Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Respiratory therapy programs in North Carolina

11 respiratory therapy programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

11 schools offer these respiratory therapy programs, and North Carolina has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Respiratory therapists care for patients who have trouble breathing, for example from a chronic condition such as asthma. Most need at least an associate degree in respiratory therapy from an accredited program, with supervised practice treating patients, and some employers prefer a bachelor's degree.1 All 49 states that license respiratory therapists base the license on the Certified Respiratory Therapist (CRT) or Registered Respiratory Therapist (RRT) credential from the National Board for Respiratory Care (NBRC).2

In North Carolina, 8 of the 11 programs ask for a high school diploma or equivalent and 3 ask for earlier courses first.

By kind, the 11 programs here are respiratory therapy (associate degree, 6 programs) and respiratory therapy program (level not stated, 5 programs).

See the 11 programs

How much do respiratory therapy programs cost in North Carolina?

$6,179 to $6,722 is what most respiratory therapy programs in North Carolina cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 11 programs with a price. All of them: $5,000 to $7,407

In the typical program

Finished the program
42%
Working 6 months later
90%
Earned a year, estimated
about $52,900
Length
72 to 80 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in North Carolina may also offer respiratory therapy programs. How these figures are made

Are there free respiratory therapy programs in North Carolina?

All 11 respiratory therapy programs in North Carolina approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

11 programs

  • Respiratory therapy (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Respiratory Therapy

    Fayetteville Technical Community College

    Fayetteville

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Fayetteville Technical Community College, FayettevilleRespiratory therapy (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$54,400
    Price if you pay yourself$7,407
    Program website, Respiratory Therapy at Fayetteville Technical Community College
    More details about Respiratory Therapy at Fayetteville Technical Community College
    Finished
    35%
    Working at 6 months
    80%
    Earned in a quarter
    $13,598
    Length
    80 weeks, 14 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    152
    Earned a year, estimated
    $54,400
    Price if you pay yourself
    $7,407
    Program website, Respiratory Therapy at Fayetteville Technical Community College
  • Respiratory therapy (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Respiratory Therapy Degree - A45720

    Stanly Community College

    Albemarle

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Stanly Community College, AlbemarleRespiratory therapy (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$6,768
    Program website, Respiratory Therapy Degree - A45720 at Stanly Community College
    More details about Respiratory Therapy Degree - A45720 at Stanly Community College
    Finished
    40%
    Working at 6 months
    90%
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    80 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $6,754
    Students counted
    124
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $6,768
    Program website, Respiratory Therapy Degree - A45720 at Stanly Community College
  • Respiratory therapy (associate degree)In personEducation and courses

    Respiratory Therapy

    Pitt Community College

    Winterville

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Pitt Community College, WintervilleRespiratory therapy (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$58,700
    Price if you pay yourself$6,134
    Program website, Respiratory Therapy at Pitt Community College
    More details about Respiratory Therapy at Pitt Community College
    Finished
    51%
    Working at 6 months
    92%
    Earned in a quarter
    $14,667
    Length
    72 weeks, 5 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,868
    Students counted
    98
    Earned a year, estimated
    $58,700
    Price if you pay yourself
    $6,134
    Program website, Respiratory Therapy at Pitt Community College
  • Respiratory therapy program (level not stated)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Respiratory Therapy

    Forsyth Technical Community College

    Winston-Salem

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Forsyth Technical Community College, Winston-SalemRespiratory therapy program (level not stated) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$55,500
    Price if you pay yourself$7,273
    Program website, Respiratory Therapy at Forsyth Technical Community College
    More details about Respiratory Therapy at Forsyth Technical Community College
    Finished
    41%
    Working at 6 months
    94%
    Earned in a quarter
    $13,877
    Length
    80 weeks, 12 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,000
    Students counted
    97
    Earned a year, estimated
    $55,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $7,273
    Program website, Respiratory Therapy at Forsyth Technical Community College
  • Respiratory therapy (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Respiratory Therapy

    Edgecombe Community College

    Tarboro

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Edgecombe Community College, TarboroRespiratory therapy (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$70,000
    Price if you pay yourself$6,464
    Program website, Respiratory Therapy at Edgecombe Community College
    More details about Respiratory Therapy at Edgecombe Community College
    Finished
    42%
    Working at 6 months
    90%
    Earned in a quarter
    $17,490
    Length
    80 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $3,176
    Students counted
    64
    Earned a year, estimated
    $70,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $6,464
    Program website, Respiratory Therapy at Edgecombe Community College
  • Respiratory therapy program (level not stated)In personEducation and courses

