Accounting and bookkeeping classes in Minneapolis, Minnesota
29 accounting and bookkeeping programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
9 schools offer these accounting and bookkeeping programs with classes in the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington area, and every one is approved for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Bookkeeping and accounting clerks record and check financial data so an organization keeps complete, accurate books. Some employers want college classes or a degree in accounting, others hire people with a high school diploma and train them on the job; certification is not usually required.1 In Minneapolis, 4 of the 29 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 3 are taught partly or fully online.
See the 29 programsAll 83 accounting and bookkeeping programs in Minnesota, including online programs
How much do accounting and bookkeeping classes cost in Minneapolis?
- Certificates and short courses (17 programs)
- $2,500 to $5,003most of them, usually 30 to 60 weeks long
- Two-year degrees (12 programs)
- $9,683 to $10,074most of them, usually 120 weeks long
What you pay yourself for the whole program, as the schools report it. "Most" is the middle half of the programs with a price.
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 35%
- Working 6 months later
- 80%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $36,900
- Length
- 30 to 120 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Minneapolis may also offer accounting and bookkeeping classes. How these figures are made
All 29 accounting and bookkeeping programs in Minneapolis approved for WIOA funding
Filters
29 programs
Accounting Transfer Pathway
Normandale Community College
Bloomington
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$32,100Price if you pay yourself$9,979Program website, Accounting Transfer Pathway at Normandale Community CollegeMore details about Accounting Transfer Pathway at Normandale Community College
- Finished
- 29%
- Working at 6 months
- 75%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,036
- Length
- 120 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 649
- a year, estimated
- $32,100
- price
- $9,979
Accounting
Century College
White Bear Lake
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$36,200Price if you pay yourself$9,924Program website, Accounting at Century CollegeMore details about Accounting at Century College
- Finished
- 33%
- Working at 6 months
- 77%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,052
- Length
- 120 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 526
- a year, estimated
- $36,200
- price
- $9,924
Accounting Transfer Pathway
Century College
White Bear Lake
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$36,200Price if you pay yourself$9,924Program website, Accounting Transfer Pathway at Century CollegeMore details about Accounting Transfer Pathway at Century College
- Finished
- 33%
- Working at 6 months
- 77%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,052
- Length
- 120 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 526
- a year, estimated
- $36,200
- price
- $9,924
Accounting
Saint Paul College
St. Paul
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$33,600Price if you pay yourself$9,992Program website, Accounting at Saint Paul CollegeMore details about Accounting at Saint Paul College
- Finished
- 35%
- Working at 6 months
- 73%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,390
- Length
- 120 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 309
Listed 2 times in the state's file with differing results. Shown: the listing with the most students.
- a year, estimated
- $33,600
- price
- $9,992
Accounting
Hennepin Technical College
Eden Prairie
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$39,500Price if you pay yourself$9,683Program website, Accounting at Hennepin Technical CollegeMore details about Accounting at Hennepin Technical College
- Finished
- 33%
- Working at 6 months
- 82%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,886
- Length
- 120 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 306
- a year, estimated
- $39,500
- price
- $9,683
Accounting
Hennepin Technical College
Brooklyn Park
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$39,500Price if you pay yourself$9,683Program website, Accounting at Hennepin Technical CollegeMore details about Accounting at Hennepin Technical College
- Finished
- 33%
- Working at 6 months
- 82%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,886
- Length
- 120 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 306
- a year, estimated
- $39,500
- price
- $9,683
Accounting Transfer Pathway
Hennepin Technical College
Eden Prairie
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$39,500Price if you pay yourself$9,683Program website, Accounting Transfer Pathway at Hennepin Technical CollegeMore details about Accounting Transfer Pathway at Hennepin Technical College
- Finished
- 33%
- Working at 6 months
- 82%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,886
- Length
- 120 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 306
- a year, estimated
- $39,500
- price
- $9,683
Accounting/Management Information Systems
Hennepin Technical College
Eden Prairie
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$39,500Price if you pay yourself$10,322Program website, Accounting/Management Information Systems at Hennepin Technical CollegeMore details about Accounting/Management Information Systems at Hennepin Technical College
- Finished
- 33%
- Working at 6 months
- 82%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,886
- Length
- 120 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 306
- a year, estimated
- $39,500
- price
- $10,322
Accounting/Management Information Systems
Hennepin Technical College
Brooklyn Park
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$39,500Price if you pay yourself$10,322Program website, Accounting/Management Information Systems at Hennepin Technical CollegeMore details about Accounting/Management Information Systems at Hennepin Technical College
- Finished
- 33%
- Working at 6 months
- 82%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,886
- Length
- 120 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 306
- a year, estimated
- $39,500
- price
- $10,322
Accounting Transfer Pathway
Minneapolis Community and Technical College
Minneapolis
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$30,600Price if you pay yourself$9,594Program website, Accounting Transfer Pathway at Minneapolis Community and Technical CollegeMore details about Accounting Transfer Pathway at Minneapolis Community and Technical College
- Finished
- 31%
- Working at 6 months
- 71%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,639
- Length
- 120 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 260
- a year, estimated
- $30,600
- price
- $9,594
Accountant
Dakota County Technical College
Rosemount
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$41,800Price if you pay yourself$10,440Program website, Accountant at Dakota County Technical CollegeMore details about Accountant at Dakota County Technical College
- Finished
- 56%
- Working at 6 months
- 80%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,449
- Length
- 120 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 260
Listed 2 times in the state's file with differing results. Shown: the listing with the most students.
