Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Manufacturing technician training in Minnesota

39 manufacturing programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

16 schools offer these manufacturing programs, and Minnesota has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Assemblers and fabricators build finished products and the parts that go into them. A high school diploma is enough for most jobs, and new workers usually get several months of training on the job; advanced assembly work takes more experience and training, and certifications can help a worker move up.1

In Minnesota, 1 of the 39 programs takes students without a high school diploma and 38 ask for a diploma or equivalent.

By kind, the 39 programs here are manufacturing technician certificate or diploma (22 programs), manufacturing (associate degree, 7 programs), quality control and inspection (4 programs), certified Production Technician (CPT) course (3 programs), and 3 more of 2 other kinds.

See the 39 programs

How much does manufacturing training cost in Minnesota?

Certificates and short courses (32 programs)
$2,582 to $2,979most of them, usually 30 weeks long
Two-year degrees (7 programs)
$9,574 to $10,158most of them, usually 120 weeks long

What you pay yourself for the whole program, as the schools report it. "Most" is the middle half of the programs with a price.

In the typical program

Finished the program
41%
Working 6 months later
88%
Earned a year, estimated
about $52,900
Length
30 to 60 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Minnesota may also offer manufacturing training. How these figures are made

Is there free manufacturing training in Minnesota?

All 39 manufacturing programs in Minnesota approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

39 programs

  • Manufacturing (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Manufacturing Engineering Technology

    Hennepin Technical College

    Brooklyn Park

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Hennepin Technical College, Brooklyn ParkManufacturing (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$54,300
    Price if you pay yourself$9,683
    Program website, Manufacturing Engineering Technology at Hennepin Technical College
    More details about Manufacturing Engineering Technology at Hennepin Technical College
    Finished
    32%
    Working at 6 months
    86%
    Earned in a quarter
    $13,585
    Length
    120 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    400
    Earned a year, estimated
    $54,300
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,683
    Program website, Manufacturing Engineering Technology at Hennepin Technical College
  • Manufacturing (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Manufacturing Engineering Technology

    Hennepin Technical College

    Eden Prairie

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Hennepin Technical College, Eden PrairieManufacturing (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$54,300
    Price if you pay yourself$9,683
    Program website, Manufacturing Engineering Technology at Hennepin Technical College
    More details about Manufacturing Engineering Technology at Hennepin Technical College
    Finished
    32%
    Working at 6 months
    86%
    Earned in a quarter
    $13,585
    Length
    120 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    400
    Earned a year, estimated
    $54,300
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,683
    Program website, Manufacturing Engineering Technology at Hennepin Technical College
  • Manufacturing technician certificate or diplomaOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Production Technologies

    Pine Technical and Community College

    Based in Pine City, MN

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Pine Technical and Community College, based in Pine City, MNManufacturing technician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$51,600
    Price if you pay yourself$2,524
    Program website, Production Technologies at Pine Technical and Community College
    More details about Production Technologies at Pine Technical and Community College
    Finished
    60%
    Working at 6 months
    54%
    Earned in a quarter
    $12,892
    Length
    30 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,067
    Students counted
    233
    Earned a year, estimated
    $51,600
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,524
    Program website, Production Technologies at Pine Technical and Community College
  • Quality control and inspectionIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Nondestructive Testing Technology

    Ridgewater College

    Hutchinson

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Ridgewater College, HutchinsonQuality control and inspection · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$38,400
    Price if you pay yourself$10,632
    Program website, Nondestructive Testing Technology at Ridgewater College
    More details about Nondestructive Testing Technology at Ridgewater College
    Finished
    68%
    Working at 6 months
    64%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,589
    Length
    120 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    206

    Listed 2 times in the state's file with differing results. Shown: the listing with the most students.

    Earned a year, estimated
    $38,400
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,632
    Program website, Nondestructive Testing Technology at Ridgewater College
  • Certified Production Technician (CPT) courseIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Manufacturing Skills Standards

    Riverland Community College

    Albert Lea

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Riverland Community College, Albert LeaCertified Production Technician (CPT) course · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$51,700
    Price if you pay yourself$1,526
    Program website, Manufacturing Skills Standards at Riverland Community College
    More details about Manufacturing Skills Standards at Riverland Community College
    Finished
    64%
    Working at 6 months
    83%
    Earned in a quarter
    $12,931
    Length
    30 weeks, 9 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    147
    Earned a year, estimated
    $51,700
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,526
    Program website, Manufacturing Skills Standards at Riverland Community College
  • Quality control and inspectionIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Quality Assurance

