Professional Edu
Fairfax
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,3954 students trained with WIOA funding
School website, Project Management Fundamentals at George Mason University Continuing and Professional EduMore details about Project Management Fundamentals at George Mason University Continuing and Professional Edu
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 4 weeks, 21 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 54
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,395
- trained with WIOA funding
- 4
Agile Fundamentals
George Mason University Continuing and Professional Edu
Fairfax
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,095School website, Agile Fundamentals at George Mason University Continuing and Professional EduMore details about Agile Fundamentals at George Mason University Continuing and Professional Edu
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 2 weeks, 14 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 48
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,095
Project Management Certfication Training
ADV Technical Institute
Ashburn
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$84,800Price if you pay yourself$1,9996 students trained with WIOA funding
More details about Project Management Certfication Training at ADV Technical Institute
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- $21,198
- Length
- 2 weeks, 35 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 43
- a year, estimated
- $84,800
- price
- $1,999
- trained with WIOA funding
- 6
Project Management Professional (PMP)
Intellectual Point
Sterling
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$74,300Price if you pay yourself$2,54420 students trained with WIOA funding
More details about Project Management Professional (PMP) at Intellectual Point
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- $18,563
- Length
- 2 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 41
- a year, estimated
- $74,300
- price
- $2,544
- trained with WIOA funding
- 20
Project Management Professional (PMP/CAPM) Certificate Program
Visible Edge, Inc., dba Visible Edge Institute
Based in Nashua, NH
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$40,100Price if you pay yourself$3,500School website, Project Management Professional (PMP/CAPM) Certificate Program at Visible Edge, Inc., dba Visible Edge InstituteMore details about Project Management Professional (PMP/CAPM) Certificate Program at Visible Edge, Inc., dba Visible Edge Institute
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,021
- Length
- 8 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 41
- a year, estimated
- $40,100
- price
- $3,500
PMP
SmartPathLLC
Based in Troy, MI
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,2997 students trained with WIOA funding
More details about PMP at SmartPathLLC
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 75%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 35 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $555
- Students counted
- 39
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,299
- trained with WIOA funding
- 7
Project Management Professional Certification
Virginia Western Community College
Roanoke
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$70,100Price if you pay yourself$9965 students trained with WIOA funding
More details about Project Management Professional Certification at Virginia Western Community College
- Finished
- 95%
- Working at 6 months
- 93%
- Earned in a quarter
- $17,529
- Length
- 10 weeks, 35 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 24
- a year, estimated
- $70,100
- price
- $996
- trained with WIOA funding
- 5
Project Management Professional
Laurel Ridge Community College - Main Campus
Middletown
Bachelor's degree
Earned a year, estimated$64,200Price if you pay yourself$1,799More details about Project Management Professional at Laurel Ridge Community College - Main Campus
- Finished
- 87%
- Working at 6 months
- 75%
- Earned in a quarter
- $16,049
- Length
- 6 weeks, 35 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 15
- a year, estimated
- $64,200
- price
- $1,799
PMI Agile Certified Practitioner (PMI-ACP)
SmartPathLLC
Based in Troy, MI
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$999More details about PMI Agile Certified Practitioner (PMI-ACP) at SmartPathLLC
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 2 weeks, 35 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $495
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $999
Project Management Professional Test Preparation
The Catholic University of America
Alexandria
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,195More details about Project Management Professional Test Preparation at The Catholic University of America
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 35 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,195
Project Management Professional Prep
VCU Center for Corporate Education
Richmond
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,200More details about Project Management Professional Prep at VCU Center for Corporate Education
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 14 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,200
Certified Associate Project Management (CAPM)
SmartPathLLC
Based in Troy, MI
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,295More details about Certified Associate Project Management (CAPM) at SmartPathLLC
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 26 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $300
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,295
Certified Associate Project Manager (CAPM)
Virginia Career Solutions
McLean
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,595More details about Certified Associate Project Manager (CAPM) at Virginia Career Solutions
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 26 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $300
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,595
Project Management Essentials
VCU Center for Corporate Education
Richmond
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,800More details about Project Management Essentials at VCU Center for Corporate Education
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 21 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,800
Project Management Professional Bootcamp
TASC Management
Reston
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,945More details about Project Management Professional Bootcamp at TASC Management
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 35 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,945
Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM)
Three T Institute
Herndon
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,300More details about Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM) at Three T Institute
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 4 weeks, 23 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,300
Project Management Professional
Three T Institute
Herndon
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,302More details about Project Management Professional at Three T Institute
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 4 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,302
Project Management - Career Studies Certificate
Danville Community College
Danville