- a year, estimated
- $41,800
- price
- $10,440
Accounting Transfer Pathway
Inver Hills Community College
Inver Grove Heights
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$34,000Price if you pay yourself$9,825Program website, Accounting Transfer Pathway at Inver Hills Community CollegeMore details about Accounting Transfer Pathway at Inver Hills Community College
- Finished
- 26%
- Working at 6 months
- 74%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,495
- Length
- 120 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 253
- a year, estimated
- $34,000
- price
- $9,825
Accounting
Hennepin Technical College
Brooklyn Park
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$39,000Price if you pay yourself$2,743Program website, Accounting at Hennepin Technical CollegeMore details about Accounting at Hennepin Technical College
- Finished
- 64%
- Working at 6 months
- 81%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,743
- Length
- 30 weeks, 17 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 168
- a year, estimated
- $39,000
- price
- $2,743
Accounting
Hennepin Technical College
Eden Prairie
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$39,000Price if you pay yourself$2,743Program website, Accounting at Hennepin Technical CollegeMore details about Accounting at Hennepin Technical College
- Finished
- 64%
- Working at 6 months
- 81%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,743
- Length
- 30 weeks, 17 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 168
- a year, estimated
- $39,000
- price
- $2,743
Accounting Technician
Hennepin Technical College
Brooklyn Park
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$39,000Price if you pay yourself$5,003Program website, Accounting Technician at Hennepin Technical CollegeMore details about Accounting Technician at Hennepin Technical College
- Finished
- 64%
- Working at 6 months
- 81%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,743
- Length
- 60 weeks, 31 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 168
- a year, estimated
- $39,000
- price
- $5,003
Accounting Technician
Hennepin Technical College
Eden Prairie
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$39,000Price if you pay yourself$5,003Program website, Accounting Technician at Hennepin Technical CollegeMore details about Accounting Technician at Hennepin Technical College
- Finished
- 64%
- Working at 6 months
- 81%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,743
- Length
- 60 weeks, 31 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 168
- a year, estimated
- $39,000
- price
- $5,003
Accounting
Normandale Community College
Bloomington
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$29,000Price if you pay yourself$2,827Program website, Accounting at Normandale Community CollegeMore details about Accounting at Normandale Community College
- Finished
- 37%
- Working at 6 months
- 70%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,261
- Length
- 30 weeks, 17 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 162
- a year, estimated
- $29,000
- price
- $2,827
Accounting Clerk
Century College
White Bear Lake
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$36,900Price if you pay yourself$1,489Program website, Accounting Clerk at Century CollegeMore details about Accounting Clerk at Century College
- Finished
- 83%
- Working at 6 months
- 80%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,233
- Length
- 30 weeks, 9 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 147
- a year, estimated
- $36,900
- price
- $1,489
Accounting Technician
Century College
White Bear Lake
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$36,900Price if you pay yourself$4,962Program website, Accounting Technician at Century CollegeMore details about Accounting Technician at Century College
- Finished
- 83%
- Working at 6 months
- 80%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,233
- Length
- 60 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 147
- a year, estimated
- $36,900
- price
- $4,962
Accounts Payable/Receivable
Minneapolis Community and Technical College
Minneapolis
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$32,400Price if you pay yourself$2,878Program website, Accounts Payable/Receivable at Minneapolis Community and Technical CollegeMore details about Accounts Payable/Receivable at Minneapolis Community and Technical College
- Finished
- 48%
- Working at 6 months
- 73%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,096
- Length
- 30 weeks, 18 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 123
- a year, estimated
- $32,400
- price
- $2,878
Accounting
Minneapolis Community and Technical College
Minneapolis
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$32,400Price if you pay yourself$6,556Program website, Accounting at Minneapolis Community and Technical CollegeMore details about Accounting at Minneapolis Community and Technical College
- Finished
- 48%
- Working at 6 months
- 73%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,096
- Length
- 60 weeks, 41 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 123
- a year, estimated
- $32,400
- price
- $6,556
Accountant
Century College
White Bear Lake
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$35,800Price if you pay yourself$7,443Program website, Accountant at Century CollegeMore details about Accountant at Century College
- Finished
- 56%
- Working at 6 months
- 89%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,944
- Length
- 60 weeks, 45 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 86
- a year, estimated
- $35,800
- price
- $7,443
Small Business Accounting
Dakota County Technical College