    Respiratory Therapy

    Wilkes Community College

    Wilkesboro

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Wilkes Community College, WilkesboroRespiratory therapy program (level not stated) · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$51,800
    Price if you pay yourself$6,675
    Program website, Respiratory Therapy at Wilkes Community College
    More details about Respiratory Therapy at Wilkes Community College
    Finished
    49%
    Working at 6 months
    76%
    Earned in a quarter
    $12,945
    Length
    64 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $865
    Students counted
    63
    Earned a year, estimated
    $51,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $6,675
    Program website, Respiratory Therapy at Wilkes Community College
  • Respiratory therapy program (level not stated)In personEducation and courses

    Respiratory Therapy

    Rockingham Community College

    Wentworth

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Rockingham Community College, WentworthRespiratory therapy program (level not stated) · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$49,300
    Price if you pay yourself$5,000
    Program website, Respiratory Therapy at Rockingham Community College
    More details about Respiratory Therapy at Rockingham Community College
    Finished
    51%
    Working at 6 months
    89%
    Earned in a quarter
    $12,334
    Length
    80 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,341
    Students counted
    61
    Earned a year, estimated
    $49,300
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,000
    Program website, Respiratory Therapy at Rockingham Community College
  • Respiratory therapy program (level not stated)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Respiratory Therapy

    Robeson Community College

    Lumberton

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Robeson Community College, LumbertonRespiratory therapy program (level not stated) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$35,500
    Price if you pay yourself$6,675
    Program website, Respiratory Therapy at Robeson Community College
    More details about Respiratory Therapy at Robeson Community College
    Finished
    32%
    Working at 6 months
    80%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,878
    Length
    72 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $8,455
    Students counted
    61
    Earned a year, estimated
    $35,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $6,675
    Program website, Respiratory Therapy at Robeson Community College
  • Respiratory therapy program (level not stated)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Respiratory Care

    Southwestern Community College

    Sylva

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Southwestern Community College, SylvaRespiratory therapy program (level not stated) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$54,000
    Price if you pay yourself$6,625

    7 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Respiratory Care at Southwestern Community College
    More details about Respiratory Care at Southwestern Community College
    Finished
    70%
    Working at 6 months
    89%
    Earned in a quarter
    $13,493
    Length
    72 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,970
    Students counted
    57
    Earned a year, estimated
    $54,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $6,625
    students trained with WIOA funding
    7
    Program website, Respiratory Care at Southwestern Community College
  • Respiratory therapy (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Respiratory Therapy-Associate Degree

    Carteret Community College

    Morehead City

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Carteret Community College, Morehead CityRespiratory therapy (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$30,600
    Price if you pay yourself$6,224

    6 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Respiratory Therapy-Associate Degree at Carteret Community College
    More details about Respiratory Therapy-Associate Degree at Carteret Community College
    Finished
    38%
    Working at 6 months
    91%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,641
    Length
    75 weeks, 12 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $4,780
    Students counted
    53
    Earned a year, estimated
    $30,600
    Price if you pay yourself
    $6,224
    students trained with WIOA funding
    6
    Program website, Respiratory Therapy-Associate Degree at Carteret Community College
  • Respiratory therapy (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Respiratory Therapy - A45720

    Catawba Valley Community College

    Hickory

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Catawba Valley Community College, HickoryRespiratory therapy (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$51,000
    Price if you pay yourself$5,981

    4 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Respiratory Therapy - A45720 at Catawba Valley Community College
    More details about Respiratory Therapy - A45720 at Catawba Valley Community College
    Finished
    60%
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    $12,754
    Length
    75 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $3,750
    Students counted
    47
    Earned a year, estimated
    $51,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,981
    students trained with WIOA funding
    4
    Program website, Respiratory Therapy - A45720 at Catawba Valley Community College

How to pay for respiratory therapy programs in North Carolina

WIOA funding can pay for respiratory therapy programs in North Carolina

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for respiratory therapy programs

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78

GI Bill for respiratory therapy programs

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.9

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Respiratory therapy programs in North Carolina

lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
1st of 16
other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
6 of 11
respiratory therapy programs here, against the typical state's 4
11 vs 4

State comparisons use the same figures as the respiratory therapy programs by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Respiratory therapy programs in Fayetteville, Albemarle, Greenville and other North Carolina cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above. 3 more programs are in 3 other areas, 2 in smaller cities and towns.

Other training in North Carolina

How respiratory therapy programs compare with the rest of allied health: Allied health programs in North Carolina

Where the North Carolina respiratory therapy program numbers come from

Which North Carolina respiratory therapy programs are on this list?

These are the respiratory therapy programs North Carolina approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).10 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what North Carolina offers.

How the prices and results of North Carolina respiratory therapy programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about respiratory therapy programs in North Carolina

Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Respiratory Therapists
  2. National Board for Respiratory Care: Certified Respiratory Therapist (CRT)
  3. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  4. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  5. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  6. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  8. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  9. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  10. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List