Administrative assistant training in Minneapolis, Minnesota
21 administrative assistant programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
7 schools offer these administrative assistant programs with classes in the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington area, and every one is approved for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did. One school runs 10 of these 21 programs, so the typical figures lean heavily on its prices and results.
Secretaries and administrative assistants do routine clerical and organizational work: answering phones, scheduling appointments, preparing documents and keeping files. High school graduates comfortable with word processing and spreadsheets typically qualify and learn the job in a few weeks of on-the-job training; some community colleges and technical schools offer courses in office procedures.1
In Minneapolis, 2 of the 21 programs take students without a high school diploma and 19 ask for a diploma or equivalent.
By kind, the 21 programs here are administrative assistant or office certificate (10 programs), microsoft Office and Excel course (5 programs), office administration (associate degree, 5 programs) and computer basics and digital literacy course (1 program).
See the 21 programsAll 68 administrative assistant programs in Minnesota, including online programs
How much does administrative assistant training cost in Minneapolis?
- Certificates and short courses (16 programs)
- $2,551 to $5,613most of them, usually 30 to 60 weeks long
- Two-year degrees (5 programs)
- $9,683 to $9,992most of them, usually 120 weeks long
What you pay yourself for the whole program, as the schools report it. "Most" is the middle half of the programs with a price.
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 52%
- Working 6 months later
- 74%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $31,400
- Length
- 30 to 60 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Minneapolis may also offer administrative assistant training. How these figures are made
All 21 administrative assistant programs in Minneapolis approved for WIOA funding
Filters
21 programs
Microsoft Generalist
Hennepin Technical College
Brooklyn Park
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$15,800Price if you pay yourself$1,775Program website, Microsoft Generalist at Hennepin Technical CollegeMore details about Microsoft Generalist at Hennepin Technical College
- Finished
- 68%
- Working at 6 months
- 38%
- Earned in a quarter
- $3,959
- Length
- 30 weeks, 11 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 117
- Earned a year, estimated
- $15,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,775
Microsoft Generalist
Hennepin Technical College
Eden Prairie
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$15,800Price if you pay yourself$1,775Program website, Microsoft Generalist at Hennepin Technical CollegeMore details about Microsoft Generalist at Hennepin Technical College
- Finished
- 68%
- Working at 6 months
- 38%
- Earned in a quarter
- $3,959
- Length
- 30 weeks, 11 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 117
- Earned a year, estimated
- $15,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,775
Administrative Assistant
Century College
White Bear Lake
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$35,200Price if you pay yourself$9,924Program website, Administrative Assistant at Century CollegeMore details about Administrative Assistant at Century College
- Finished
- 39%
- Working at 6 months
- 72%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,805
- Length
- 120 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 98
- Earned a year, estimated
- $35,200
- Price if you pay yourself
- $9,924
Computer Skills
Century College
White Bear Lake
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$29,500Price if you pay yourself$1,654Program website, Computer Skills at Century CollegeMore details about Computer Skills at Century College
- Finished
- 84%
- Working at 6 months
- 51%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,364
- Length
- 30 weeks, 10 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 75
- Earned a year, estimated
- $29,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,654
Software Applications
Century College
White Bear Lake
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$29,500Price if you pay yourself$2,646Program website, Software Applications at Century CollegeMore details about Software Applications at Century College
- Finished
- 84%
- Working at 6 months
- 51%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,364
- Length
- 30 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 75
- Earned a year, estimated
- $29,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,646
Office Management Professional
Saint Paul College
St. Paul
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$41,200Price if you pay yourself$9,992Program website, Office Management Professional at Saint Paul CollegeMore details about Office Management Professional at Saint Paul College
- Finished
- 40%
- Working at 6 months
- 67%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,295
- Length
- 120 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 57
- Earned a year, estimated
- $41,200
- Price if you pay yourself
- $9,992
Office Assistant
Century College
White Bear Lake
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$31,200Price if you pay yourself$4,962Program website, Office Assistant at Century CollegeMore details about Office Assistant at Century College
- Finished
- 64%
- Working at 6 months
- 76%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,800
- Length
- 60 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 42
- Earned a year, estimated
- $31,200
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,962
Office Support
Century College
White Bear Lake
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$31,200Price if you pay yourself$7,939Program website, Office Support at Century CollegeMore details about Office Support at Century College
- Finished
- 64%
- Working at 6 months
- 76%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,800
- Length
- 60 weeks, 48 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 42
- Earned a year, estimated
- $31,200
- Price if you pay yourself
- $7,939
Organizational Assistant
Hennepin Technical College
Eden Prairie
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$45,300Price if you pay yourself$4,841Program website, Organizational Assistant at Hennepin Technical CollegeMore details about Organizational Assistant at Hennepin Technical College
- Finished
- 19%
- Working at 6 months
- 74%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,336
- Length
- 60 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 29
- Earned a year, estimated
- $45,300
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,841
Organizational Assistant
Hennepin Technical College
Brooklyn Park
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$45,300Price if you pay yourself$4,841Program website, Organizational Assistant at Hennepin Technical CollegeMore details about Organizational Assistant at Hennepin Technical College
- Finished
- 19%
- Working at 6 months
- 74%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,336
- Length
- 60 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 29
- Earned a year, estimated
- $45,300
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,841
Organizational Specialist
Hennepin Technical College
Brooklyn Park
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$45,300Price if you pay yourself$7,262Program website, Organizational Specialist at Hennepin Technical CollegeMore details about Organizational Specialist at Hennepin Technical College