Rosemount
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$33,800Price if you pay yourself$2,784Program website, Small Business Accounting at Dakota County Technical CollegeMore details about Small Business Accounting at Dakota County Technical College
- Finished
- 35%
- Working at 6 months
- 80%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,443
- Length
- 30 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 68
- a year, estimated
- $33,800
- price
- $2,784
Accounting Technician
Saint Paul College
St. Paul
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$46,000Price if you pay yourself$6,329Program website, Accounting Technician at Saint Paul CollegeMore details about Accounting Technician at Saint Paul College
- Finished
- 35%
- Working at 6 months
- 65%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,497
- Length
- 60 weeks, 38 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 30
- a year, estimated
- $46,000
- price
- $6,329
Accounting Clerk
Dakota County Technical College
Rosemount
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$36,100Price if you pay yourself$5,568Program website, Accounting Clerk at Dakota County Technical CollegeMore details about Accounting Clerk at Dakota County Technical College
- Finished
- 75%
- Working at 6 months
- 67%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,021
- Length
- 60 weeks, 32 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 16
- a year, estimated
- $36,100
- price
- $5,568
Quickbooks Certified User Desktop
Crescent Training Inc dba Crescent Career Center
Eagan
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,782Program website, Quickbooks Certified User Desktop at Crescent Training Inc dba Crescent Career CenterMore details about Quickbooks Certified User Desktop at Crescent Training Inc dba Crescent Career Center
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 15 weeks, 32 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $195
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,782
60 Day Learning Pass | QuickBooks Bookkeeping/Accounting (QuickBooks User Certification)
Bravura Training
Roseville
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,500Program website, 60 Day Learning Pass | QuickBooks Bookkeeping/Accounting (QuickBooks User Certification) at Bravura TrainingMore details about 60 Day Learning Pass | QuickBooks Bookkeeping/Accounting (QuickBooks User Certification) at Bravura Training
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 15 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,500
60 Day Learning Pass | QuickBooks Bookkeeping/Accounting (QuickBooks User Certification)
Bravura Training
Minnetonka
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,500Program website, 60 Day Learning Pass | QuickBooks Bookkeeping/Accounting (QuickBooks User Certification) at Bravura TrainingMore details about 60 Day Learning Pass | QuickBooks Bookkeeping/Accounting (QuickBooks User Certification) at Bravura Training
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 15 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,500
60 Day Learning Pass | QuickBooks Bookkeeping/Accounting (QuickBooks User Certification)
Bravura Training
St. Louis Park
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,500Program website, 60 Day Learning Pass | QuickBooks Bookkeeping/Accounting (QuickBooks User Certification) at Bravura TrainingMore details about 60 Day Learning Pass | QuickBooks Bookkeeping/Accounting (QuickBooks User Certification) at Bravura Training
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 15 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,500
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for accounting and bookkeeping classes in Minneapolis
WIOA funding can pay for accounting and bookkeeping classes in Minneapolis
Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5
Financial aid and grants for accounting and bookkeeping classes
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for accounting and bookkeeping classes
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Does WIOA pay for job training? Who qualifies and how to apply
Where the Minneapolis accounting and bookkeeping program numbers come from
Which Minneapolis accounting and bookkeeping programs are on this list?
These are the accounting and bookkeeping programs with classes in the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington area that are approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Online programs are left out here; they are on the Minnesota page. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what the area offers.
How Minneapolis accounting and bookkeeping program prices are reported
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.
What the graduate results of these programs measure
The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.
Why do some accounting and bookkeeping programs say "Not reported"?
Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.
Why the kind of school is left off each program
The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.
Other training in Minneapolis
- CDL training14 programs
- CNA classes10 programs
- Welding classes18 programs
- HVAC training17 programs
- Auto mechanic classes20 programs
- CNC machinist training16 programs
- Cybersecurity training35 programs
- IT training79 programs
- Esthetician school10 programs
- RN programs17 programs
- Project management certification31 programs
Sources for the facts about accounting and bookkeeping classes in Minneapolis
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Bookkeeping, Accounting, and Auditing Clerks
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List