    Hennepin Technical College

    Brooklyn Park

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Hennepin Technical College, Brooklyn ParkQuality control and inspection · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$54,400
    Price if you pay yourself$2,582
    Program website, Quality Assurance at Hennepin Technical College
    More details about Quality Assurance at Hennepin Technical College
    Finished
    70%
    Working at 6 months
    96%
    Earned in a quarter
    $13,601
    Length
    30 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    84
    Earned a year, estimated
    $54,400
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,582
    Program website, Quality Assurance at Hennepin Technical College
  • Manufacturing technician certificate or diplomaOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Vacuum Technology

    Normandale Community College

    Based in Bloomington, MN

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Normandale Community College, based in Bloomington, MNManufacturing technician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$90,900
    Price if you pay yourself$1,497
    Program website, Vacuum Technology at Normandale Community College
    More details about Vacuum Technology at Normandale Community College
    Finished
    93%
    Working at 6 months
    60%
    Earned in a quarter
    $22,726
    Length
    30 weeks, 9 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    65
    Earned a year, estimated
    $90,900
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,497
    Program website, Vacuum Technology at Normandale Community College
  • Short course or intro to manufacturingIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Manufacturing Fundamentals (M-Powered)

    Hennepin Technical College

    Eden Prairie

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Hennepin Technical College, Eden PrairieShort course or intro to manufacturing · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$47,500
    Price if you pay yourself$2,582
    Program website, Manufacturing Fundamentals (M-Powered) at Hennepin Technical College
    More details about Manufacturing Fundamentals (M-Powered) at Hennepin Technical College
    Finished
    26%
    Working at 6 months
    90%
    Earned in a quarter
    $11,887
    Length
    30 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    64
    Earned a year, estimated
    $47,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,582
    Program website, Manufacturing Fundamentals (M-Powered) at Hennepin Technical College
  • Short course or intro to manufacturingIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Manufacturing Fundamentals (M-Powered)

    Hennepin Technical College

    Brooklyn Park

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Hennepin Technical College, Brooklyn ParkShort course or intro to manufacturing · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$47,500
    Price if you pay yourself$2,582
    Program website, Manufacturing Fundamentals (M-Powered) at Hennepin Technical College
    More details about Manufacturing Fundamentals (M-Powered) at Hennepin Technical College
    Finished
    26%
    Working at 6 months
    90%
    Earned in a quarter
    $11,887
    Length
    30 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    64
    Earned a year, estimated
    $47,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,582
    Program website, Manufacturing Fundamentals (M-Powered) at Hennepin Technical College
  • Manufacturing technician certificate or diplomaOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Production Technologies

    Hennepin Technical College

    Based in Brooklyn Park, MN

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Hennepin Technical College, based in Brooklyn Park, MNManufacturing technician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$47,500
    Price if you pay yourself$2,582
    Program website, Production Technologies at Hennepin Technical College
    More details about Production Technologies at Hennepin Technical College
    Finished
    26%
    Working at 6 months
    90%
    Earned in a quarter
    $11,887
    Length
    30 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    64
    Earned a year, estimated
    $47,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,582
    Program website, Production Technologies at Hennepin Technical College
  • Manufacturing technician certificate or diplomaIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Manufacturing Technician

    Hennepin Technical College

    Brooklyn Park

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Hennepin Technical College, Brooklyn ParkManufacturing technician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$47,500
    Price if you pay yourself$4,841
    Program website, Manufacturing Technician at Hennepin Technical College
    More details about Manufacturing Technician at Hennepin Technical College
    Finished
    26%
    Working at 6 months
    90%
    Earned in a quarter
    $11,887
    Length
    60 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    64
    Earned a year, estimated
    $47,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,841
    Program website, Manufacturing Technician at Hennepin Technical College
  • Manufacturing technician certificate or diplomaIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Manufacturing Technician

    Hennepin Technical College

    Eden Prairie

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Hennepin Technical College, Eden PrairieManufacturing technician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$47,500
    Price if you pay yourself$4,841
    Program website, Manufacturing Technician at Hennepin Technical College
    More details about Manufacturing Technician at Hennepin Technical College
    Finished
    26%
    Working at 6 months
    90%
    Earned in a quarter
    $11,887
    Length
    60 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    64
    Earned a year, estimated
    $47,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,841
    Program website, Manufacturing Technician at Hennepin Technical College
  • Manufacturing (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Vacuum and Thin Film Technology