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,320More details about Project Management - Career Studies Certificate at Danville Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 15 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $900
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,320
Certificate in Project Management
Germanna Community College
Fredericksburg
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,400More details about Certificate in Project Management at Germanna Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 12 weeks, 48 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,400
Progect Management Training Program
Global Institute of Techology Services
Richmond
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,400School website, Progect Management Training Program at Global Institute of Techology ServicesMore details about Progect Management Training Program at Global Institute of Techology Services
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $594
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,400
Lean Six Sigma Certification
VCU Center for Corporate Education
Richmond
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,695More details about Lean Six Sigma Certification at VCU Center for Corporate Education
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 32 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,695
Project Management Professional
Agile1Tech
Fairfax
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,000More details about Project Management Professional at Agile1Tech
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 7 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $50
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $3,000
Project Management Professional Program
Virginia Career Solutions
McLean
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,000More details about Project Management Professional Program at Virginia Career Solutions
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 39 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $544
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $3,000
PMI Agile Certified Practitioner (PMI-ACP)
Intellectual Point
Sterling
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,054More details about PMI Agile Certified Practitioner (PMI-ACP) at Intellectual Point
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 2 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $3,054
Project Management Certificate Series
George Mason University Continuing and Professional Edu
Based in Fairfax, VA
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,227School website, Project Management Certificate Series at George Mason University Continuing and Professional EduMore details about Project Management Certificate Series at George Mason University Continuing and Professional Edu
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 2 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $3,227
Project Management Professional Program (PMPP)
VETSGroup Training Academy
Based in Washington, DC
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,540More details about Project Management Professional Program (PMPP) at VETSGroup Training Academy
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 6 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $450
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $3,540
Project Management
George Mason University Continuing and Professional Edu
Fairfax
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,999School website, Project Management at George Mason University Continuing and Professional EduMore details about Project Management at George Mason University Continuing and Professional Edu
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 2 weeks, 35 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $3,999
Certified Associate in Project Management Exam Prep
Kinetic Potential
Upper Marlboro, MD
No diploma needed
Classes are outside Virginia; Virginia approved the program for its funding.
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$8,000Program website, Certified Associate in Project Management Exam Prep at Kinetic PotentialMore details about Certified Associate in Project Management Exam Prep at Kinetic Potential
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 12 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $8,000
Project Management-PMP Exam Prep
Kinetic Potential
Upper Marlboro, MD
No diploma needed
Classes are outside Virginia; Virginia approved the program for its funding.
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$8,000Program website, Project Management-PMP Exam Prep at Kinetic PotentialMore details about Project Management-PMP Exam Prep at Kinetic Potential
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 12 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $8,000
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for project management certification in Virginia
WIOA funding can pay for project management certification in Virginia
Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5
Financial aid and grants for project management certification
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for project management certification
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Does WIOA pay for job training? Who qualifies and how to apply
Quick facts: Project management certification in Virginia
- programs with a price cost under $2,000
- 14 of 31
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 9th of 24
- project management programs here, against the typical state's 8
- 31 vs 8
State comparisons use the same figures as the project management certification by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
Where the Virginia project management program numbers come from
Which Virginia project management programs are on this list?
These are the project management programs Virginia approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Virginia offers.
How Virginia project management program prices are reported
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.
What the graduate results of these programs measure
The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.
Why do some project management programs say "Not reported"?
Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.
Why the kind of school is left off each program
The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.
Other training in Virginia
- CDL training60 programs
- CNA classes49 programs
- Medical assistant training23 programs
- Phlebotomy training41 programs
- Welding classes88 programs
- HVAC training78 programs
- Medical billing and coding training42 programs
- LPN programs12 programs
- EMT classes18 programs
- Electrician training37 programs
- Dental assistant programs17 programs
- Auto mechanic classes18 programs
- Pharmacy technician training33 programs
- Plumbing school8 programs
- CNC machinist training34 programs
- Carpentry classes15 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training13 programs
- Diesel mechanic training10 programs
- Cybersecurity training89 programs
- IT training131 programs
Sources for the facts about project management certification in Virginia
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Project Management Specialists
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220 and 680.310: career services before training, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List