Heavy equipment operator training in Minnesota
2 heavy equipment operator programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
2 schools offer these heavy equipment operator programs, and Minnesota has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Heavy equipment operators drive and control the machines that build roads, bridges and buildings. Most have a high school diploma and learn on the job or in a three- or four-year apprenticeship, and many need a commercial driver's license to haul their equipment between jobsites.1 In Minnesota, 1 of the 2 programs takes students without a high school diploma.
See the 2 programsHow much does heavy equipment operator training cost in Minnesota?
$900 to $10,486
from the lowest-priced program to the highest, if you pay yourself
These two programs
- Finished the program
- 85%
- Working 6 months later
- 76%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $48,300
- Length
- 15 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Minnesota may also offer heavy equipment operator training. How these figures are made
All 2 heavy equipment operator programs in Minnesota approved for WIOA funding
Filters
2 programs
Heavy Equipment Operation and Maintenance
Central Lakes College
Staples
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$48,300Price if you pay yourself$10,486Program website, Heavy Equipment Operation and Maintenance at Central Lakes CollegeMore details about Heavy Equipment Operation and Maintenance at Central Lakes College
- Finished
- 85%
- Working at 6 months
- 76%
- Earned in a quarter
- $12,086
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 358
- a year, estimated
- $48,300
- price
- $10,486
Equipment Operator
Takoda Institute of Higher Education
Minneapolis
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$900Program website, Equipment Operator at Takoda Institute of Higher EducationMore details about Equipment Operator at Takoda Institute of Higher Education
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 15 weeks, 7 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $900
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for heavy equipment operator training in Minnesota
WIOA funding can pay for heavy equipment operator training in Minnesota
Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5
Financial aid and grants for heavy equipment operator training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for heavy equipment operator training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Does WIOA pay for job training? Who qualifies and how to apply
Where the Minnesota heavy equipment operator program numbers come from
Which Minnesota heavy equipment operator programs are on this list?
These are the heavy equipment operator programs Minnesota approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Minnesota offers.
How the prices and results of Minnesota heavy equipment operator programs are measured
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Results describe students who left the program in recent years, and the yearly earnings figure is the reported quarter times four, an estimate. They describe past students, so they are no guarantee. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported". Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Other training in Minnesota
- CDL training24 programs
- CNA classes39 programs
- Medical assistant training16 programs
- Phlebotomy training20 programs
- Welding classes68 programs
- HVAC training30 programs
- Medical billing and coding training11 programs
- LPN programs32 programs
- EMT classes15 programs
- Electrician training21 programs
- Dental assistant programs16 programs
- Auto mechanic classes43 programs
- Pharmacy technician training6 programs
- Plumbing school12 programs
- CNC machinist training35 programs
- Carpentry classes20 programs
- Diesel mechanic training16 programs
- Cybersecurity training51 programs
- IT training105 programs
- Project management certification35 programs
Sources for the facts about heavy equipment operator training in Minnesota
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Construction Equipment Operators
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220 and 680.310: career services before training, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List