Police academy in Minnesota
20 police and corrections programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
15 schools offer these law enforcement programs, and Minnesota has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Police officers protect lives and property. Applicants need at least a high school diploma, though some departments and federal agencies ask for college classes or a degree, and they usually must be 21 and meet strict physical and personal standards; most then graduate from their agency's training academy and train on the job.1
In Minnesota, all 20 programs ask for a high school diploma or equivalent.
By kind, the 20 programs here are police academy (basic law enforcement, 12 programs), law enforcement certificate (4 programs), corrections certificate (3 programs) and corrections officer academy (1 program).
See the 20 programsHow much does police academy cost in Minnesota?
$2,128 to $5,148 is what most police and corrections programs in Minnesota cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 18 programs with a price. All of them: $1,985 to $7,271
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 56%
- Working 6 months later
- 84%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $33,700
- Length
- 30 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Minnesota may also offer police academy training. How these figures are made
All 20 police and corrections programs in Minnesota approved for WIOA funding
Filters
20 programs
Law Enforcement
Hennepin Technical College
Brooklyn Park
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$52,200Price if you pay yourself$3,550Program website, Law Enforcement at Hennepin Technical CollegeMore details about Law Enforcement at Hennepin Technical College
- Finished
- 77%
- Working at 6 months
- 90%
- Earned in a quarter
- $13,056
- Length
- 30 weeks, 22 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 1,221
- Earned a year, estimated
- $52,200
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,550
Law Enforcement Skills
Alexandria Technical and Community College
Alexandria
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$33,700Price if you pay yourself$1,985Program website, Law Enforcement Skills at Alexandria Technical and Community CollegeMore details about Law Enforcement Skills at Alexandria Technical and Community College
- Finished
- 98%
- Working at 6 months
- 81%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,425
- Length
- 30 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 504
- Earned a year, estimated
- $33,700
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,985
Law Enforcement: Career Transition
Alexandria Technical and Community College
Based in Alexandria, MN
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$33,700Price if you pay yourself$6,286Program website, Law Enforcement: Career Transition at Alexandria Technical and Community CollegeMore details about Law Enforcement: Career Transition at Alexandria Technical and Community College
- Finished
- 98%
- Working at 6 months
- 81%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,425
- Length
- 60 weeks, 38 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 504
- Earned a year, estimated
- $33,700
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,286
Law Enforcement-Skills
Rochester Community and Technical College
Rochester
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$38,800Price if you pay yourself$2,028Program website, Law Enforcement-Skills at Rochester Community and Technical CollegeMore details about Law Enforcement-Skills at Rochester Community and Technical College
- Finished
- 44%
- Working at 6 months
- 90%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,712
- Length
- 30 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 165
- Earned a year, estimated
- $38,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,028
Professional Peace Officer Education Skills
Rochester Community and Technical College
Rochester
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$38,800Price if you pay yourself$2,151Program website, Professional Peace Officer Education Skills at Rochester Community and Technical CollegeMore details about Professional Peace Officer Education Skills at Rochester Community and Technical College
- Finished
- 44%
- Working at 6 months
- 90%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,712
- Length
- 30 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 165
- Earned a year, estimated
- $38,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,151
Law Enforcement
Century College
White Bear Lake
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$39,800Price if you pay yourself$4,466Program website, Law Enforcement at Century CollegeMore details about Law Enforcement at Century College
- Finished
- 56%
- Working at 6 months
- 86%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,953
- Length
- 30 weeks, 27 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 139
- Earned a year, estimated
- $39,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,466
Law Enforcement Skills
Central Lakes College
Brainerd
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$32,100Price if you pay yourself$2,622Program website, Law Enforcement Skills at Central Lakes CollegeMore details about Law Enforcement Skills at Central Lakes College
- Finished
- 81%
- Working at 6 months
- 83%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,016
- Length
- 30 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 126
- Earned a year, estimated
- $32,100
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,622
Law Enforcement Skills
Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College
Cloquet
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$33,400Price if you pay yourself$4,419Program website, Law Enforcement Skills at Fond du Lac Tribal and Community CollegeMore details about Law Enforcement Skills at Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College
- Finished
- 54%
- Working at 6 months
- 88%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,350
- Length
- 30 weeks, 27 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 105
- Earned a year, estimated
- $33,400
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,419
Law Enforcement Skills Training
Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College
Cloquet
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$33,400Price if you pay yourself$6,547Program website, Law Enforcement Skills Training at Fond du Lac Tribal and Community CollegeMore details about Law Enforcement Skills Training at Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College
- Finished
- 54%
- Working at 6 months
- 88%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,350
- Length
- 60 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 105
- Earned a year, estimated
- $33,400
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,547
Law Enforcement
Normandale Community College
Bloomington
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$28,000Price if you pay yourself$4,823Program website, Law Enforcement at Normandale Community CollegeMore details about Law Enforcement at Normandale Community College
- Finished
- 22%
- Working at 6 months
- 84%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,006
- Length
- 30 weeks, 29 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 77
- Earned a year, estimated
- $28,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,823
Criminal Justice - Corrections
Riverland Community College
Austin
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$36,000Price if you pay yourself$5,256Program website, Criminal Justice - Corrections at Riverland Community CollegeMore details about Criminal Justice - Corrections at Riverland Community College
- Finished
- 61%
- Working at 6 months
- 83%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,998
- Length
- 60 weeks, 31 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 28
- Earned a year, estimated
- $36,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,256
Law Enforcement Skills
Minnesota West Community and Technical College
Worthington
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$38,200Price if you pay yourself$2,120Program website, Law Enforcement Skills at Minnesota West Community and Technical CollegeMore details about Law Enforcement Skills at Minnesota West Community and Technical College
- Finished
- 69%
- Working at 6 months
