Fire academy in Minnesota
24 firefighter programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
7 schools offer these firefighter programs, and Minnesota has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did. One school runs 11 of these 24 programs, so the typical figures lean heavily on its prices and results.
Firefighters put out fires and answer emergencies that put people, property or the environment at risk. Most need a high school diploma, must pass written and physical tests and an interview, and then train for a few months at a fire academy run by a fire department or the state. Firefighters may also need EMT or paramedic certification.1
In Minnesota, all 24 programs ask for a high school diploma or equivalent.
By kind, the 24 programs here are fire academy (Firefighter I and II, 10 programs), fire science (associate degree, 7 programs), wildland firefighter course (2 programs), firefighter and EMT combined (2 programs), and 3 more of 2 other kinds.
See the 24 programsHow much does fire academy cost in Minnesota?
- Certificates and short courses (17 programs)
- $2,630 to $3,805most of them, usually 30 weeks long
- Two-year degrees (7 programs)
- $9,928 to $10,430most of them, usually 120 weeks long
What you pay yourself for the whole program, as the schools report it. "Most" is the middle half of the programs with a price.
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 40%
- Working 6 months later
- 81%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $46,000
- Length
- 30 to 120 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Minnesota may also offer fire academy training. How these figures are made
All 24 firefighter programs in Minnesota approved for WIOA funding
Filters
24 programs
Fire Technology
Lake Superior College
Duluth
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$28,000Price if you pay yourself$9,099Program website, Fire Technology at Lake Superior CollegeMore details about Fire Technology at Lake Superior College
- Finished
- 44%
- Working at 6 months
- 75%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,002
- Length
- 120 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 192
- Earned a year, estimated
- $28,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $9,099
Fire Science Technology
Hennepin Technical College
Eden Prairie
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$46,000Price if you pay yourself$9,683Program website, Fire Science Technology at Hennepin Technical CollegeMore details about Fire Science Technology at Hennepin Technical College
- Finished
- 40%
- Working at 6 months
- 87%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,511
- Length
- 120 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 155
- Earned a year, estimated
- $46,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $9,683
Fire Rescue
Hennepin Technical College
Eden Prairie
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$46,000Price if you pay yourself$10,322Program website, Fire Rescue at Hennepin Technical CollegeMore details about Fire Rescue at Hennepin Technical College
- Finished
- 40%
- Working at 6 months
- 87%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,511
- Length
- 120 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 155
- Earned a year, estimated
- $46,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $10,322
Fire Science
Hennepin Technical College
Eden Prairie
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$46,000Price if you pay yourself$10,322Program website, Fire Science at Hennepin Technical CollegeMore details about Fire Science at Hennepin Technical College
- Finished
- 40%
- Working at 6 months
- 87%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,511
- Length
- 120 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 155
- Earned a year, estimated
- $46,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $10,322
Firefighting (NFPA 1001)
Hennepin Technical College
Eden Prairie
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$58,500Price if you pay yourself$1,452Program website, Firefighting (NFPA 1001) at Hennepin Technical CollegeMore details about Firefighting (NFPA 1001) at Hennepin Technical College
- Finished
- 55%
- Working at 6 months
- 89%
- Earned in a quarter
- $14,625
- Length
- 30 weeks, 9 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 102
- Earned a year, estimated
- $58,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,452
Fire Protection Technician
Hennepin Technical College
Eden Prairie
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$58,500Price if you pay yourself$7,746Program website, Fire Protection Technician at Hennepin Technical CollegeMore details about Fire Protection Technician at Hennepin Technical College
- Finished
- 55%
- Working at 6 months
- 89%
- Earned in a quarter
- $14,625
- Length
- 60 weeks, 48 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 102
- Earned a year, estimated
- $58,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $7,746
Fire Services
Century College
White Bear Lake
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$46,900Price if you pay yourself$2,646Program website, Fire Services at Century CollegeMore details about Fire Services at Century College
- Finished
- 38%
- Working at 6 months
- 89%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,713
- Length
- 30 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 89
- Earned a year, estimated
- $46,900
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,646
Paramedic Fire Science
Century College
Based in White Bear Lake, MN
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$57,700Price if you pay yourself$11,247Program website, Paramedic Fire Science at Century CollegeMore details about Paramedic Fire Science at Century College
- Finished
- 31%
- Working at 6 months
- 89%
- Earned in a quarter
- $14,418
- Length
- 120 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 88
- Earned a year, estimated
- $57,700
- Price if you pay yourself
- $11,247
Fire Technology
Northland Community and Technical College
East Grand Forks
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$17,100Price if you pay yourself$10,537Program website, Fire Technology at Northland Community and Technical CollegeMore details about Fire Technology at Northland Community and Technical College
- Finished
- 37%
- Working at 6 months
- 22%
- Earned in a quarter