- Finished
- 19%
- Working at 6 months
- 74%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,336
- Length
- 60 weeks, 45 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 29
- Earned a year, estimated
- $45,300
- Price if you pay yourself
- $7,262
Organizational Specialist
Hennepin Technical College
Eden Prairie
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$45,300Price if you pay yourself$7,262Program website, Organizational Specialist at Hennepin Technical CollegeMore details about Organizational Specialist at Hennepin Technical College
- Finished
- 19%
- Working at 6 months
- 74%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,336
- Length
- 60 weeks, 45 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 29
- Earned a year, estimated
- $45,300
- Price if you pay yourself
- $7,262
Executive Administrative Specialist
Dakota County Technical College
Rosemount
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$26,000Price if you pay yourself$10,440Program website, Executive Administrative Specialist at Dakota County Technical CollegeMore details about Executive Administrative Specialist at Dakota County Technical College
- Finished
- 67%
- Working at 6 months
- 73%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,510
- Length
- 120 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 28
- Earned a year, estimated
- $26,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $10,440
Organizational Support
Hennepin Technical College
Eden Prairie
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$31,700Price if you pay yourself$9,683Program website, Organizational Support at Hennepin Technical CollegeMore details about Organizational Support at Hennepin Technical College
- Finished
- 25%
- Working at 6 months
- 92%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,924
- Length
- 120 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 27
- Earned a year, estimated
- $31,700
- Price if you pay yourself
- $9,683
Organizational Support
Hennepin Technical College
Brooklyn Park
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$31,700Price if you pay yourself$9,683Program website, Organizational Support at Hennepin Technical CollegeMore details about Organizational Support at Hennepin Technical College
- Finished
- 25%
- Working at 6 months
- 92%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,924
- Length
- 120 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 27
- Earned a year, estimated
- $31,700
- Price if you pay yourself
- $9,683
Administrative Assistant
Dakota County Technical College
Rosemount
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$28,300Price if you pay yourself$6,264Program website, Administrative Assistant at Dakota County Technical CollegeMore details about Administrative Assistant at Dakota County Technical College
- Finished
- 69%
- Working at 6 months
- 69%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,065
- Length
- 60 weeks, 36 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 17
- Earned a year, estimated
- $28,300
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,264
Office Technology
Inver Hills Community College
Inver Grove Heights
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,456Program website, Office Technology at Inver Hills Community CollegeMore details about Office Technology at Inver Hills Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 30 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,456
Office Support Specialist Training Program
Avivo Institute of Career and Technical Education
Minneapolis
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,652Program website, Office Support Specialist Training Program at Avivo Institute of Career and Technical EducationMore details about Office Support Specialist Training Program at Avivo Institute of Career and Technical Education
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 15 weeks, 7 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,652
Microsoft Applications
Hennepin Technical College
Eden Prairie
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,228Program website, Microsoft Applications at Hennepin Technical CollegeMore details about Microsoft Applications at Hennepin Technical College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 30 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,228
Microsoft Applications
Hennepin Technical College
Brooklyn Park
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,228Program website, Microsoft Applications at Hennepin Technical CollegeMore details about Microsoft Applications at Hennepin Technical College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 30 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,228
Seasonal Office Specialist
Project for Pride in Living
Minneapolis
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfNot reportedProgram website, Seasonal Office Specialist at Project for Pride in LivingMore details about Seasonal Office Specialist at Project for Pride in Living
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 15 weeks, 18 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Not reported
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for administrative assistant training in Minneapolis
WIOA funding can pay for administrative assistant training in Minneapolis
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for administrative assistant training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for administrative assistant training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Other training in Minneapolis
How administrative assistant training compares with the rest of business and office work across Minnesota: Business and office training in Minnesota
- CDL training14 programs
- CNA classes10 programs
- Welding classes19 programs
- HVAC training17 programs
- EMT classes15 programs
- Auto mechanic classes20 programs
- CNC machinist training16 programs
- Cybersecurity training43 programs
- IT training108 programs
- Esthetician school10 programs
- Fire academy12 programs
- Police academy4 programs
- Culinary school14 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training20 programs
- Industrial maintenance technician training22 programs
- Coding and software development courses24 programs
- Data analytics courses31 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses27 programs
- Digital marketing courses12 programs
- Web and graphic design courses33 programs
- Manufacturing technician training13 programs
- Electronics technician training12 programs
- Business administration programs29 programs
- Auto body repair classes19 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes35 programs
- RN programs17 programs
- Project management certification33 programs
Where the Minneapolis administrative assistant program numbers come from
Which Minneapolis administrative assistant programs are on this list?
These are the administrative assistant programs with classes in the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington area that are approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Online programs are left out here; they are on the Minnesota page. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what the area offers.
How the prices and results of Minneapolis administrative assistant programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Sources for the facts about administrative assistant training in Minneapolis
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Secretaries and Administrative Assistants
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List