    Normandale Community College

    Bloomington

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Normandale Community College, BloomingtonManufacturing (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$52,900
    Price if you pay yourself$9,979
    Program website, Vacuum and Thin Film Technology at Normandale Community College
    More details about Vacuum and Thin Film Technology at Normandale Community College
    Finished
    29%
    Working at 6 months
    82%
    Earned in a quarter
    $13,224
    Length
    120 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    54
    Earned a year, estimated
    $52,900
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,979
    Program website, Vacuum and Thin Film Technology at Normandale Community College
  • Manufacturing (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Applied Engineering Technology

    Pine Technical and Community College

    Pine City

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Pine Technical and Community College, Pine CityManufacturing (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$43,700
    Price if you pay yourself$9,464
    Program website, Applied Engineering Technology at Pine Technical and Community College
    More details about Applied Engineering Technology at Pine Technical and Community College
    Finished
    21%
    Working at 6 months
    79%
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,914
    Length
    120 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    42
    Earned a year, estimated
    $43,700
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,464
    Program website, Applied Engineering Technology at Pine Technical and Community College
  • Plastics, composites and 3D printingHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Design for Manufacturing: 3D Printing

    Dunwoody College of Technology

    Minneapolis

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Dunwoody College of Technology, MinneapolisPlastics, composites and 3D printing · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$32,500
    Price if you pay yourself$16,072
    Program website, Design for Manufacturing: 3D Printing at Dunwoody College of Technology
    More details about Design for Manufacturing: 3D Printing at Dunwoody College of Technology
    Finished
    66%
    Working at 6 months
    88%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,114
    Length
    60 weeks, 22 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $910
    Students counted
    39
    Earned a year, estimated
    $32,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $16,072
    Program website, Design for Manufacturing: 3D Printing at Dunwoody College of Technology
  • Manufacturing technician certificate or diplomaIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Manufacturing Production Technologies

    Ridgewater College

    Hutchinson

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Ridgewater College, HutchinsonManufacturing technician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$57,500
    Price if you pay yourself$2,658
    Program website, Manufacturing Production Technologies at Ridgewater College
    More details about Manufacturing Production Technologies at Ridgewater College
    Finished
    71%
    Working at 6 months
    88%
    Earned in a quarter
    $14,374
    Length
    30 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    34
    Earned a year, estimated
    $57,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,658
    Program website, Manufacturing Production Technologies at Ridgewater College
  • Certified Production Technician (CPT) courseIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Certified Production Technician

    Northland Community and Technical College

    Thief River Falls

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Northland Community and Technical College, Thief River FallsCertified Production Technician (CPT) course · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$85,700
    Price if you pay yourself$1,360
    Program website, Certified Production Technician at Northland Community and Technical College
    More details about Certified Production Technician at Northland Community and Technical College
    Finished
    41%
    Working at 6 months
    88%
    Earned in a quarter
    $21,413
    Length
    30 weeks, 8 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    23
    Earned a year, estimated
    $85,700
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,360
    Program website, Certified Production Technician at Northland Community and Technical College
  • Certified Production Technician (CPT) courseIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Certified Production Technician

    Northland Community and Technical College

    East Grand Forks

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Northland Community and Technical College, East Grand ForksCertified Production Technician (CPT) course · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$85,700
    Price if you pay yourself$1,360
    Program website, Certified Production Technician at Northland Community and Technical College
    More details about Certified Production Technician at Northland Community and Technical College
    Finished
    41%
    Working at 6 months
    88%
    Earned in a quarter
    $21,413
    Length
    30 weeks, 8 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    23
    Earned a year, estimated
    $85,700
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,360
    Program website, Certified Production Technician at Northland Community and Technical College
  • Manufacturing technician certificate or diplomaIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Mechanical

    Northland Community and Technical College

    East Grand Forks

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Northland Community and Technical College, East Grand ForksManufacturing technician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$85,700
    Price if you pay yourself$2,719
    Program website, Mechanical at Northland Community and Technical College
    More details about Mechanical at Northland Community and Technical College
    Finished
    41%
    Working at 6 months
    88%
    Earned in a quarter
    $21,413
    Length
    30 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    23
    Earned a year, estimated
    $85,700
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,719
    Program website, Mechanical at Northland Community and Technical College
  • Manufacturing technician certificate or diplomaOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Production Technologies

    Northland Community and Technical College

    Based in East Grand Forks, MN

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Northland Community and Technical College, based in East Grand Forks, MNManufacturing technician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$85,700
    Price if you pay yourself$2,719
    Program website, Production Technologies at Northland Community and Technical College
    More details about Production Technologies at Northland Community and Technical College
    Finished
    41%
    Working at 6 months
    88%
    Earned in a quarter
    $21,413
    Length
    30 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $533
    Students counted
    23
    Earned a year, estimated
    $85,700
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,719
    Program website, Production Technologies at Northland Community and Technical College
  • Quality control and inspectionIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Quality Technician

