Medical certification programs in Virginia
239 medical certification programs in 9 fields of medical office and lab work, with costs, results and funding that can make them free
67 schools offer these programs, and Virginia has approved every one for workforce funding. Compare the 9 fields below, then open one to see each program with its price and how past students did.
These programs lead to the support jobs that keep clinics, labs and pharmacies running: medical assistants, phlebotomists who draw blood, EKG technicians and pharmacy technicians, and office work in medical billing, coding and healthcare administration. Most are certificate programs, and many prepare for a certification exam.
All job training programs in Virginia, every line of work
Accredited medical certification programs in Virginia, each school with its accreditor
Medical certification programs by state, to compare Virginia with other states
Compare medical certification programs in Virginia: cost, pay and results
Medical assistant training
54 programs at 43 schools
- Most cost
- $2,882 to $5,890
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $27,500
- Working 6 months later
- 75%
- Finished
- 86%
Medical billing and coding training
47 programs at 31 schools
- Most cost
- $2,545 to $4,283
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- 72%
- Finished
- 95%
Phlebotomy training
42 programs at 38 schools
- Most cost
- $1,331 to $2,384
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $25,300
- Working 6 months later
- 75%
- Finished
- 93%
Pharmacy technician training
34 programs at 30 schools
- Most cost
- $1,177 to $3,529
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- Not enough data
Medical administrative assistant training
29 programs at 21 schools
- Most cost
- $2,000 to $6,429
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $28,400
- Working 6 months later
- 67%
- Finished
- 96%
EKG technician programs (heart tests)
19 programs at 19 schools
- Most cost
- $1,112 to $2,125
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- 74%
- Finished
- 96%
Health information technology programs (medical records)
8 programs at 5 schools
- Most cost
- $5,175 to $8,257
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- Not enough data
Medical lab technician programs (clinical laboratory)
3 programs at 3 schools
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Finished
- Not enough data
Healthcare administration programs
3 programs at 2 schools
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Finished
- Not reported
Each figure is the middle program of that field. Yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are counted; other schools in Virginia may offer more. How these figures are made
Other job training in Virginia, by line of work
- Trade school programs481
- IT certification programs337
- Business and office training174
- Nursing and patient care programs170
- Transportation and logistics training80
- Allied health programs69
- First responder training56
- Child care and social services training33
- Beauty school33
- Culinary and hospitality programs22
- All job training in Virginia1,694
Programs approved in Virginia in each line of work.
Where the Virginia medical certification numbers come from
Which Virginia programs are counted?
Programs Virginia approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act) in the fields listed above. Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).5 They come from the US Department of Labor's file for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025), covering programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Virginia offers.
What the figures for each field mean
Each figure is the middle program among those that report it: half did better, half did worse. Prices are what most programs cost if you pay yourself (the middle half). Earnings are for the second quarter after students left, times four. Where a figure is missing, the table says why: "Not reported", "Left out" or "Not enough data" (what each means).
Sources for the funding facts about medical certification programs in Virginia
Show the 5 sourcesHide the sources
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List