Welding classes in New Mexico
23 welding programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
14 schools offer these welding programs, and New Mexico has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Welders join and cut metal parts with hand-held or remotely controlled equipment. Most have a high school diploma plus technical training, and some employers ask for a certification for particular jobs.1 In New Mexico, 2 of the 23 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 4 are taught partly or fully online.
See the 23 programsHow much do welding classes cost in New Mexico?
$3,602 to $5,523
is what most programs cost if you pay yourself
All 23 programs with a price: $1,452 to $7,312
- Finished the program
- 100%
- Working 6 months later
- 54%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $34,600
- Length
- 32 to 64 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). How these figures are made
Welding classes in Albuquerque, Farmington, Roswell and other New Mexico cities
Choosing an area filters the list below. 7 more programs are in 6 other areas, 1 in smaller cities and towns.
All 23 welding programs in New Mexico approved for funding
Filters
23 programs
Welding Technology Certificate (CNM)
Central New Mexico Community College -Central-C01, Albuquerque
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimated$34,600Price if you pay yourself$4,344Program website, Welding Technology Certificate (CNM) at Central New Mexico Community College -Central-C01More details about Welding Technology Certificate (CNM) at Central New Mexico Community College -Central-C01
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 65%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,645
- Length
- 48 weeks, 7 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,196
- Students counted
- 884
- a year, estimated
- $34,600
- price
- $4,344
Welding, Welding Technology-AAS (CNM)
Central New Mexico Community College -Central-C01, Albuquerque
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$34,600Price if you pay yourself$5,993Program website, Welding, Welding Technology-AAS (CNM) at Central New Mexico Community College -Central-C01More details about Welding, Welding Technology-AAS (CNM) at Central New Mexico Community College -Central-C01
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 65%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,645
- Length
- 64 weeks, 14 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $3,788
- Students counted
- 884
- a year, estimated
- $34,600
- price
- $5,993
Welding Technology - Associates of Applied Sceince
University of NM - Gallup-North-C26, Gallup
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$30,700Price if you pay yourself$5,600Program website, Welding Technology - Associates of Applied Sceince at University of NM - Gallup-North-C26More details about Welding Technology - Associates of Applied Sceince at University of NM - Gallup-North-C26
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 50%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,664
- Length
- 80 weeks, 27 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,150
- Students counted
- 524
- a year, estimated
- $30,700
- price
- $5,600
Welding Technology - Associate of Applied Science
Dona Ana Community College of NMSU - C16, Las Cruces
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$27,200Price if you pay yourself$3,552Program website, Welding Technology - Associate of Applied Science at Dona Ana Community College of NMSU - C16More details about Welding Technology - Associate of Applied Science at Dona Ana Community College of NMSU - C16
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 62%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,802
- Length
- 104 weeks, 25 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,950
- Students counted
- 294
- a year, estimated
- $27,200
- price
- $3,552
Welding Technology - Certificate of Completion
Dona Ana Community College of NMSU - C16, Las Cruces
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$27,200Price if you pay yourself$4,250Program website, Welding Technology - Certificate of Completion at Dona Ana Community College of NMSU - C16More details about Welding Technology - Certificate of Completion at Dona Ana Community College of NMSU - C16
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 62%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,802
- Length
- 60 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,500
- Students counted
- 294
- a year, estimated
- $27,200
- price
- $4,250
Welder/Welding Technologist AS Degree PROG 2166
New Mexico Junior College, Hobbs
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$49,300Price if you pay yourself$6,421Program website, Welder/Welding Technologist AS Degree PROG 2166 at New Mexico Junior CollegeMore details about Welder/Welding Technologist AS Degree PROG 2166 at New Mexico Junior College
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 79%
- Earned in a quarter
- $12,316
- Length
- 64 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $7,995
- Students counted
- 275
- a year, estimated
- $49,300
- price
- $6,421
Welding Certificate-Advanced
San Juan College-North-C29, Farmington
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$39,800Price if you pay yourself$4,775Program website, Welding Certificate-Advanced at San Juan College-North-C29More details about Welding Certificate-Advanced at San Juan College-North-C29
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 51%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,958
- Length
- 64 weeks, 25 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,050
- Students counted
- 218
- a year, estimated
- $39,800
- price
- $4,775
Workforce - Welding Academy
San Juan College-North-C29, Farmington
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$39,800Price if you pay yourself$4,846Program website, Workforce - Welding Academy at San Juan College-North-C29More details about Workforce - Welding Academy at San Juan College-North-C29
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 51%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,958
- Length
- 32 weeks, 22 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,000
- Students counted
- 218
- a year, estimated
- $39,800
- price
- $4,846
Welding A.A.S
San Juan College-North-C29, Farmington
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$39,800Price if you pay yourself$5,895Program website, Welding A.A.S at San Juan College-North-C29More details about Welding A.A.S at San Juan College-North-C29
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 51%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,958
- Length
- 64 weeks, 22 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,850
- Students counted
- 218
- a year, estimated
- $39,800
- price
- $5,895
Certificate in Welding
New Mexico Junior College, Hobbs
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$45,000Price if you pay yourself$3,625Program website, Certificate in Welding at New Mexico Junior CollegeMore details about Certificate in Welding at New Mexico Junior College
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 74%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,259
- Length
- 32 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,950
- Students counted
- 185
- a year, estimated
- $45,000
- price
- $3,625
Welding Technology - Advanced COE
Eastern New Mexico University - Roswell C04, Roswell
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$29,100Price if you pay yourself$3,200Program website, Welding Technology - Advanced COE at Eastern New Mexico University - Roswell C04More details about Welding Technology - Advanced COE at Eastern New Mexico University - Roswell C04
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 43%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,278
- Length
- 40 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,150
- Students counted
- 184
- a year, estimated
- $29,100
- price
- $3,200
Welding Technology - Basic COE
Eastern New Mexico University - Roswell C04, Roswell
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$29,100Price if you pay yourself$3,750Program website, Welding Technology - Basic COE at Eastern New Mexico University - Roswell C04More details about Welding Technology - Basic COE at Eastern New Mexico University - Roswell C04
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 43%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,278
- Length
- 16 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $5,350
- Students counted
- 184
- a year, estimated
- $29,100
- price
- $3,750
Welding Technology AAS
Eastern New Mexico University - Roswell C04, Roswell
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$29,100Price if you pay yourself$5,400Program website, Welding Technology AAS at Eastern New Mexico University - Roswell C04More details about Welding Technology AAS at Eastern New Mexico University - Roswell C04
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 43%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,278
- Length
- 64 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $6,550
- Students counted
- 184
- a year, estimated
- $29,100
- price
- $5,400
Welding Certificate
Santa Fe Community College-North-C24, Santa Fe
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$37,600Price if you pay yourself$3,578Program website, Welding Certificate at Santa Fe Community College-North-C24More details about Welding Certificate at Santa Fe Community College-North-C24
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 51%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,389
- Length
- 48 weeks, 10 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,320
- Students counted
- 172
- a year, estimated
- $37,600
- price
- $3,578
Associate in Applied Science Welding Technologies
Santa Fe Community College-North-C24, Santa Fe
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$39,200Price if you pay yourself$5,446Program website, Associate in Applied Science Welding Technologies at Santa Fe Community College-North-C24More details about Associate in Applied Science Welding Technologies at Santa Fe Community College-North-C24
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 54%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,811
- Length
- 104 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,909
- Students counted
- 140
- a year, estimated
- $39,200
- price
- $5,446
Welder/Welding Technologist - AS Degree PROG 466
Clovis Community College C03, Clovis
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$24,800Price if you pay yourself$4,109Program website, Welder/Welding Technologist - AS Degree PROG 466 at Clovis Community College C03More details about Welder/Welding Technologist - AS Degree PROG 466 at Clovis Community College C03
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 45%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,210
- Length
- 104 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $4,050
- Students counted
- 87
- a year, estimated
- $24,800
- price
- $4,109
Welder/Welding Technologist
Luna Community College-North-C09, Las Vegas
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$44,500Price if you pay yourself$2,608Program website, Welder/Welding Technologist at Luna Community College-North-C09More details about Welder/Welding Technologist at Luna Community College-North-C09
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,116
- Length
- 48 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,963
- Students counted
- 78
- a year, estimated
- $44,500
- price
- $2,608
Welding - Associate of Applied Science
NM State University - Grants - C32, Grants
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$19,000Price if you pay yourself$5,979Program website, Welding - Associate of Applied Science at NM State University - Grants - C32More details about Welding - Associate of Applied Science at NM State University - Grants - C32
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 64%
- Earned in a quarter
- $4,740
- Length
- 64 weeks, 22 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $3,255
- Students counted
- 45
- a year, estimated
- $19,000
- price
- $5,979
Welding Certificate
New Mexico State University, Alamogordo
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$27,800Price if you pay yourself$4,000Program website, Welding Certificate at New Mexico State UniversityMore details about Welding Certificate at New Mexico State University
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 83%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,938
- Length
- 32 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $3,000
- Students counted
- 39
- a year, estimated
- $27,800
- price
- $4,000
Welder/Welding Technologist CERT PROG 2131
Eastern New Mexico University - Ruidoso C325 East, Ruidoso
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,452Program website, Welder/Welding Technologist CERT PROG 2131 at Eastern New Mexico University - Ruidoso C325 EastMore details about Welder/Welding Technologist CERT PROG 2131 at Eastern New Mexico University - Ruidoso C325 East
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 32 weeks, 7 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,086
- Students counted
- 23
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,452
Certificate in Welding Technology
University of New Mexico, Valencia Campus -Central-C27, Los Lunas
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,060Program website, Certificate in Welding Technology at University of New Mexico, Valencia Campus -Central-C27More details about Certificate in Welding Technology at University of New Mexico, Valencia Campus -Central-C27
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 48 weeks, 7 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $600
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $3,060
Welder/Welding Technologist Certificate Program PROG 304
Southeast New Mexico College, Carlsbad
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,388Program website, Welder/Welding Technologist Certificate Program PROG 304 at Southeast New Mexico CollegeMore details about Welder/Welding Technologist Certificate Program PROG 304 at Southeast New Mexico College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 9 weeks, 22 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,044
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $4,388
Welder/Welding Technologist AS Degree PROG 1003
Southeast New Mexico College, Carlsbad
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$7,313Program website, Welder/Welding Technologist AS Degree PROG 1003 at Southeast New Mexico CollegeMore details about Welder/Welding Technologist AS Degree PROG 1003 at Southeast New Mexico College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 20 weeks, 22 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $3,875
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $7,313
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for welding classes in New Mexico
Workforce funding can pay for welding classes in New Mexico
Every program on this page is approved for public workforce funding, the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).4
Financial aid and grants for welding classes
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.56
GI Bill for welding classes
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.7
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Where the New Mexico welding program numbers come from
Which New Mexico welding programs are on this list?
These are the welding programs New Mexico approved for public workforce funding (the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). The list covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what New Mexico offers.
How New Mexico welding program prices are reported
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.
What the graduate results of these programs measure
The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.
Why do some welding programs say "Not reported"?
Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.
Why the kind of school is left off each program
The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.
Sources for the facts about welding classes in New Mexico
Show the 7 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Welders, Cutters, Solderers, and Brazers
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs