Retraining Report
Find training

Pharmacy technician training in Minnesota

6 pharmacy technician programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

5 schools offer these pharmacy technician programs, and Minnesota has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Pharmacy technicians help pharmacists dispense medications, manage stock and serve customers. Many programs award a certificate after a year or less, most states regulate the work in some way, and some states and employers require certification.1 In Minnesota, every program asks for a diploma or other schooling first, and 2 are taught partly or fully online.

See the 6 programs

How much does pharmacy technician training cost in Minnesota?

$3,448 to $8,264 is what most pharmacy technician programs in Minnesota cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 6 programs with a price. All of them: $1,767 to $9,992

In the typical program

Finished the program
44%
Working 6 months later
65%
Earned a year, estimated
about $24,600
Length
38 to 105 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Minnesota may also offer pharmacy technician training. How these figures are made

Is there free pharmacy technician training in Minnesota?

Pharmacy technician training in Minneapolis, Grand Forks and other Minnesota cities

Choosing an area filters the list below. 2 programs are online.

All 6 pharmacy technician programs in Minnesota approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
How it's taught
How to show the list

6 programs

  • Pharmacy technician (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Pharmacy Technician

    Saint Paul College

    St. Paul

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Saint Paul College, St. Paul · Pharmacy technician (associate degree) · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$26,300
    Price if you pay yourself$9,992
    Program website, Pharmacy Technician at Saint Paul College
    More details about Pharmacy Technician at Saint Paul College
    Finished
    21%
    Working at 6 months
    74%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,579
    Length
    120 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    168

    Listed 2 times in the state's file with differing results. Shown: the listing with the most students.

    a year, estimated
    $26,300
    price
    $9,992
  • Pharmacy technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Pharmacy Technician

    Minneapolis Community and Technical College

    Minneapolis

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Minneapolis Community and Technical College, Minneapolis · Pharmacy technician · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$29,600
    Price if you pay yourself$2,558
    Program website, Pharmacy Technician at Minneapolis Community and Technical College
    More details about Pharmacy Technician at Minneapolis Community and Technical College
    Finished
    38%
    Working at 6 months
    83%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,399
    Length
    30 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    164
    a year, estimated
    $29,600
    price
    $2,558
  • Pharmacy technician (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Pharmacy Technician

    Anoka-Ramsey Community College

    Cambridge

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Anoka-Ramsey Community College, Cambridge · Pharmacy technician (associate degree) · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$29,100
    Price if you pay yourself$8,957
    Program website, Pharmacy Technician at Anoka-Ramsey Community College
    More details about Pharmacy Technician at Anoka-Ramsey Community College
    Finished
    6%
    Working at 6 months
    78%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,277
    Length
    120 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    94

    Listed 2 times in the state's file with differing results. Shown: the listing with the most students.

    a year, estimated
    $29,100
    price
    $8,957
  • Pharmacy technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Pharmacy Technology

    Northland Community and Technical College

    East Grand Forks

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Northland Community and Technical College, East Grand Forks · Pharmacy technician · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$22,900
    Price if you pay yourself$6,118
    Program website, Pharmacy Technology at Northland Community and Technical College
    More details about Pharmacy Technology at Northland Community and Technical College
    Finished
    60%
    Working at 6 months
    17%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,728
    Length
    60 weeks, 36 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    41

    Listed 2 times in the state's file with differing results. Shown: the listing with the most students.

    a year, estimated
    $22,900
    price
    $6,118
  • Pharmacy technicianOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Pharmacy Technician

    Minnesota West Community and Technical College

    Based in Worthington, MN

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Minnesota West Community and Technical College, based in Worthington, MN · Pharmacy technician · Online · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$22,000
    Price if you pay yourself$1,767
    Program website, Pharmacy Technician at Minnesota West Community and Technical College
    More details about Pharmacy Technician at Minnesota West Community and Technical College
    Finished
    50%
    Working at 6 months
    56%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,493
    Length
    30 weeks, 10 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $400
    Students counted
    23
    a year, estimated
    $22,000
    price
    $1,767
  • Pharmacy technicianOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Pharmacy Technology

    Minnesota West Community and Technical College

    Based in Pipestone, MN

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Minnesota West Community and Technical College, based in Pipestone, MN · Pharmacy technician · Online · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$22,000
    Price if you pay yourself$6,184
    Program website, Pharmacy Technology at Minnesota West Community and Technical College
    More details about Pharmacy Technology at Minnesota West Community and Technical College
    Finished
    50%
    Working at 6 months
    56%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,493
    Length
    60 weeks, 35 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    23
    a year, estimated
    $22,000
    price
    $6,184

How to pay for pharmacy technician training in Minnesota

WIOA funding can pay for pharmacy technician training in Minnesota

Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4

Ask at an American Job Center

Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5

Financial aid and grants for pharmacy technician training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for pharmacy technician training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Pharmacy technician training in Minnesota

lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
37th of 40
other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
6 of 18
pharmacy technician programs here, against the typical state's 10
6 vs 10

State comparisons use the same figures as the pharmacy technician training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Where the Minnesota pharmacy technician program numbers come from

Which Minnesota pharmacy technician programs are on this list?

These are the pharmacy technician programs Minnesota approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Minnesota offers.

How Minnesota pharmacy technician program prices are reported

The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.

What the graduate results of these programs measure

The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.

Why do some pharmacy technician programs say "Not reported"?

Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.

Why the kind of school is left off each program

The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.

Other training in Minnesota

Sources for the facts about pharmacy technician training in Minnesota

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Pharmacy Technicians
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220 and 680.310: career services before training, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List