Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Auto mechanic classes in Wyoming

4 auto mechanic programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

3 schools offer these automotive programs, and Wyoming has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Automotive service technicians and mechanics inspect, maintain and repair cars and light trucks. Most complete a program in automotive service technology that leads to a certificate or an associate's degree, and employers may require or prefer certification.1 Federal rules require anyone paid to repair or service a car's air conditioning to be trained and certified by an EPA-approved program, which ends with a test.2

In Wyoming, 2 of the 4 programs take students without a high school diploma and 2 ask for a diploma or equivalent.

By kind, the 4 programs here are automotive technician (3 programs) and automotive technician (associate degree, 1 program).

See the 4 programs

How much do auto mechanic classes cost in Wyoming?

$2,502 to $11,700

is what the 4 programs with a price cost if you pay yourself

In the typical program

Finished the program
Not enough data
1 program reports it; a typical figure needs 5
Working 6 months later
Left out
Every program that reports it reports exactly 100%
Earned a year, estimated
Not enough data
1 program reports it; a typical figure needs 5
Length
Not enough data
2 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Wyoming may also offer auto mechanic classes. How these figures are made

Are there free auto mechanic classes in Wyoming?

All 4 auto mechanic programs in Wyoming approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

4 programs

  • Automotive technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Automotive Technology Certificate

    Casper Community College District

    Casper

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Casper Community College District, CasperAutomotive technician · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$26,600
    Price if you pay yourself$2,502
    School website, Automotive Technology Certificate at Casper Community College District
    More details about Automotive Technology Certificate at Casper Community College District
    Finished
    38%
    Working at 6 months
    Left out
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,655
    Length
    28 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,400
    Students counted
    39
    Earned a year, estimated
    $26,600
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,502
    School website, Automotive Technology Certificate at Casper Community College District
  • Automotive technician (associate degree)HybridNo diploma needed

    Automotive Technology AAS

    Central Wyoming College

    Riverton

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Central Wyoming College, RivertonAutomotive technician (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedLeft out
    Price if you pay yourself$11,700
    School website, Automotive Technology AAS at Central Wyoming College
    More details about Automotive Technology AAS at Central Wyoming College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Left out
    Earned in a quarter
    Left out
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    $1,000
    Students counted
    30
    Earned a year, estimated
    Left out
    Price if you pay yourself
    $11,700
    School website, Automotive Technology AAS at Central Wyoming College
  • Automotive technicianOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Automotive Technology

    Davis Technical College

    Based in Kaysville, UT

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Davis Technical College, based in Kaysville, UTAutomotive technician · Accredited schoolOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,336
    More details about Automotive Technology at Davis Technical College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $165
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,336
  • Automotive technicianIn personNo diploma needed

    Automotive Technology Certificate

    Central Wyoming College

    Riverton

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Central Wyoming College, RivertonAutomotive technician · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$5,850
    School website, Automotive Technology Certificate at Central Wyoming College
    More details about Automotive Technology Certificate at Central Wyoming College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    42 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,000
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,850
    School website, Automotive Technology Certificate at Central Wyoming College

How to pay for auto mechanic classes in Wyoming

WIOA funding can pay for auto mechanic classes in Wyoming

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for auto mechanic classes

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78

GI Bill for auto mechanic classes

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.9

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Auto mechanic classes in Riverton, Casper and other Wyoming cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above. 1 program is online.

Other training in Wyoming

How auto mechanic classes compare with the rest of skilled trades: Trade school programs in Wyoming

Where the Wyoming automotive program numbers come from

Which Wyoming automotive programs are on this list?

These are the automotive programs Wyoming approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).10 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Wyoming offers.

How the prices and results of Wyoming automotive programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

How reliable are the Wyoming figures?

We leave out the share working 6 months later for Wyoming: every program that reports it reports exactly 100%.

Sources for the facts about auto mechanic classes in Wyoming

Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Automotive Service Technicians and Mechanics
  2. US Environmental Protection Agency: Section 609 Technician Training and Certification Programs
  3. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  4. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  5. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  6. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  8. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  9. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  10. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List