- 69%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,538
- Length
- 30 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 13
- Earned a year, estimated
- $38,200
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,120
Correctional Officer
Minnesota State Community and Technical College
Moorhead
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$25,600Price if you pay yourself$3,972Program website, Correctional Officer at Minnesota State Community and Technical CollegeMore details about Correctional Officer at Minnesota State Community and Technical College
- Finished
- 56%
- Working at 6 months
- 44%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,397
- Length
- 30 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 13
- Earned a year, estimated
- $25,600
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,972
Law Enforcement
Minnesota North College
Hibbing
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfNot reportedProgram website, Law Enforcement at Minnesota North CollegeMore details about Law Enforcement at Minnesota North College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 60 weeks, 41 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 49
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Not reported
Law Enforcement Skills
Minnesota North College
Hibbing
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfNot reportedProgram website, Law Enforcement Skills at Minnesota North CollegeMore details about Law Enforcement Skills at Minnesota North College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 30 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 49
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Not reported
Corrections
Century College
White Bear Lake
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,985Program website, Corrections at Century CollegeMore details about Corrections at Century College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 30 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,985
Law Enforcement Skills
St. Cloud State University
St. Cloud
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,985Program website, Law Enforcement Skills at St. Cloud State UniversityMore details about Law Enforcement Skills at St. Cloud State University
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 30 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,985
Corrections
Inver Hills Community College
Based in Inver Grove Heights, MN
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,620Program website, Corrections at Inver Hills Community CollegeMore details about Corrections at Inver Hills Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 30 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,620
Law Enforcement POST
Minnesota State University Mankato
Mankato
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$6,901Program website, Law Enforcement POST at Minnesota State University MankatoMore details about Law Enforcement POST at Minnesota State University Mankato
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 30 weeks, 28 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,901
Minnesota Peace Officer
Bemidji State University
Based in Bemidji, MN
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$7,271Program website, Minnesota Peace Officer at Bemidji State UniversityMore details about Minnesota Peace Officer at Bemidji State University
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 30 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $7,271
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for police academy training in Minnesota
WIOA funding can pay for police academy training in Minnesota
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for police academy training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for police academy training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Quick facts: Police academy in Minnesota
- programs with a price cost under $2,000
- 3 of 18
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 8th of 17
- police and corrections programs here, against the typical state's 7
- 20 vs 7
State comparisons use the same figures as the police academy training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
Police academy in Minneapolis, Duluth, Rochester and other Minnesota cities
Areas with 10 or more programs have a page of their own. Choosing another area filters the program list above. 4 more programs are in 4 other areas and 3 online.
Other training in Minnesota
How police academy training compares with the rest of public safety: First responder training in Minnesota
- CDL training24 programs
- CNA classes34 programs
- Medical assistant training16 programs
- Phlebotomy training20 programs
- Welding classes69 programs
- HVAC training30 programs
- Medical billing and coding training12 programs
- LPN programs32 programs
- EMT classes39 programs
- Electrician training21 programs
- Dental assistant programs16 programs
- Auto mechanic classes43 programs
- Pharmacy technician training6 programs
- Plumbing school13 programs
- CNC machinist training46 programs
- Carpentry classes20 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training2 programs
- Diesel mechanic training16 programs
- Cybersecurity training63 programs
- IT training163 programs
- Cosmetology school15 programs
- Barber school6 programs
- Esthetician school22 programs
- Nail tech school9 programs
- Massage therapy school14 programs
- Paralegal programs12 programs
- Fire academy24 programs
- Surgical tech programs10 programs
- Radiology tech programs12 programs
- Culinary school20 programs
- Home health aide training3 programs
- PTA programs3 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training49 programs
- Human resources training16 programs
- Medication aide training2 programs
- Industrial maintenance technician training75 programs
- Early childhood education programs48 programs
- Aircraft mechanic school3 programs
- Supply chain and logistics training5 programs
- Hospitality management programs9 programs
- Addiction counselor training9 programs
- Community health worker training5 programs
- Coding and software development courses38 programs
- Lineman school8 programs
- Sterile processing technician training3 programs
- Sonography school1 program
- Data analytics courses38 programs
- Administrative assistant training68 programs
- Respiratory therapy programs3 programs
- Medical lab technician programs20 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses49 programs
- Digital marketing courses28 programs
- Web and graphic design courses48 programs
- Health information technology programs15 programs
- Vet tech programs4 programs
- Real estate school1 program
- Security guard training1 program
- OTA programs3 programs
- Interpreter and translator training2 programs
- Home inspector training1 program
- Personal trainer certification14 programs
- Healthcare administration programs7 programs
- Customer service training7 programs
- Flight school4 programs
- MRI tech school2 programs
- Cardiovascular technology programs2 programs
- Mental health technician training2 programs
- Human services programs20 programs
- Manufacturing technician training39 programs
- Electronics technician training26 programs
- Business administration programs112 programs
- Criminal justice programs26 programs
- Teacher assistant certification16 programs
- Auto body repair classes31 programs
- Sleep technician training1 program
- Solar and wind technician training8 programs
- Sheet metal training2 programs
- Water treatment operator training3 programs
- Dialysis technician training2 programs
- Optician training1 program
- Insurance license courses1 program
- Construction training programs19 programs
- Dental hygiene programs9 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes91 programs
- RN programs63 programs
- Project management certification41 programs
Where the Minnesota law enforcement program numbers come from
Which Minnesota law enforcement programs are on this list?
These are the law enforcement programs Minnesota approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Minnesota offers.
How the prices and results of Minnesota law enforcement programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Sources for the facts about police academy training in Minnesota
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Police and Detectives
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List