- $4,280
- Length
- 120 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 81
- Earned a year, estimated
- $17,100
- Price if you pay yourself
- $10,537
Fire Fighter
Lake Superior College
Duluth
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$22,000Price if you pay yourself$3,640Program website, Fire Fighter at Lake Superior CollegeMore details about Fire Fighter at Lake Superior College
- Finished
- 47%
- Working at 6 months
- 70%
- Earned in a quarter
- $5,493
- Length
- 30 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 75
- Earned a year, estimated
- $22,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,640
Wildland Firefighting
Lake Superior College
Duluth
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$26,300Price if you pay yourself$2,426Program website, Wildland Firefighting at Lake Superior CollegeMore details about Wildland Firefighting at Lake Superior College
- Finished
- 71%
- Working at 6 months
- 64%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,581
- Length
- 30 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 63
- Earned a year, estimated
- $26,300
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,426
Fire Medic
Lake Superior College
Duluth
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$26,300Price if you pay yourself$3,033Program website, Fire Medic at Lake Superior CollegeMore details about Fire Medic at Lake Superior College
- Finished
- 71%
- Working at 6 months
- 64%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,581
- Length
- 30 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 63
- Earned a year, estimated
- $26,300
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,033
Fire Science Technology
Riverland Community College
Austin
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$44,000Price if you pay yourself$10,172Program website, Fire Science Technology at Riverland Community CollegeMore details about Fire Science Technology at Riverland Community College
- Finished
- 35%
- Working at 6 months
- 86%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,002
- Length
- 120 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 62
- Earned a year, estimated
- $44,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $10,172
Fire Services
Riverland Community College
Austin
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$36,900Price if you pay yourself$2,713Program website, Fire Services at Riverland Community CollegeMore details about Fire Services at Riverland Community College
- Finished
- 35%
- Working at 6 months
- 75%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,234
- Length
- 30 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 60
- Earned a year, estimated
- $36,900
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,713
Fire Services
Riverland Community College
Owatonna
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$36,900Price if you pay yourself$2,713Program website, Fire Services at Riverland Community CollegeMore details about Fire Services at Riverland Community College
- Finished
- 35%
- Working at 6 months
- 75%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,234
- Length
- 30 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 60
- Earned a year, estimated
- $36,900
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,713
Fire Services
Riverland Community College
Albert Lea
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$36,900Price if you pay yourself$2,713Program website, Fire Services at Riverland Community CollegeMore details about Fire Services at Riverland Community College
- Finished
- 35%
- Working at 6 months
- 75%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,234
- Length
- 30 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 60
- Earned a year, estimated
- $36,900
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,713
Fire Suppression Technician
Hennepin Technical College
Brooklyn Park
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$53,100Price if you pay yourself$2,582Program website, Fire Suppression Technician at Hennepin Technical CollegeMore details about Fire Suppression Technician at Hennepin Technical College
- Finished
- 69%
- Working at 6 months
- 81%
- Earned in a quarter
- $13,269
- Length
- 30 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 36
- Earned a year, estimated
- $53,100
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,582
Fire Suppression Technician
Hennepin Technical College
Eden Prairie
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$53,100Price if you pay yourself$2,582Program website, Fire Suppression Technician at Hennepin Technical CollegeMore details about Fire Suppression Technician at Hennepin Technical College
- Finished
- 69%
- Working at 6 months
- 81%
- Earned in a quarter
- $13,269
- Length
- 30 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 36
- Earned a year, estimated
- $53,100
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,582
Initial Firefighter
Hennepin Technical College
Eden Prairie
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$53,100Price if you pay yourself$2,753Program website, Initial Firefighter at Hennepin Technical CollegeMore details about Initial Firefighter at Hennepin Technical College
- Finished
- 69%
- Working at 6 months
- 81%
- Earned in a quarter
- $13,269
- Length
- 30 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 36
- Earned a year, estimated
- $53,100
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,753
Professional Firefighter
Hennepin Technical College
Eden Prairie
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$53,100Price if you pay yourself$7,570Program website, Professional Firefighter at Hennepin Technical CollegeMore details about Professional Firefighter at Hennepin Technical College
- Finished
- 69%
- Working at 6 months
- 81%
- Earned in a quarter
- $13,269
- Length
- 60 weeks, 44 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 36
- Earned a year, estimated
- $53,100
- Price if you pay yourself
- $7,570
Fire/Emergency Medical Technician Technologies
Minnesota State Community and Technical College
Moorhead
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,965Program website, Fire/Emergency Medical Technician Technologies at Minnesota State Community and Technical CollegeMore details about Fire/Emergency Medical Technician Technologies at Minnesota State Community and Technical College