    Anoka Technical College

    Anoka

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Anoka Technical College, AnokaQuality control and inspection · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$57,100
    Price if you pay yourself$10,318
    Program website, Quality Technician at Anoka Technical College
    More details about Quality Technician at Anoka Technical College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    $14,282
    Length
    120 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    17
    Earned a year, estimated
    $57,100
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,318
    Program website, Quality Technician at Anoka Technical College
  • Manufacturing technician certificate or diplomaIn personNo diploma needed

    Manufacturing Management Certificate

    University of Minnesota Crookston

    Crookston

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    University of Minnesota Crookston, CrookstonManufacturing technician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$90,900
    Price if you pay yourself$7,118
    Program website, Manufacturing Management Certificate at University of Minnesota Crookston
    More details about Manufacturing Management Certificate at University of Minnesota Crookston
    Finished
    80%
    Working at 6 months
    40%
    Earned in a quarter
    $22,727
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    14
    Earned a year, estimated
    $90,900
    Price if you pay yourself
    $7,118
    Program website, Manufacturing Management Certificate at University of Minnesota Crookston
  • Manufacturing (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Engineering Technology

    Northwest Technical College

    Bemidji

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Northwest Technical College, BemidjiManufacturing (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$38,900
    Price if you pay yourself$10,689
    Program website, Engineering Technology at Northwest Technical College
    More details about Engineering Technology at Northwest Technical College
    Finished
    33%
    Working at 6 months
    92%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,736
    Length
    120 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    14
    Earned a year, estimated
    $38,900
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,689
    Program website, Engineering Technology at Northwest Technical College
  • Manufacturing (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Engineering Technology

    Lake Superior College

    Duluth

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Lake Superior College, DuluthManufacturing (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$9,099
    Program website, Engineering Technology at Lake Superior College
    More details about Engineering Technology at Lake Superior College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    120 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    13
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,099
    Program website, Engineering Technology at Lake Superior College
  • Manufacturing technician certificate or diplomaOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Production Technologies

    Lake Superior College

    Based in Duluth, MN

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Lake Superior College, based in Duluth, MNManufacturing technician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,426
    Program website, Production Technologies at Lake Superior College
    More details about Production Technologies at Lake Superior College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    30 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,426
    Program website, Production Technologies at Lake Superior College
  • Manufacturing technician certificate or diplomaIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Device Manufacturing Specialist

    Hennepin Technical College

    Brooklyn Park

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Hennepin Technical College, Brooklyn ParkManufacturing technician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,582
    Program website, Medical Device Manufacturing Specialist at Hennepin Technical College
    More details about Medical Device Manufacturing Specialist at Hennepin Technical College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    30 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,582
    Program website, Medical Device Manufacturing Specialist at Hennepin Technical College
  • Manufacturing technician certificate or diplomaIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Device Manufacturing Specialist

    Hennepin Technical College

    Eden Prairie

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Hennepin Technical College, Eden PrairieManufacturing technician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,582
    Program website, Medical Device Manufacturing Specialist at Hennepin Technical College
    More details about Medical Device Manufacturing Specialist at Hennepin Technical College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    30 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,582
    Program website, Medical Device Manufacturing Specialist at Hennepin Technical College
  • Manufacturing technician certificate or diplomaOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Production Technologies

    Central Lakes College

    Based in Brainerd, MN

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Central Lakes College, based in Brainerd, MNManufacturing technician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,622
    Program website, Production Technologies at Central Lakes College
    More details about Production Technologies at Central Lakes College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    30 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $533
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,622
    Program website, Production Technologies at Central Lakes College
  • Manufacturing technician certificate or diplomaIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Manufacturing Production Technology

    South Central College

    Faribault

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    South Central College, FaribaultManufacturing technician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,656
    Program website, Manufacturing Production Technology at South Central College
    More details about Manufacturing Production Technology at South Central College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    30 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,656
    Program website, Manufacturing Production Technology at South Central College
  • Manufacturing technician certificate or diplomaIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Manufacturing Production Technology

    South Central College

    North Mankato

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    South Central College, North MankatoManufacturing technician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,656
    Program website, Manufacturing Production Technology at South Central College
    More details about Manufacturing Production Technology at South Central College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    30 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,656
    Program website, Manufacturing Production Technology at South Central College
  • Manufacturing technician certificate or diplomaOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Production Technologies

    Saint Paul College

    Based in St. Paul, MN

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Saint Paul College, based in St. Paul, MNManufacturing technician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,665
    Program website, Production Technologies at Saint Paul College
    More details about Production Technologies at Saint Paul College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    30 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $640
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,665
    Program website, Production Technologies at Saint Paul College
  • Manufacturing technician certificate or diplomaOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Production Technologies

