Welding classes in Connecticut
5 welding programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
3 schools offer these welding programs, and Connecticut has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Welders join and cut metal parts with hand-held or remotely controlled equipment. Most have a high school diploma plus technical training, and some employers ask for a certification for particular jobs.1 In Connecticut, 4 of the 5 programs take students without a high school diploma.
See the 5 programsHow much do welding classes cost in Connecticut?
$4,600 to $4,600
is what most programs cost if you pay yourself
All 5 programs with a price: $4,600 to $7,583
- Finished the program
- Not reported
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Length
- 8 to 16 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). How these figures are made
All 5 welding programs in Connecticut approved for funding
Filters
5 programs
Manufacturing Pipeline - Introduction to Welding
Three Rivers Community College, Norwich
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$43,600Price if you pay yourself$7,583Program website, Manufacturing Pipeline - Introduction to Welding at Three Rivers Community CollegeMore details about Manufacturing Pipeline - Introduction to Welding at Three Rivers Community College
- Finished
- 78%
- Working at 6 months
- 90%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,905
- Length
- 10 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 122
- a year, estimated
- $43,600
- price
- $7,583
Gas Tungsten Arc Welding Certificate (GTAW)-TIG
Naugatuck Valley Community College, Waterbury
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$34,300Price if you pay yourself$4,600Program website, Gas Tungsten Arc Welding Certificate (GTAW)-TIG at Naugatuck Valley Community CollegeMore details about Gas Tungsten Arc Welding Certificate (GTAW)-TIG at Naugatuck Valley Community College
- Finished
- 92%
- Working at 6 months
- 83%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,571
- Length
- 8 weeks, 13 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 55
- a year, estimated
- $34,300
- price
- $4,600
Gas Metal Arc Welding Certificate (GMAW) MIG
Naugatuck Valley Community College, Waterbury
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$41,800Price if you pay yourself$4,600Program website, Gas Metal Arc Welding Certificate (GMAW) MIG at Naugatuck Valley Community CollegeMore details about Gas Metal Arc Welding Certificate (GMAW) MIG at Naugatuck Valley Community College
- Finished
- 97%
- Working at 6 months
- 73%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,456
- Length
- 6 weeks, 17 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 54
- a year, estimated
- $41,800
- price
- $4,600
Gas Tungsten Arc Welding Certificate (GTAW)-TIG
CT State Community College, New Britain
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,600Program website, Gas Tungsten Arc Welding Certificate (GTAW)-TIG at CT State Community CollegeMore details about Gas Tungsten Arc Welding Certificate (GTAW)-TIG at CT State Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 16 weeks, 6 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 25
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $4,600
Gas Metal Arc Welding Certificate (GMAW) MIG
CT State Community College, New Britain
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,600School website, Gas Metal Arc Welding Certificate (GMAW) MIG at CT State Community CollegeMore details about Gas Metal Arc Welding Certificate (GMAW) MIG at CT State Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 16 weeks, 7 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 18
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $4,600
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for welding classes in Connecticut
Workforce funding can pay for welding classes in Connecticut
Every program on this page is approved for public workforce funding, the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).4
Financial aid and grants for welding classes
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.56
GI Bill for welding classes
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.7
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Where the Connecticut welding program numbers come from
Which Connecticut welding programs are on this list?
These are the welding programs Connecticut approved for public workforce funding (the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). The list covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Connecticut offers.
How Connecticut welding program prices are reported
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.
What the graduate results of these programs measure
The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.
Why do some welding programs say "Not reported"?
Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.
Why the kind of school is left off each program
The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.
Sources for the facts about welding classes in Connecticut
Show the 7 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Welders, Cutters, Solderers, and Brazers
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs