Water treatment operator training in Colorado
4 water and wastewater programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
2 schools offer these water treatment programs, and Colorado has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Water and wastewater treatment plant and system operators run the machines that move and treat water. They typically need at least a high school diploma and long-term training on the job, and a state license is usually required; licenses have several levels, and employers may prefer applicants with a certificate or degree in a field such as water treatment technology.1 Under the federal Safe Drinking Water Act, every state must run a certification program for the operators of community water systems, or lose a fifth of its federal drinking water grant; the state sets the levels and exams.2
In Colorado, all 4 programs take students without a high school diploma.
By kind, the 4 programs here are operator exam prep or short course (3 programs) and water or wastewater operator certificate (1 program).
See the 4 programsHow much does water treatment operator training cost in Colorado?
$927 to $19,309
from the lowest-priced program to the highest, if you pay yourself
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- Not enough data
- 1 program reports it; a typical figure needs 5
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- None of the 4 programs report it
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- None of the 4 programs report it
- Length
- Not enough data
- 2 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Colorado may also offer water treatment operator training. How these figures are made
All 4 water and wastewater programs in Colorado approved for WIOA funding
Filters
4 programs
Water Quality Management Technology 2
Red Rocks Community College
Lakewood
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$9,341School website, Water Quality Management Technology 2 at Red Rocks Community CollegeMore details about Water Quality Management Technology 2 at Red Rocks Community College
- Finished
- 14%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Left out
- Cost of supplies
- $2,000
- Students counted
- 143
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $9,341
Water Quality Management Technology 1
Red Rocks Community College
Lakewood
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$927School website, Water Quality Management Technology 1 at Red Rocks Community CollegeMore details about Water Quality Management Technology 1 at Red Rocks Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 90 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $150
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $927
Water Quality Management Technology 3
Red Rocks Community College
Lakewood
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$927School website, Water Quality Management Technology 3 at Red Rocks Community CollegeMore details about Water Quality Management Technology 3 at Red Rocks Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 90 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $200
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $927
Water Quality Management
Western Colorado Community College
Grand Junction
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$19,309School website, Water Quality Management at Western Colorado Community CollegeMore details about Water Quality Management at Western Colorado Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $1,200
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $19,309
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for water treatment operator training in Colorado
WIOA funding can pay for water treatment operator training in Colorado
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for water treatment operator training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78
GI Bill for water treatment operator training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.9
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Water treatment operator training in Denver, Grand Junction and other Colorado cities
Choosing an area filters the program list above.
Other training in Colorado
How water treatment operator training compares with the rest of skilled trades: Trade school programs in Colorado
- CDL training32 programs
- CNA classes21 programs
- Medical assistant training26 programs
- Phlebotomy training13 programs
- Welding classes36 programs
- HVAC training5 programs
- Medical billing and coding training25 programs
- LPN programs4 programs
- EMT classes39 programs
- Electrician training7 programs
- Dental assistant programs16 programs
- Auto mechanic classes47 programs
- Pharmacy technician training13 programs
- Plumbing school2 programs
- CNC machinist training19 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training3 programs
- Diesel mechanic training10 programs
- Cybersecurity training34 programs
- IT training93 programs
- Cosmetology school4 programs
- Barber school4 programs
- Esthetician school5 programs
- Nail tech school3 programs
- EKG technician programs1 program
- Massage therapy school6 programs
- Paralegal programs16 programs
- Fire academy32 programs
- Police academy9 programs
- Surgical tech programs5 programs
- Radiology tech programs9 programs
- Culinary school28 programs
- PTA programs4 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training14 programs
- Human resources training2 programs
- Industrial maintenance technician training9 programs
- Early childhood education programs53 programs
- Aircraft mechanic school1 program
- Hospitality management programs17 programs
- Addiction counselor training8 programs
- Community health worker training1 program
- Coding and software development courses29 programs
- Lineman school6 programs
- Sterile processing technician training3 programs
- Sonography school5 programs
- Data analytics courses22 programs
- Administrative assistant training33 programs
- Respiratory therapy programs4 programs
- Medical lab technician programs4 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses23 programs
- Digital marketing courses9 programs
- Web and graphic design courses58 programs
- Health information technology programs8 programs
- Vet tech programs10 programs
- Real estate school5 programs
- Patient care technician training1 program
- OTA programs1 program
- Crane operator training2 programs
- Interpreter and translator training2 programs
- Healthcare administration programs2 programs
- Customer service training2 programs
- Flight school1 program
- RBT certification training2 programs
- Mental health technician training1 program
- Human services programs6 programs
- Manufacturing technician training11 programs
- Electronics technician training23 programs
- Business administration programs53 programs
- Criminal justice programs20 programs
- Teacher assistant certification2 programs
- Auto body repair classes14 programs
- Solar and wind technician training30 programs
- OSHA safety training2 programs
- Insurance license courses1 program
- Construction training programs16 programs
- Dental hygiene programs4 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes7 programs
- RN programs17 programs
- Project management certification19 programs
Where the Colorado water treatment program numbers come from
Which Colorado water treatment programs are on this list?
These are the water treatment programs Colorado approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).10 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Colorado offers.
How the prices and results of Colorado water treatment programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
How reliable are the Colorado figures?
The US Department of Labor's own results site lists Colorado among the states with "known data quality concerns".11 The figures here are shown as the state reported them; check them with the school before you enroll.
Sources for the facts about water treatment operator training in Colorado
Show the 11 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Water and Wastewater Treatment Plant and System Operators
- US Code: 42 U.S.C. 300g-8, operator certification
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: search page, note on states with known data quality concerns