Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Culinary school in North Carolina

13 culinary programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

12 schools offer these culinary arts programs, and North Carolina has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Chefs and head cooks run the daily food preparation in restaurants and other places that serve food. Most start with a high school diploma and kitchen experience; some go through a culinary program at a community college, technical school or culinary school, and others learn in an apprenticeship.1

In North Carolina, 2 of the 13 programs take students without a high school diploma and 11 ask for a diploma or equivalent.

By kind, the 13 programs here are culinary arts (associate degree, 6 programs), culinary arts certificate or diploma (3 programs), baking and pastry (associate degree, 2 programs) and culinary program (level not stated, 2 programs).

See the 13 programs

How much does culinary school cost in North Carolina?

Two-year degrees (8 programs)
$5,281 to $5,975most of them, usually 74 to 80 weeks long
Other culinary arts programs (3 programs)
$190 to $1,480all 3 with a price

What you pay yourself for the whole program, as the schools report it. "Most" is the middle half of the programs with a price.

In the typical program

Finished the program
34%
Working 6 months later
77%
Earned a year, estimated
about $31,700
Length
42 to 80 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in North Carolina may also offer culinary school. How these figures are made

Is there free culinary school in North Carolina?

All 13 culinary programs in North Carolina approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

13 programs

  • Culinary arts (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Culinary Arts AAS Degree

    Asheville Buncombe Technical Community College

    Asheville

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Asheville Buncombe Technical Community College, AshevilleCulinary arts (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$37,300
    Price if you pay yourself$5,396
    School website, Culinary Arts AAS Degree at Asheville Buncombe Technical Community College
    More details about Culinary Arts AAS Degree at Asheville Buncombe Technical Community College
    Finished
    38%
    Working at 6 months
    79%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,313
    Length
    80 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $3,465
    Students counted
    214
    Earned a year, estimated
    $37,300
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,396
    School website, Culinary Arts AAS Degree at Asheville Buncombe Technical Community College
  • Baking and pastry (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Baking and Pastry Arts

    Cape Fear Community College

    Wilmington

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Cape Fear Community College, WilmingtonBaking and pastry (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$32,200
    Price if you pay yourself$5,867
    School website, Baking and Pastry Arts at Cape Fear Community College
    More details about Baking and Pastry Arts at Cape Fear Community College
    Finished
    21%
    Working at 6 months
    80%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,046
    Length
    74 weeks, 25 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,369
    Students counted
    97
    Earned a year, estimated
    $32,200
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,867
    School website, Baking and Pastry Arts at Cape Fear Community College
  • Baking and pastry (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Baking and Pastry Arts AAS Degree

    Asheville Buncombe Technical Community College

    Asheville

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Asheville Buncombe Technical Community College, AshevilleBaking and pastry (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$31,300
    Price if you pay yourself$5,495

    4 students trained with WIOA funding

    School website, Baking and Pastry Arts AAS Degree at Asheville Buncombe Technical Community College
    More details about Baking and Pastry Arts AAS Degree at Asheville Buncombe Technical Community College
    Finished
    30%
    Working at 6 months
    73%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,827
    Length
    80 weeks, 23 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $3,062
    Students counted
    96
    Earned a year, estimated
    $31,300
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,495
    students trained with WIOA funding
    4
    School website, Baking and Pastry Arts AAS Degree at Asheville Buncombe Technical Community College
  • Culinary arts (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Culinary Arts

    Central Carolina Community College

    Sanford

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Central Carolina Community College, SanfordCulinary arts (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$18,500
    Price if you pay yourself$4,936
    School website, Culinary Arts at Central Carolina Community College
    More details about Culinary Arts at Central Carolina Community College
    Finished
    27%
    Working at 6 months
    74%
    Earned in a quarter
    $4,626
    Length
    64 weeks, 14 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,400
    Students counted
    61
    Earned a year, estimated
    $18,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,936
    School website, Culinary Arts at Central Carolina Community College
  • Culinary arts certificate or diplomaIn personNo diploma needed

    Culinary Arts Training

    Forsyth Technical Community College

    Winston-Salem

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Forsyth Technical Community College, Winston-SalemCulinary arts certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$29,700
    Price if you pay yourself$190

    8 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Culinary Arts Training at Forsyth Technical Community College
    More details about Culinary Arts Training at Forsyth Technical Community College
    Finished
    92%
    Working at 6 months
    92%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,420
    Length
    16 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $200
    Students counted
    13
    Earned a year, estimated
    $29,700
    Price if you pay yourself
    $190
    students trained with WIOA funding
    8
    Program website, Culinary Arts Training at Forsyth Technical Community College
  • Culinary arts (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Culinary Arts & Related Services

    Tri-County Community College

    Murphy

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Tri-County Community College, MurphyCulinary arts (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$36,700
    Price if you pay yourself$4,864
    School website, Culinary Arts & Related Services at Tri-County Community College
    More details about Culinary Arts & Related Services at Tri-County Community College
    Finished
    44%
    Working at 6 months
    56%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,180
    Length
    80 weeks, 8 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    10
    Earned a year, estimated
    $36,700
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,864
    School website, Culinary Arts & Related Services at Tri-County Community College
  • Culinary arts certificate or diplomaIn personNo diploma needed

    Culinary Arts

    Brunswick Community College

    Supply

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Brunswick Community College, SupplyCulinary arts certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$360
    Program website, Culinary Arts at Brunswick Community College
    More details about Culinary Arts at Brunswick Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    16 weeks, 8 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $570
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $360
    Program website, Culinary Arts at Brunswick Community College
  • Culinary arts certificate or diplomaIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Culinary Technology (Pantry Chef - Garde Manger)

    Fayetteville Technical Community College

    Fayetteville

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Fayetteville Technical Community College, FayettevilleCulinary arts certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,480
    School website, Culinary Technology (Pantry Chef - Garde Manger) at Fayetteville Technical Community College
    More details about Culinary Technology (Pantry Chef - Garde Manger) at Fayetteville Technical Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    32 weeks, 9 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,480
    School website, Culinary Technology (Pantry Chef - Garde Manger) at Fayetteville Technical Community College
  • Culinary program (level not stated)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Culinary Arts

    College of the Albemarle

    Elizabeth City

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    College of the Albemarle, Elizabeth CityCulinary program (level not stated) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,373
    Program website, Culinary Arts at College of the Albemarle
    More details about Culinary Arts at College of the Albemarle
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    42 weeks, 33 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $800
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,373
    Program website, Culinary Arts at College of the Albemarle
  • Culinary arts (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Culinary Arts AA/AS

    Lenoir Community College

    Kinston

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Lenoir Community College, KinstonCulinary arts (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$5,776
    Program website, Culinary Arts AA/AS at Lenoir Community College
    More details about Culinary Arts AA/AS at Lenoir Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    72 weeks, 14 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,100
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,776
    Program website, Culinary Arts AA/AS at Lenoir Community College
  • Culinary program (level not stated)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Culinary Technology

    Southwestern Community College

    Sylva

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Southwestern Community College, SylvaCulinary program (level not stated) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$6,176
    School website, Culinary Technology at Southwestern Community College
    More details about Culinary Technology at Southwestern Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    80 weeks, 13 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,526
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $6,176
    School website, Culinary Technology at Southwestern Community College
  • Culinary arts (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Culinary Arts AA/AS

    Coastal Carolina Community College

    Jacksonville

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Coastal Carolina Community College, JacksonvilleCulinary arts (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$6,300
    Program website, Culinary Arts AA/AS at Coastal Carolina Community College
    More details about Culinary Arts AA/AS at Coastal Carolina Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    75 weeks, 12 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,055
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $6,300
    Program website, Culinary Arts AA/AS at Coastal Carolina Community College
  • Culinary arts (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Culinary Arts AA/AS

    Carteret Community College

    Morehead City

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Carteret Community College, Morehead CityCulinary arts (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$7,600
    Program website, Culinary Arts AA/AS at Carteret Community College
    More details about Culinary Arts AA/AS at Carteret Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    80 weeks, 12 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,500
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $7,600
    Program website, Culinary Arts AA/AS at Carteret Community College

How to pay for culinary school in North Carolina

WIOA funding can pay for culinary school in North Carolina

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for culinary school

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for culinary school

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Culinary school in North Carolina

programs with a price cost under $3,000
3 of 13
lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
11th of 28
other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
13 of 15
culinary programs here, against the typical state's 8
13 vs 8

State comparisons use the same figures as the culinary school by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Culinary school in Asheville, Wilmington, Sanford and other North Carolina cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above. 2 more programs are in 2 other areas, 3 in smaller cities and towns.

Other training in North Carolina

How culinary school compares with the rest of food and hospitality: Culinary and hospitality programs in North Carolina

Where the North Carolina culinary arts program numbers come from

Which North Carolina culinary arts programs are on this list?

These are the culinary arts programs North Carolina approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what North Carolina offers.

How the prices and results of North Carolina culinary arts programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about culinary school in North Carolina

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Chefs and Head Cooks
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List