HVAC training in Colorado
5 HVAC training programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
4 schools offer these HVAC programs, and Colorado has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
HVAC technicians work on heating, ventilation, cooling and refrigeration systems. Most train in a certificate program, which usually includes the EPA refrigerant exam that nearly all technicians must pass, and some states also require a license.1 In Colorado, 4 of the 5 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 3 are taught partly or fully online.
See the 5 programsHow much does HVAC training cost in Colorado?
$2,647 to $9,997
is what most programs cost if you pay yourself
All 5 programs with a price: $899 to $10,988
- Finished the program
- 27%
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported for most programs
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Colorado may also offer HVAC training. How these figures are made
HVAC training in Colorado Springs, Denver and other Colorado cities
Choosing an area filters the list below. 1 in smaller cities and towns.
All 5 HVAC training programs in Colorado approved for funding
Filters
5 programs
Heating Air Conditioning Refrigerationtechnology
Pikes Peak State College, Colorado Springs
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$52,200Price if you pay yourself$9,997School website, Heating Air Conditioning Refrigerationtechnology at Pikes Peak State CollegeMore details about Heating Air Conditioning Refrigerationtechnology at Pikes Peak State College
- Finished
- 23%
- Working at 6 months
- 52%
- Earned in a quarter
- $13,042
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $3,600
- Students counted
- 122
- a year, estimated
- $52,200
- price
- $9,997
Heating Ventilation Air Conditioning and Refrigeration (HVACR) Technician
Penn Foster, Scranton
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$899School website, Heating Ventilation Air Conditioning and Refrigeration (HVACR) Technician at Penn FosterMore details about Heating Ventilation Air Conditioning and Refrigeration (HVACR) Technician at Penn Foster
- Finished
- 43%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 116
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $899
Heating Air Conditioning & Refrigeration Technology
Front Range Community College, Westminster
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$51,500Price if you pay yourself$10,988Program website, Heating Air Conditioning & Refrigeration Technology at Front Range Community CollegeMore details about Heating Air Conditioning & Refrigeration Technology at Front Range Community College
- Finished
- 19%
- Working at 6 months
- 66%
- Earned in a quarter
- $12,884
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $2,920
- Students counted
- 96
Listed 5 times in the state's file with differing results. Shown: the listing with the most students.
- a year, estimated
- $51,500
- price
- $10,988
Heating/Air Conditioning Service Technician
Pickens Technical College, Aurora
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,647More details about Heating/Air Conditioning Service Technician at Pickens Technical College
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $191
- Students counted
- 35
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,647
Hvac Technology
Pikes Peak State College, Colorado Springs
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$41,700Price if you pay yourself$9,835Program website, Hvac Technology at Pikes Peak State CollegeMore details about Hvac Technology at Pikes Peak State College
- Finished
- 27%
- Working at 6 months
- 50%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,435
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $3,275
- Students counted
- 23
- a year, estimated
- $41,700
- price
- $9,835
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for HVAC training in Colorado
Workforce funding can pay for HVAC training in Colorado
Every program on this page is approved for public workforce funding, the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).4
Financial aid and grants for HVAC training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.56
GI Bill for HVAC training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.7
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Where the Colorado HVAC program numbers come from
Which Colorado HVAC programs are on this list?
These are the HVAC programs Colorado approved for public workforce funding (the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). The list covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Colorado offers.
How Colorado HVAC program prices are reported
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.
What the graduate results of these programs measure
The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.
Why do some HVAC programs say "Not reported"?
Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.
Why the kind of school is left off each program
The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.
How reliable are the Colorado figures?
The US Department of Labor's own results site lists Colorado among the states with "known data quality concerns".8 The figures here are shown as the state reported them; check them with the school before you enroll.
Sources for the facts about HVAC training in Colorado
Show the 8 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Heating, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration Mechanics and Installers
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: search page, note on states with known data quality concerns