- Finished
- 26%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 60 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 20
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,965
Wildland Firefighting
Minnesota North College
Grand Rapids
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfNot reportedProgram website, Wildland Firefighting at Minnesota North CollegeMore details about Wildland Firefighting at Minnesota North College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 60 weeks, 32 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 10
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Not reported
Fire Prevention and Inspection
Hennepin Technical College
Eden Prairie
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,753Program website, Fire Prevention and Inspection at Hennepin Technical CollegeMore details about Fire Prevention and Inspection at Hennepin Technical College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 30 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,753
Fire Investigation
Hennepin Technical College
Eden Prairie
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,301Program website, Fire Investigation at Hennepin Technical CollegeMore details about Fire Investigation at Hennepin Technical College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 30 weeks, 25 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,301
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for fire academy training in Minnesota
WIOA funding can pay for fire academy training in Minnesota
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for fire academy training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for fire academy training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Quick facts: Fire academy in Minnesota
- programs with a price cost under $3,000
- 10 of 23
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 7th of 15
- other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
- 7 of 9
- firefighter programs here, against the typical state's 4
- 24 vs 4
State comparisons use the same figures as the fire academy training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
Fire academy in Minneapolis, Duluth, Austin and other Minnesota cities
Areas with 10 or more programs have a page of their own. Choosing another area filters the program list above. 2 more programs are in 2 other areas and 1 online.
Other training in Minnesota
How fire academy training compares with the rest of public safety: First responder training in Minnesota
- CDL training24 programs
- CNA classes34 programs
- Medical assistant training16 programs
- Phlebotomy training20 programs
- Welding classes69 programs
- HVAC training30 programs
- Medical billing and coding training12 programs
- LPN programs32 programs
- EMT classes39 programs
- Electrician training21 programs
- Dental assistant programs16 programs
- Auto mechanic classes43 programs
- Pharmacy technician training6 programs
- Plumbing school13 programs
- CNC machinist training46 programs
- Carpentry classes20 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training2 programs
- Diesel mechanic training16 programs
- Cybersecurity training63 programs
- IT training163 programs
- Cosmetology school15 programs
- Barber school6 programs
- Esthetician school22 programs
- Nail tech school9 programs
- Massage therapy school14 programs
- Paralegal programs12 programs
- Police academy20 programs
- Surgical tech programs10 programs
- Radiology tech programs12 programs
- Culinary school20 programs
- Home health aide training3 programs
- PTA programs3 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training49 programs
- Human resources training16 programs
- Medication aide training2 programs
- Industrial maintenance technician training75 programs
- Early childhood education programs48 programs
- Aircraft mechanic school3 programs
- Supply chain and logistics training5 programs
- Hospitality management programs9 programs
- Addiction counselor training9 programs
- Community health worker training5 programs
- Coding and software development courses38 programs
- Lineman school8 programs
- Sterile processing technician training3 programs
- Sonography school1 program
- Data analytics courses38 programs
- Administrative assistant training68 programs
- Respiratory therapy programs3 programs
- Medical lab technician programs20 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses49 programs
- Digital marketing courses28 programs
- Web and graphic design courses48 programs
- Health information technology programs15 programs
- Vet tech programs4 programs
- Real estate school1 program
- Security guard training1 program
- OTA programs3 programs
- Interpreter and translator training2 programs
- Home inspector training1 program
- Personal trainer certification14 programs
- Healthcare administration programs7 programs
- Customer service training7 programs
- Flight school4 programs
- MRI tech school2 programs
- Cardiovascular technology programs2 programs
- Mental health technician training2 programs
- Human services programs20 programs
- Manufacturing technician training39 programs
- Electronics technician training26 programs
- Business administration programs112 programs
- Criminal justice programs26 programs
- Teacher assistant certification16 programs
- Auto body repair classes31 programs
- Sleep technician training1 program
- Solar and wind technician training8 programs
- Sheet metal training2 programs
- Water treatment operator training3 programs
- Dialysis technician training2 programs
- Optician training1 program
- Insurance license courses1 program
- Construction training programs19 programs
- Dental hygiene programs9 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes91 programs
- RN programs63 programs
- Project management certification41 programs
Where the Minnesota firefighter program numbers come from
Which Minnesota firefighter programs are on this list?
These are the firefighter programs Minnesota approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Minnesota offers.
How the prices and results of Minnesota firefighter programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Sources for the facts about fire academy training in Minnesota
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Firefighters
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List