    Riverland Community College

    Based in Austin, MN

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Riverland Community College, based in Austin, MNManufacturing technician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,713
    Program website, Production Technologies at Riverland Community College
    More details about Production Technologies at Riverland Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    30 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $853
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,713
    Program website, Production Technologies at Riverland Community College
  • Manufacturing technician certificate or diplomaOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Production Technologies

    Northwest Technical College

    Based in Bemidji, MN

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Northwest Technical College, based in Bemidji, MNManufacturing technician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,850
    Program website, Production Technologies at Northwest Technical College
    More details about Production Technologies at Northwest Technical College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    30 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $853
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,850
    Program website, Production Technologies at Northwest Technical College
  • Manufacturing technician certificate or diplomaIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Industrial Workplace Readiness

    Minnesota State Community and Technical College

    Wadena

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Minnesota State Community and Technical College, WadenaManufacturing technician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,979
    Program website, Industrial Workplace Readiness at Minnesota State Community and Technical College
    More details about Industrial Workplace Readiness at Minnesota State Community and Technical College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    30 weeks, 18 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,979
    Program website, Industrial Workplace Readiness at Minnesota State Community and Technical College
  • Manufacturing technician certificate or diplomaIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Industrial Workplace Readiness

    Minnesota State Community and Technical College

    Moorhead

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Minnesota State Community and Technical College, MoorheadManufacturing technician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,979
    Program website, Industrial Workplace Readiness at Minnesota State Community and Technical College
    More details about Industrial Workplace Readiness at Minnesota State Community and Technical College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    30 weeks, 18 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,979
    Program website, Industrial Workplace Readiness at Minnesota State Community and Technical College
  • Manufacturing technician certificate or diplomaIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Industrial Workplace Readiness

    Minnesota State Community and Technical College

    Detroit Lakes

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Minnesota State Community and Technical College, Detroit LakesManufacturing technician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,979
    Program website, Industrial Workplace Readiness at Minnesota State Community and Technical College
    More details about Industrial Workplace Readiness at Minnesota State Community and Technical College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    30 weeks, 18 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,979
    Program website, Industrial Workplace Readiness at Minnesota State Community and Technical College
  • Manufacturing technician certificate or diplomaIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Industrial Workplace Readiness

    Minnesota State Community and Technical College

    Fergus Falls

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Minnesota State Community and Technical College, Fergus FallsManufacturing technician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,979
    Program website, Industrial Workplace Readiness at Minnesota State Community and Technical College
    More details about Industrial Workplace Readiness at Minnesota State Community and Technical College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    30 weeks, 18 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,979
    Program website, Industrial Workplace Readiness at Minnesota State Community and Technical College
  • Quality control and inspectionIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Quality Inspector

    Anoka Technical College

    Anoka

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Anoka Technical College, AnokaQuality control and inspection · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$5,159
    Program website, Quality Inspector at Anoka Technical College
    More details about Quality Inspector at Anoka Technical College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    60 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,159
    Program website, Quality Inspector at Anoka Technical College
  • Manufacturing (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Manufacturing Engineering Technology

    Minnesota State College Southeast

    Winona

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Minnesota State College Southeast, WinonaManufacturing (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$10,338
    Program website, Manufacturing Engineering Technology at Minnesota State College Southeast
    More details about Manufacturing Engineering Technology at Minnesota State College Southeast
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    120 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,338
    Program website, Manufacturing Engineering Technology at Minnesota State College Southeast

How to pay for manufacturing training in Minnesota

WIOA funding can pay for manufacturing training in Minnesota

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for manufacturing training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for manufacturing training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Manufacturing technician training in Minnesota

programs with a price cost under $2,000
4 of 39
lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
11th of 22
manufacturing programs here, against the typical state's 7
39 vs 7

State comparisons use the same figures as the manufacturing training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Manufacturing technician training in Minneapolis, Grand Forks, Hutchinson and other Minnesota cities

Areas with 10 or more programs have a page of their own. Choosing another area filters the program list above. 6 more programs are in 6 other areas, 3 in smaller cities and towns and 9 online.

Other training in Minnesota

How manufacturing training compares with the rest of skilled trades: Trade school programs in Minnesota

Where the Minnesota manufacturing program numbers come from

Which Minnesota manufacturing programs are on this list?

These are the manufacturing programs Minnesota approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Minnesota offers.

How the prices and results of Minnesota manufacturing programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about manufacturing training in Minnesota

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Assemblers and Fabricators
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List